Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel and atmosphere

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Loved this hotel and the environment. I think the only thing that bothered was that it was small and I read reviews before but I had to witness it before my own eyes. The service was great and maybe for a single person it’s perfect but for two people it’s kinda croweded. Iike i said before the atmosphere and environment are awesome, good breakfast snacks and staff is always willing to help. Loved how close downtown is with walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Cute place right downtown

Posted Sep 15, 2017
In town for just one day and needed s nice place close to downtown. This renovated, historic hotel was perfect. The rooms were small, but it had a great vibe! We were really impressed with the front desk staff, especially Steven. He was friendly and incredible helpful. We were only there for one night, but our stay was great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Super friendly staff

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff; good value, convenient location
Cons: The chair!
Location: Conference centre, aquarium, arts centre, downtown attractions. The beach is ~ 20 minutes' walk.
What sets this hotel apart from the others is the super friendliness of the staff. On request, I was given a small fridge in the room, for example. Other nice touches are the 24/7 availability of fruit, coffee & tea in the lobby, and a "happy hour" wine tasting in the early evening, also the Continental breakfast. The room I stayed in was small, fine for a single, but inadequate for a couple. Its facilities were carefully thought out and very efficient; I appreciated the strong lighting and bright walls. A desk chair on wheels would have been the only real improvement. Good value, and convenient location as it's close to the conference centre and other down-town attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing boutique hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The staff of the hotel was extremely nice and welcoming. The wine tasting in the evening was also nice.
The rooms are very, very tiny! They are ok if you are a single person traveling, but for a couple, it felt too small, especially if you have some luggage. There is very little space overall to store your stuff, and the placing of the sink is very inconvenient. The air in the room felt very damp, and even the carpets felt damp too. When returning home all my clothes were damp as well, so there is something wrong with the air circulation. Additionally, if you are a taller person (5'11" or taller) be prepared that the bed is too short for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Judith

Scandinasian design in downtown Long Beach

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
I simply love the location of the Varden, and the hotel's commitment to maintaining the architectural integrity of the neighborhood. It has a very hip vibe!! It might be a little cozy for some, but it's all I need. Love the design!!!!!
4 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great place ... only issue is the poor placement of the shelf above the sink.
5 out of 5
by Leanne

As long as you keep an open mind.

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was fantastic. Don't expect a resort, because this isn't that type of hotel. But if you're looking for a room that's cozy and perfect for just having a place to come back to, after your adventures, then yes, this place is perfect. The boyfriend and I chose this hotel, for our anniversary getaway, and it was perfect. The location was super convenient, for all of the locations that we wanted to go to. The rooms were spotless, the bed was extremely cozy, and the staff was wonderful. I like that the closed space gives you every opportunity to stay close to your loved one. Would definitely book again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

people are great, hotel is NOT

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Service was great, everyone was really nice and receptive to our concerns. They helped as much as they could and were very accommodating. The hotel itself was the issue - it's not worth the price paid for the room. The room smelled of wet clothes and mold! And the rooms space and beds were tiny! There is no space for two people to get ready comfortably. Some rooms don't even have the sink IN the bathroom. And the walls are so thin, I could hear the entire argument a couple upstairs was having! The hotel should really just be priced for what it is - a private-room hostel!
4 out of 5
by 3vino from Sacramento

Small rooms but cozy!!

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
If your significant and you are comfortable with each other than it's great!! Perfect for one. Great service at front desk. Great location for convention center and other touristy places. Would book again!!