Ratings based on 2,336 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stafford, VA

Great hotel with a great view of Manhattan

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Every single thing about the Z NYC is exceptional! My husband and I were approaching our 25th wedding anniversary and one of the things he'd talked about was visiting New York City. He'd never been and I had visited once many years ago in conjunction with a conference. During my previous visit, I stayed at a premier hotel in Times Square. Of course, that's the first place I looked to reserve a room. With rates in excess of $400/night, that hotel was out of my budget as were several other hotels in Manhattan. Still, I thought our silver anniversary deserved a celebration. I stumbled across the Z on Expedia. When I saw the rates (about half of what hotels in Manhattan were charging) I was skeptical. I needed a place I could afford, but I wanted a nice place, too. I went to the hotel's web site and I was blown away. Five star amenities without the five star price tag! The reality exceeded even the description. The rooms are comfortable and clean; the fixtures are beautiful; the service was exceptional -- professional and courteous. Our room on the third floor had an amazing view of Manhattan. And the roof top bar was awesome! There's also a shuttle that takes you across the river into downtown Manhattan. The neighborhood, at first sight, is a little off putting, but don't let that deter you. My husband and I walked several blocks to a local eatery (Woodbines, also great!) and weren't the least bit uncomfortable. I highly recommend the Z NYC!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of attention

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Hotel shows clear signs of lack of attention through maintenance and upkeep. Our air conditions broke in middle of night was hot loud and uncomfortable then we we woke up to use shower the water didn't work. No assistance from management staff and was a disappointing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ny

Cute spot

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Room was a little small but very cute nice view food was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Cool place to stay

Posted May 12, 2017
Cons: Room could be cleaner, it was Ok - not perfect
Great location, just across the bridge (10 minutes from Manhattan) most amazing Manhattan view! The hotel staff are super friendly and will assist guest with any request. Very nice bar and restaurant with in the hotel It's not regular hotel - its a different on a good way :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zoo Hotel

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Overpriced and flimsy. Rooms are very small and service is lacking.
4 out of 5
by christine

Wonderful night

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Room was comfortable- average size for NYC. Everything was clean and the restaurant downstairs was nice and not crowded. Long Island city is convenient to manhattan. A little bit of a walk to queenborough plaza but not bad at all for the price difference of staying in manhattan. I saw a lot of reviews complaining that the parking was on the street and you had to park yourself and walk a few blocks. I live in NY and understand the nightmare that is parking in the city. This hotel however has plenty of the on-the-street parking. Yes, you walk a few blocks -but if you have ever dealt with NYC parking you understand this is a small price to pay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Excellent,Friendly staff,Clean room, Nice Hotel Good experience
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Amazing ‼️Must stay if in NYC

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Birthday surprise for my girlfriend. She loved it and so did I. Great accessibility to the city & clubs in Queens as well. $12 LYFT Ride into the city with minimal traffic over the 59th Street Bridge. I will definitely plan on staying here in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing View

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The selling point of this hotel is definetly the view. The rooftop bar offered a veiw of Manhatten which was Amazing day or night.The shuttle bus was a big help, Raymond the driver was very informative and friendly. The room had everthing we needed, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. The air con unit took a bit of working out as no instructions in room.Overall a good hotel, the restaurant had an extensive range and the staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Great! View!!!from every room! Rooftop view too! m

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: view and decorating
Cons: Heater/ac is noisy
Free shuttle free bikes make sure to reserve early as the cost is much