Ratings based on 709 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Super friendly staff

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff; good value, convenient location
Cons: The chair!
Location: Conference centre, aquarium, arts centre, downtown attractions. The beach is ~ 20 minutes' walk.
What sets this hotel apart from the others is the super friendliness of the staff. On request, I was given a small fridge in the room, for example. Other nice touches are the 24/7 availability of fruit, coffee & tea in the lobby, and a "happy hour" wine tasting in the early evening, also the Continental breakfast. The room I stayed in was small, fine for a single, but inadequate for a couple. Its facilities were carefully thought out and very efficient; I appreciated the strong lighting and bright walls. A desk chair on wheels would have been the only real improvement. Good value, and convenient location as it's close to the conference centre and other down-town attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing boutique hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The staff of the hotel was extremely nice and welcoming. The wine tasting in the evening was also nice.
The rooms are very, very tiny! They are ok if you are a single person traveling, but for a couple, it felt too small, especially if you have some luggage. There is very little space overall to store your stuff, and the placing of the sink is very inconvenient. The air in the room felt very damp, and even the carpets felt damp too. When returning home all my clothes were damp as well, so there is something wrong with the air circulation. Additionally, if you are a taller person (5'11" or taller) be prepared that the bed is too short for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Very well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are small but functional and clean.
3 out of 5
by Linda

Clean and efficient.

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
I was greeted by a lovely woman who explained everything well and showed me to my room herself. The room was small but efficient and clean though the bathroom and shower were practically in the bedroom. The bed was really comfortable. The sink was very small and difficult to use. I kept bumping my head on the shelf above it when leaning to wash my face...and I'm short. I thought it was over-priced though I did not take advantage of the complementary wine and cheese hour or the breakfast because of other obligations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Friendly small boutique hotel, great location.

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: It's quiet, with a limited number of rooms, yet chic.
Cons: Could benefit from some updating.
Location: Waterfront is a short walk, access to the light rail is just down the block, as well as the Social Bicycle bike share station.
Good value, close to transportation and downtown, with very attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Lovely Little Room

Posted May 8, 2017
The Varden Hotel doesn't look impressive from the outside, so I was a little worried when I pulled up, but I needn't have been. The rooms are small, but everything is designed to fit perfectly, with a clean, modern look. It might have been a bit cozy for two people, but I was traveling alone and it was perfect for me. The bathroom is a nook off the bedroom, but you have everything you need. The shower is very high, so good for tall people. The bed was comfortable, and I enjoyed being able to open the windows and get fresh air. The staff was extremely attentive. Breakfast was available in the morning (continental), and wine and snacks were put out in the afternoon. I stayed here because I couldn't get a room at the hotel where my conference was, but it was a lovely experience and I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las Vegas, NV

Excell not boutique hotel

Posted May 7, 2017 on Orbitz
I stayed in a single double bed room. The room was quite small but very well appointed and the bed was as comfortable as I have ever had in any hotel. My room did not have a view, but as I was there on business that was not important to me at all . The staff was exceedingly helpful. The owners have done a wonderful job of keeping the 1920s beach hotel look and feel. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by sixto

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
great place and awesome customer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona CA

Quaint Hotel Near Queen Mary

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Clean, quiet hotel. No issues with parking. Check-in was fast and easy. Room was small, but comfortable. Hotel staff are welcoming, accommodating and friendly. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would book here again

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great the only thing that could improve could be the wifi speed felt not as fast as it could have have been but other than that everything was perfect would definitely stay there again.