Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Arkle House staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. It was spotless and warm and comfortable with a kitchen for guests' use and a lounge available. There is a safe lawn and treehouse for kids. The breakfasts were fantastic with plenty of fresh fruit, juice, cereals and cooked options. The location is very handy to town and for driving around Donegal and Derry. There is a supermarket and a good restaurant just across the road.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

GREAT RELAXING BREAK

Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
GREAT, CLEAN, COMFY, QUITE, RELAXING, GREAT PARKING, FRIENDLY STAFF. LOVELY HOUSE, LOVELY GROUNDS. LOVELY VIEWS, WI FI INCLUDED.5 MIN DRIVE TO CITY CENTER. WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Hotels
All in all the Arkle House is a good place to stay while in Derry. The single rooms need a little refurbishment, but my laundry was done for free.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great place---Sally and Larry the best---thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice B&B close to City Centre.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Very friendly and convenient B&B close to city centre. Parking available. Breakfast plentiful with lots of choice. Room comfortable and bathroom facilities generous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from keynsham bristol

The most relaxed comfortable stay

Posted Oct 10, 2017
I've stayed at Arkel house on numerous occasions- the staff are absolutely fabulous firstly Regina - amazing welcoming and certainly informative and extremely helpful - also Angela - our breakfast experience superb 👌👌Can't wait for our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Beautiful Home in Derry

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Lovely, comfortable older home. Beautiful decor. Helpful and friendly hosts. Delicious breakfast. Be sure to include a walking tour of Derry on your visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful little and quiet B&B

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Sally was wonderful, helpful and a good cook
Cons: bathroom needs update
Location: close to city center but far enough away to be quiet!
wonderful little B&B, Sally was very helpful with directions and suggestions for outings! Victorian style home that feels like a home! Delicious breakfasts! Rooms and beds are comfortable, shower needs an update, doesn't work well. All in all a wonderful place to stay.
1 out of 5
by Kazco from Munich

Unable to stay!

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
I was quite taken aback on arrival being told that due to another guest with a booking for 2 people turning up with 4 people, that our room was no longer available but that she had found a room in another accomodation for us. I agreed as I didn't really have a choice. The substitute accommodation was OK but not up to the standard of the Arkle appearance. In contrast it was in the centre of Londonderry - we hate staying in the centre of cities anyway & would never have booked there. Staff were not unfriendly but gave us the feeling we were being taken because they had to & breakfast was poor. Financially good for the Arkle I'm sure, but certainly not customer friendly.
5 out of 5
by John

Helpful Staff

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was fine with this B&B and Sally and her staff were particularly helpful. They helped plan the next part of our trip and gave really useful directions.