Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A disappointment in Mayfair

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: The location. Lunch in the Polo Bar.
Cons: Refurbishment and repair. Improve breakfast.
The quality of the hotel on the inside does not match the external appeal, its location and the profusion of liveried doormen. The room was shabby in places and in need of repair. I discovered, while attempting to do some work before meeting in the morning that there were workmen walking up and down on scaffolding outside our window. The breakfast is grossly overpriced and take in a somewhat bleak basement room and served by again a profusion of staff who were very reserved and distant in manner. To be charged over £20 for scrambled egg and smoked salmon is laughable, particularly when this is one very thin sheet of smoked salmon topped with a mound of scrambled egg that was both watery in flavour and texture. Selection of pastries we suspect were "cooked from frozen".
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rayleigh, Essex

Fantastic hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Having stayed at this hotel before decided to return when visiting London recently. We were not disappointed from our arrival to departure it was perfect we wil definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpretentious luxury

Posted Apr 18, 2016
I have been coming to the Westbury's Polo Bar for nearly 50 years. Despite its modern make over it remains a favourite luxury watering hole. But the ultimate indulgence is to stagger out after a Manhattan or three and fall into one of the rooms which are as cosy and comfortable as you would expect from a five star West End hotel. Negatives: The unnecessary changes to classic snacks like the old Club Sandwich which has been replaced by a ghastly sweet bun filled with too little and costing much too much - meagre portion of fries extra! The overpriced mediocre breakfast. Skip it and make for the Wolseley for the best in town, or Sketch for a trendy treat. Loud piped music in the Polo lounge...does anyone like that? Really? But who cares finally: I continue to love the Westbury and its tiny intimate Japanese restaurant is fabulous. No wonder it has enjoyed a heady mixture of clients from great conductors to the manager of the Sex Pistols!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto / miami

Great location in the heart of London

Posted Mar 21, 2016
The Westbuy as a great older hotel in a fabulous location on Bond Street in the heart of upscale shopping, dining and culture. It's an easy walk to anywhere. Unfortunately, and like a lot of older London hotels, it's going through some much need refurbishment. The upper floors have been completed but the lower floors have not (as of this review, they were working on the third flood and going down) I had the misfortune of getting booked into a room on the first floor. A decent sized older room, but definitely in need of some new pizazz. The big drawback, was that if you stayed in the room anytime of the day, you could hear the drilling and noise from the upper floor construction. I'd give the hotel another try, and it will certainly be after the construction is finished!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Excellent location for Bond Street

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: The Japanese restaurant Tsukiji nothing else apart from the friendliness of the concierge staff
Cons: The quality of the rooms (certainly the terrible one I had)
Location: Perfect location for shopping
Hotel reception was fine and the Japanese restaurant was excellent especially the service from the Maitre D. Unfortunately the room was the worst I've stayed in for many years and lacked comfort and basic essentials not to mention trying to reach it by negotiating painters and decorators! Unless next time, which I'm due to be in the area in 5 weeks, I'm provided with a room that befits a hotel of this standard I'll not return. In conclusion had I not been there for business I would have moved, I certainly wouldn't bring my wife for leisure purposes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Not really a business hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: clean
Cons: Technology
The hotel is a great old fashioned hotel, clean and nice staff. They are not up on the best technology. WIFI worked poorly. Business center was poorly set up and uncomfortable. The rooms did not have enough plugs. The area was nice and not far from Regent st. but no place to go for a light dinner or to pick up something for dinner. All the stores closed at 6pm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for the price and location

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Everything was good for room price, except the fact that anything extra would cost you a heavy ticket, wi-if, local phone calls etc. The room had bad noise isolation, I woke up in the middle of the night because of what initially thought was a screaming child, later identified as a loud squealer. It is what it is.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel in awesome location

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The entry experience from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out was amazing, with the excretion of one unfriendly encounter with a member of staff at the popular/famous Polo Bar. The experience with this member of staff made for an unpleasant time during breakfast at the bar. However, we didn't allow this to ruin the rest of our stay as everyone from the door men/women to the concierge and room service staff were very very pleasant, coupled with the location and the hotel itself made for a most memorable experience. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again myself. The manger of the hotel Simon was very accommodating and a pleasure to speak with.
5 out of 5
by zhen from shanghai

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very high luxury hotel,alway my first choice when i visit london
4 out of 5
by JANET from BASILDON, ESSEX

WESTBURY MAYFAIR HOTEL

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
The Westbury Mayfair Hotel was well allocated to all amenities in the West End, the hotel is of a high standard. We had to make a complaint as we could not use the TV as the remote control did not work, we had to call twice to the reception to ask for someone to resolve the problem. A member of the Housekeeping team came to our room and said we needed to re-programme the TV and reset it for us. Unfortunately it only worked until we swapped channels and then it did not work anymore. We did complain to reception when we checked out of the hotel and they advised us we would get an upgrade on our room when we next stayed with at the hotel.