Ratings based on 857 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible review Vagabond Long Beach

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: this property is the pits
As we arrived, tons of construction made the arrival experience somewhat challenging. This experience was terrible, hotel staff friendly, the hotel was dirty, dirty, dirty, parking limited, homeless loitering on property and in parking stalls. Random drunks hanging out in the lobby an by the elevators, having their own party in the halls of this three story property. I suspect security if there was any to be limited. The hotel appeared to be privately owned or managed by staff from India and they were only excited that there was a full house compromising the lovely experience from their guests.....Not only will I never return I will tell all my friends to never stay at a Vagabond property again... The permit posted in the elevator was over 1 year expired....hello what does this mean in terms of safety???
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Basic hotel walking distance to the beach

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Went to a show at Alamitos beach and this hotel was so close that we could walk. Very basic amenities, but served its purpose for our one night stay. The hotel was booked so we had to double park and leave our keys with the staff. However, the staff was extremely friendly and made our stay very comfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arizona

Not as great as I remembered

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The hotel was very run down. The front desk was not very helpful and stingy with towels and things.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Vagabond

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Staff was responsive and helpful.
Cons: Our room had a cosmetic issues. Parking was very difficult when full. Neighborhood had questionable characters. Breakfast was basic.
Location: Blue Haven nearby had great food. Easy access to lots of sights.
Overall it met the basic needs but was not something to raive about.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Would rather pay for a bulldozer

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Should have paid and extra $150 for any of the other places in the area. Absolutely everything about is nasty and uncomfortable. Smells like dead people farts as soon as you get in the elevator (it wasn't me, I swear), and I'm not sure which period of the Dark Ages they manufactured those rectangle pillows. The poor serfs started working on something laborious about 5am in the room straight above us. There was a lot of banging and clanging. Maybe more pillows?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near downtown

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Not a terrible hotel. But they don't have a mini fridge or microwave. Not even a coffee maker (I think at least this should be provided). Also no hair dryer or iron. Pros is they have a nice staff. Glad they have an elevator since I stayed with my elderly mom. Good continental breakfast. The room we stayed in was clean. It actually wasn't too noisy for being a weekend. It's good for just a couple days stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Nice Getaway!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Will come back again. Good place for privacy. Nothing more to say!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sam diego CA

Horrible outdated hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The only good thing about this hotel is the location. We got a non smoking room that smelled like smoke. The TV didn't work. The carpet was wet. The bathroom is old and rusted. It was supper noisy at 6am you can here people up stairs running or jumping. The complimentary breakfast is basically coffee n a pastry: ( would not recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Very outdated and dirty

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Hotel is very old, outdated, and very dirty. Under the beds were filled with trash and caked with dust and dirt. Our shower leaked water all day and night. Park lot is very small and not enough parking for all the guest that stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside CA

Do not stay here

Posted Jun 3, 2017
I was checking in late going to sleep and leaving bright an early so I didn't want to spend. I still paid 90 dollars for the night so it wasn't that cheap. The room was disgusting, stained chairs, old ugly decor, trash left behind and it stunk. Additionally, it was extremely noisy, noise form people slamming doors and people talking and driving by through the alley directly behind the room. Again, do not stay here.