Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CK San Juan Capistrano CA

At home in The Mansion

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I love the comfortable atmosphere in The Mansion. I thoroughly enjoy the beauty of the grounds, and especially like all of the chandeliers. I always enjoy the breakfast in the dining room, and a nightcap in the Pub. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. To me The Mansion feels like you are visiting friends or family. I LOVE IT😍
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati Ohio

No elevator and prepare to walk to room

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Landscape and flowers on grounds
Cons: Customer service and hidden fees beware (see above comments)
Location: Nassau county and beach area
Hotel has old world charm. But very bad layout for parking. There is a very long walkway that you will have to use to bring your luggage in. Their is no elevator and very narrow steps to the rooms. Since this was a mansion the rooms are on different landings. So you will have to carry your luggage up stairs. We were charged for an extra person by expedia or the hotel and they did not explain the extra charge. We asked for extra towels the day we arrived and never received them. I then called the Manger to request the towels on the next day. He told me that I would have to wait for housekeeping to arrive at 8:30am. After 4 requests we got the towels. This was not very good customer service. Beware there are not many hotels in the Glen Cove area. I needed to stay there because of a funeral for my relative. Hotel was not really clean and the long winding walkway is a bit annoying because of the distance to bring in luggage from the parking area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic home with lots of character

Posted Mar 7, 2017
This hotel had lots of old world charm. Beautiful setting! We enjoyed the bar and restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albertsons, NY

It's okay!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: We like the indoor pool
Old hotel that needs lots of renovation! The good news is they already stated the renovation. The rooms are not in the mansion. Mansion is conference rooms, dining hall etc but not hotel rooms. Our room was old. Shower head cannot hold in position.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W.

Beautiful grounds and nostalgic setting throughout

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The hotel was beautiful. We wished we could have stayed longer. Next time I am back on Long Island, I know where to book a room. If I had one complaint, it would be lack of outlets near the beds for charging a cell phone or tablet. Other than that everything was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Old World Charm

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Beautiful hotel that is understaffed. The Mansion is a beautiful hotel that could use some sprucing up. I noted that all the rooms do not have a minifrigerator when I booked the room. So I requested one. We never received one after calling the front desk, as they said they could not find anyone from housekeeping. Our heat was way to hot and impossible to lower. So we had to turn it off. There were only two large towels in the room when we could have used four. The saving grace is that it is close to town at an affordable price.
5 out of 5
by Rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jean

Clean hotel but pricey

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Clean hotel but rooms are outdated not worth $180
3 out of 5
by Marlon

Management and Security people rude and ignorant

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
The worse Service I ever got . First the manager of the hotel was rude when we were asking for a room upgrade (from King size to junior suite); second of all, I am a photography student, me and 2 of my friends were having a vacation time in this hotel, of course since it is a mansion my friends wanted to have some nice photos with some of the hotel backgrounds , we were doing that peacefully suddenly a assistant manager and a female security, abruptly and unpolitely approached us , with a threatening tone saying that we were not allow to take photos. The security woman kept saying that we were taking professional photos because I had a professional camera, I told them that I was a student and that we were not taking "Professional" photos, just some for my friends to remember our vacation. They even told us that we were supposed to talk to management first before bringing a professional camera, and that the only photos allowed to be taken are the ones from smart phones. Just to avoid ruining the whole vacation trip to my friends , we put away the camera and we packed our things and left the hotel, same night
4 out of 5
by Rowen

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
We found this to be a GREAT value during the off-season. The holiday decor was lovely and we enjoyed the fireplaces.