Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Pascale from France

excellent séjour à Long Island

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Accueil sympathique et chaleureux de Hance. Chambre agréable, au calme avec une belle vue sur la mer. Un petit réfrigérateur pour avoir à disposition des boissons fraîches ou autre... Possibilité de se faire du café ou thé... Et les plages magnifiques de cette île ! Restaurants sympas pas très loin. Quelques jours merveilleux hors du temps.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Owner, Hotel Management
Salut Pascale , Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience avec nous à Gems Paradise et belle Long Island , Bahamas ! Hi Pascale, Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us at Gems at Paradise and beautiful Long Island, Bahamas!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A peaceful retreat in an unbeatable location

Posted May 11, 2015
My friend and I stayed at Gems for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is spectacular and the facilities are lovely. Hance and Shavonne thoughtfully anticipate guests' needs, for example you can borrow a hat, snorkeling gear, kayaks, books, and even an array of personal care products you might have forgotten (or not realized you'd need in the climate). I've never before experienced such gracious and low-key (yet responsive) hospitality. Hance arranged a car hire for us and a cave tour, checked in with us from time to time to ensure that we had everything we needed. Visitors should be forewarned that this is not a touristy island: come here to Long Island for the natural beauty not a pampered commercialized resort experience. There is much to explore but it is not a gourmet paradise and there is absolutely no shopping apart from basic necessities. I recommend that guests request a kitchenette at Gems and bring with them a few luxuries from home (like your favorite ground coffee, granola, and other non-perishable foodstuffs). Ask directions to the Saturday farmer's market (where apparently you can get local fruit and veg, none of which is in the shops). A car is a must, and do ask for a jeep because the side roads are terrible even when dry. Make sure to go to Lovers' Beach (just the other side of Clarence Town), the beauty of which defies description (also a great place for children to play safely in the sea).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2015
Soggiorno OK. Struttura un po' vecchia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Paradise in the Bahamas

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Location by the water
Location: Swimming, snorkeling, sailing, dinning on true bahaman food,
Amazing view with vibrant colors of the caribbean. Relaxing atmosphere. Accommodating host. I highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience at Gems. We greatly appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
by David from Nassau Bahamas

Relaxing Long Island Weekend

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: Position and views
Cons: air con - noisy
Location: Deans Hole , Regatta , Beach, Marina , Restaurants and shops all in easy reach
Gems was exactly what we expectec - well positioned , frindly staff, good beach, great views and an ideal base to see a lot of Long Island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
We wished we had the opportunity at the time you wrote the review to express an appreciation for your feedback.
4 out of 5
by DEEPICA from Florida

Great hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2013 on Hotels
Very good host/ess and clean with very nice homey dining room. Only negative is no sand on beach so need car to drive to one. Recommend if want to stay near deadmans cay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2015
We really wish we had the opportunity at the time of your review to express our appreciation for your feedback. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2006
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
We regret we did not have the ability to respond at the time of your review or the opportunity to have provided you with a great stay. We appreciate your feedback.