Ratings based on 6,385 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OKC

Absolutely overrated

Posted Nov 15, 2017
First of all you have to call in for the front desk to turn the AC on in your room otherwise you will be sleeping in 75-degree room. Restroom is extremely outdated I understand that this is a historical ship but for the money you can definitely get something much better and in much more convenient location. I would recommend to get a daily tour of the ship but never to stay on it. Getting around is extremely confusing. You get lost so many times. The signs that indicate room numbers are only in couple places, you just wander around until you find someone to direct you to the right place. Only two elevators working. The walls in between rooms are so thin you will be hearing your neighbors watching TV at any time. Restaurant serves food that is truly not really the best you'll ever have. Sadly, because they advertise it as one of the best two restaurants in the city. Definitely my last stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Fantastic stay

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The ship is older, so wear and tear is expected. LOVED the way they kept (and tried to, in some cases) to the original. Only down side was they were renovating. Customer service was stellar! Completely enjoyed the museum like atmosphere. Highly recommend staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

Horrible parking! Should NOT be charged!

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Every staff member was extremely polite and each one really seemed like they LOVE their job! Not one worker was not smiling or not friendly ever.
Cons: PARKING is horrendous!!!
We were charged $22 each day for parking. It was impossible to find parking because they were having a Latin Concert the weekend we got there so there was one teeny tiny parking lot open for the ENTIRE ship of visitors. It was absolutely a horrible joke that we were even charged for parking at all!!! I'm VERY upset about this!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor MI

Historical Experience

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Awesome to be on the Queen Mary. Cabins were original and felt like a step back in time. Location is great for visiting Long Beach.
Cons: Water pressure and plumbing could be improved. No cold water in bathroom. Printer did not work in computer area. Could not print boarding passes.
Location: Catalina Island cruise is really nice.
Being on the Queen Mary was a unique experience. Stayed aboard ship for 4 nights. Lots to see and do. Tour of ship was very interesting. Many original features still intact. The Art Deco decor was beautiful. Bridge and engine room tour was especially good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver,BC

Old room with no coffee maker

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The helpful staff.
Cons: Fix the rooms, coffee maker, and warn your customers about the renovation on the ship.
Even so we got an upgrade the room needed some tender loving care and a coffee maker. The check-in on a Sunday afternoon was total chaos because only two people worked the counter. Half the ship is under construction and not accessible. not able the visit the bridge. The stay on the ship was expensive and very disappointing. We are not recommending a stay on the ship in the near future. BUT IT WAS NOT THE FAULT OF THE VERY FRINDLY STAFF.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rosebud. Australia

Disappointed with character hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Great expectations but failed on everything- Restaurant food from Chowder House was inedible. Very Disappointed in the staffing of the whole ship - The Room was excellent but no Air Conditioner working on a 40 degree ( 104 F) day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great history

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Beautiful old ship with lots of character and charm. We had family room very cosy with small almost original bathroom, bed good and room quiet. Only negative was we were there during Halloween and there was a carnival type activity in front of ship which really killed the atmosphere of the beautiful old ship
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from apple valley ca

Location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Clean, good size room but old. It's no dump but don't be expecting a ritz. We went for the fright night which worked for us. They offered free shuttle services to downtown. Nice little get away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario,Canada

Nice hotel beautiful view of the ocean and wharf

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: friendly staff,free bus into downtown
Cons: nothing was great as it is
Location: we took the free bus around to downtown and to the wharf for drinks and shopping
Wasa last minute bookingShip was just beautiful,loved walking around taking pictures
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado spribgs

Nice hotel with history and character.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We love staying on the Queen Mary. Of course there are newer more modern hotels, but the elegance of a bygone era is more important.