Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to historical landmarks, disappointing rooms

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Within walking distance to sightseeing places
Cons: Lighting, chef more prepared for dietary requirements
Location: Overlooks River Foyle, Walled city, Peace bridge, Free Derry corner. Guildhall across road
Great if you want to visit the historical landmarks. Rooms clean but dark especially in bathrooms owing to low wattage. Basic toiletries. No safe or fridge in room. Shower head needs changing. Choice of food for gluten free dietary need very limited and whilst booked in for conference together with evening meal and banquets no option prepared. Although having been given ample notice had to wait at both meals whilst food was prepared and cooked. Nothing gluten-free provided during day of conference during coffee breaks. Popular venue for wakes and communion parties. Live music some nights but within reception/bar area so difficult to communicate with reception staffowing to noise levels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

50th birthday

Posted May 15, 2017
Excellent location to everything!!! Hd a great stay, few problems at check in due to not booking direct but staff sorted quickly and we had a great break. Will definately stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

In the city , near all must sees

Posted May 12, 2017
A quick city visit. Lovely place, beautiful ,friendly people. We visited The Guildhall, the Peace Bridge, The Walls, Bogside, City cemetery. St Eugenes Cathedral. Also went a few times to Badgers for lovely food. Looked after well by John and his staff. Overall a great place to visit and no place better to be stationed than the City Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel excellent location

Posted May 9, 2017
Excellent location, right in the heart of the city, the room was lovely and spacious. Nice to have free parking in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Very nice, modern hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, modern, food.
Cons: The security staff at night time.
Location: Hotel is located over looking the river Foyle which is a really nice view from the window, particularly upstairs. Beside shops, restaurants and bars.
Hotel is clean, modern and in a great location. Over looking the river Foyle and in the city, close to shops, bars, restaurants. The hotel car park is small, so upon arrival we had to park in the next door car park as all spaces were gone. Hotel gives discount for car parking at this car park. The other negative was the security staff. As we were residents we went to the residents bar that night. There were about 4-5 security staff on entrance to the residence bar and we only got to stay there for about 20 minutes as we were continuously asked to finish up. As residents the hotel usually serves until much later. The hotel could be more accommodating in this area and its not so nice having 4-5 security staff sitting at the entrance to the bar looking over your shoulder! Apart from this the hotel is great and we enjoyed our stay. Food also really good in the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Number 1 hotel!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Everything!.......
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very central location for shops, bars, restaraunts, sightseeing, bus tours and very handy to bus station and train to do a wee day trip also.......
Myself and my daughter Beth who has Downs have stayed here 6 times in past 2 years so that says a lot! Love the hotel.......everything perfect every time......pool, jacuzzi, food, staff, comfort, view......just love it and is only a stones throw away from us on train ( 2 hours) but even the train journey is lovely! Stayed at Halloween last year and was amazing.....the whole atmosphere in Derry was electric! Got home day after and had loved it so much we tried to book for this year but all booked up which shows how popular hotel is! Fri and Sat entertainment great ......can sit and chill, people watch (funny) or boogie away ........stayed last week Tues til Fri and can't wait for next visit x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Situated perfectly for getting around

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Would go back staff were great food was lovely entertainment was spot on
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Location Excellent Service

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Location, service, staff, room, meals. Nothing we didn't like.
Location: Location is in City Center within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do.
As a tour conductors we like to visit when possible hotels we book our tours in and City Hotel Derry is one we will be using when possible for our tours to Northern Ireland and Derry. Staff was so accommodating and friendly. Food was excellent. We took advantage of 2 company where we had a two course meal (we did main plus desert excellent) plus a bottle of wine for only 35GBP. Excellent value and meal was so delicious. Trying to make available for a group we are taking in October. Location is fantastic. Within walking distance of everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommend staying here.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel if staying in Derry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great Hotel and very reasonable and central.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
I had a one night stay at this hotel and it was very good the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It's set in a great location to see all the sites. If I had one negative thing to say it would be paring is limited however I was able to get parked.