Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Larne

Great stay

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Lovely hotel would stay again, hotel staff were very friendly and hotel was very clean. Only a short drive to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire, England

Beautiful country house hotel - highly recommended

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Everything - location, accommodation, quality of food and service excellent!
Cons: Cannot think of any improvements needed!
Location: We visited family so of course spent our time with them. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the city of Derry which has some lovely places to visit.
We only stayed two nights but could have stayed longer. You cannot fault the hotel, the accommodation and service was excellent. Thank you to Hayley for such a warm welcome when we first arrived and also thank you to Roy for looking after us in the bar when we had dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gem

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Lovely Hotel. We enjoyed our stay. Historic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Fantastic Hotel for our engagement.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Location, Grounds, Staff, Food, Service, Atmosphere.
Cons: Very little, there wasn't an Iron for my shirt in the room but they staff quickly provided me with one.
Location: Close to Londonderry but also in a quiet peaceful area.
Normally I don't write many reviews but I felt it necessary for this hotel. From the title you can tell we stayed here after my fiancée agreed to marry me. I had called up before and asked if they would be able to make it special, the staff were fantastic and were so helpful. After requesting some things there was prosecco on arrival in our room, they had upgraded us to the Junior suite as well which looked amazing. They even reserved one of the nicest tables in the restaurant with scattered table decorations and a great view at night. The food was delicious and it's one of the nicest steaks I've eaten. Really I cannot fault the hotel at all and I'm sure we will be back. I definite must try with a reasonable price. A stroll through the grounds is recommended, especially with all the coloured leaves on the ground in October.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely Country House Hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Friendly staff and a relaxed comfortable atmosphere
Cons: Just the weather!
Location: After checking out, we walked along the Foyle and across the Peace Bridge to Ebrington Square.
Located on the outskirts of Derry, this lovely Country House Hotel is old style with a true warm welcome. The staff are incredibly welcoming and professional. WE reserved a table in the restaurant as we checked in. While we waited we enjoyed a drink in the beautiful surroundings and the staff attended to our selections from the menu. Dinner was excellent. The rooms are what one would expect from a period house and the grounds are beautiful, particularly at this time of Autumn. After a breakfast, we enjoyed a stroll around the ground and viewed the walled garden, from which we had enjoyed some of the produce the previous evening at dinner. We had a very enjoyable stay in Beech Hill and very much look forward to our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

An old mansion house full of history

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Travelling from Canada for family wedding and for the amount of money we spent the room was horrible... I had three men who were 6'3 and 6'4. We were in the basement and I felt these were at one time the servants quarters! The bed was what I'd classify as a double in Canada. The room was freezing. There was no way my husband and I could've had a decent sleep in it. After asking for an upgrade they put us in another room with a "super king" bed, when you opened the door it hit the bed! So not much more room. I thought all the rooms were as small as ours but when I saw my sisters room I realized they actually do have nice modern large rooms in another section of the hotel. We did however discover that we had paid twice as much as the local people had paid! The Grooms mother was horrified when she saw our room and much to our embarrassment she kicked up a fuss and we were again moved to a much bigger room with a king size bed and spacious bathroom. The Grooms mother had said she was embarrassed as we had travelled the furthest to be at the wedding and paid the most for the rooms. I have to say the staff were excellent and very accommodating to our requests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely gem!

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Mary and Kieran were lovely hosts. The rooms are quiet and good sized. They offer better amenities than some top hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Beautiful countryside location.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Quiet setting and excellent food. Staff are TOPS>
Great place to chill out and forget the rest of the world. Lovely grounds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S. Toronto

Country house on large property

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Friendly, professional staff. The room was very large, beautifully appointed.Quiet, tranquil setting. Breakfast was served in the solarium and offered good choices and lovely service. ( Kathleen). Highly recommended.