Ratings based on 1,779 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Cons: Change those pillow, rate on parking very high
have to work fa to get to my room , pillows very hard did not any sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUSTRALIA

Nice Hotel, very stylish and modern

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and the hotel was modern and funky.
Enjoyed our stay there. Lovely views. Close to most things. The retired Queen Mary ship is walking distance. Across a bridge over the harbor is the main part of town. Restaurants, cafes and lots of shops!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VANDALISM TO MY MOTORCYCLE!! POOR MANAGEMENT!

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Cons: Customer Service, Security
Location: Queen Mary Hotel & Dark Harbor
During our stay, we parked our motorcycles in a very visible parking stall next to our rooms building, and when we came to our bikes after check out, we noticed that both our bikes were vandalized. Someone had taken a 5 - 10lb boulder and trashed our bikes. Keep in mind, this hotel has a Gated Entry & Exit, Security Cameras & a 24hr Patrolling Security Guard. We had the General Manager & the Asst. Manager there to write up a report and take pictures of our bikes. We also called the Long Beach Police Dept. to file a report. So after all that, 3 days later, sending a few emails to Hotel management, I had received no follow up phone calls, consolation or response from the GM as to the status of my situation. Horrible Customer Service! They are taking NO responsibility for this damage and have yet to at least cover my insurance deductible. If they take care of me, I will take this review down, if not, the general public needs to know what they're getting when they stay at the Hotel Maya. How can someone feel safe and secure even with all those security measures?? Very disappointed in the handling of this incident and the resolve is yet to be determined.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel with good atmosphere

Posted Nov 3, 2017
The hotel itself was very nice right on the bay and has a great bar/restaurant overlooking the water and walking distance to the Queen Mary which was the reason we selected it. The staff however was not very helpful they were unable to assist me with an additional charge to my credit card and not very friendly. Also were unable to provide an early check in, 4pm is later than most hotels. Also they are very strict about any noise coming from the room and you are not allowed to have more then 4 guest in your room at any time. We had 6 people in our room and we're playing music and they sent security to inform us that we would be given one warning then evicted from our room. After paying $400 for a Saturday stay this seems slightly unreasonable so I cannot say I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warren, NJ

Great time

Posted Oct 28, 2017
We had a room with a view of the water and the queen mary. Most rooms are the same. They had fire pits going every night by the water. It was much nicer then I expected. Restaurant was a bit pricey was the only downside. I would also recommend having a car. Not a lot within walking distance but there is everything within a 10 min drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and views

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Perfect spot for a getaway. Great pool and outdoor areas. Walkable to the beach and shops. Bike rentals onsite. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Only negative would be our ocean view room was mostly looking at another building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brentwood, calif

Close to town and cruise ship terminal

Posted Sep 28, 2017
I reserved a balcony/waterfront room for one night prior to our cruise. When we checked in, we were informed that our room was “downgraded due to maintenance “. I asked if there was a downgrade in price that would go along with that and I was told that we could have complimentary breakfast in he morning. I asked if there was any more they could give and was credited 50$ towards restaurant/bar expenses. We dropped our luggage at the room (1st floor looking at cement patio and some sort of pavilion/entertainment area) and then headed to the restaurant to cash in on our 50$ credit. So we had crevice appetizer and drinks for 3...100$ A little pricey I think, but whatever. After meeting family for dinner in town, we were dropped off around 9:30 back at the hotel. We went into our room to find that there was a party (live band) right outside of our patio door. The band played for another 1/2 hour. That was ok, but even after the music stopped there was still lots of noise from guests of the party. Overall the place is decent, but not worth the prime rates that they charge. Maybe you won’t have a problem with noise or downgrading your reservation, but if you do-don’t settle for the “free” breakfast...cold eggs and sausage patties. BTW-be cautious of the valet-you’ll see.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Not worth the cost

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Really enjoyed the view!
Cons: The toilet paper should never be on a back wall. It's nearly impossible to turn around or reach blindly behind you in that state.
Location: Most of the fun things to do happen across the bay. I suggest to take an Uber (about $10 round trip) instead of paying for parking downtown.
I was shocked to learn that the hotel was not one single building, but that was not at all an issue. Just surprising. For the cost, I would have expected valet parking (especially how much parking cost), a nice walk in shower (instead of the tub), a couch instead of a chair, or toilet paper that was beside the toilet instead of behind it. The hotel restaurant was nice, but I'm not sure "lobster mac and cheese" is Latin cuisine. Chips and salsa was also well overpriced. Plus this is the only hotel I've stayed in that required a deposit upfront. That created a sense of paranoia for me and I was afraid to use any of the hotel amenities out of fear they would find a reason to charge me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: Pool water a little cool
Everything I expected and more. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel actually looked like the pictures shown on the website. The service was outstanding, using their shuttle was actually a pleasure which you don't find too often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Beautiful location. Friendly staff. On site restaurant with great food and drinks. Spacious rooms.