Ratings based on 742 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice alternate hotel for convention stays

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, comfortable beds
Cons: Go a little easy on the air fresheners
Location: The hotel is located within a few blocks of the convention center. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Close to public transportation.
This is an updated historic hotel with modestly-sized rooms. Due to the lack of a closet or wardrobe, I'd only recommend this hotel for single occupants; I'm not sure the room facilities would hold clothes for two if you both like to remove your clothes from the suitcase. Hotel staff are very friendly and courteous. The continental breakfast is nice, as are the weekday wine tastings. The only thing I didn't like were the air fresheners plugged into the hallway sockets. They were pretty strong and made me wonder what they were trying to cover up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient and quiet location,

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Walking distance to everything in Long Beach - including transit!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Expedia misleading , not that nice

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Sheets weren’t changed and look old and discolored . Suppose to be white not brown. Rooms are sooooo small my restroom from home was bigger than the whole hotel . Restrooms look like they aren’t clean right . The pictures look better than the actual place. I do not recommend this hotel unless you are traveling by yourself .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

A+ for Class

Posted Nov 1, 2017
I had the pleasure of staying at the Varden during a conference the week of October 23rd 2017. From the time I stepped foot through the door, the Varden team was courteous, professional, and knowledgeable on whats hip in the area. The complimentary wine tasting that they host nightly is a touch of class that I was not expecting and was highly welcomed after a long flight. My room was clean, light and modern which was inviting and comfortable but still minimalist in its approach. This may or may not be to everyone's tastes but fit perfectly with my personal preference. A 4min walk to the next block will give you tons of options in regards to restaurants and bars. I would recommend The Federal which is a more "upscale" bar/eatery with a great selection of spirits and grub (Thanks Varden Staff for the recommendation). In all; if you're looking for an easily accessible place to stay that is hip, funky, safe, walk-able, with a top-notch team......... The Varden is your place! I will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: staff and free water and coffee
Cons: Bed size if possible
Location: catalina express
Personal at the hotel could not have been nicer. Double bed is tight, room very clean and we felt very safe walking to the shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel and atmosphere

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Loved this hotel and the environment. I think the only thing that bothered was that it was small and I read reviews before but I had to witness it before my own eyes. The service was great and maybe for a single person it’s perfect but for two people it’s kinda croweded. Iike i said before the atmosphere and environment are awesome, good breakfast snacks and staff is always willing to help. Loved how close downtown is with walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Cute place right downtown

Posted Sep 15, 2017
In town for just one day and needed s nice place close to downtown. This renovated, historic hotel was perfect. The rooms were small, but it had a great vibe! We were really impressed with the front desk staff, especially Steven. He was friendly and incredible helpful. We were only there for one night, but our stay was great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location Lovely Sufficient

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Lastminute
2 night stay prior to cruise, quaint hotel, great staff n service, rooms big enough but not super modern . No complaints, free wine n snacks daily.