Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort myers

Beautiful place!!

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Indoor pool was amazing!! We loved it! Ordered food from local restaurant & was delivered directly to our room. So easy! The grounds are beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Nice and elegant stay

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Royal ambience. Big property. Full of trees and plants. Well maintained pool. Well connected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good value

Posted Jun 4, 2017
For the price, it's hard to beat. The grounds are amazing. The rooms are dated but clean. The staff was friendly but not so helpful. The layout of the place is insane, and the signage was of little help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Clair Shores, MI

Pretty on the Outside...not so much on the inside

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Main building is beautiful and the reason we booked there in the first place. Too bad for the bait and switch :(
Cons: Almost everything from the desk staff (with the exception on the woman who checked us in. She was very friendly and helpful) to the rooms.
Location: The neighborhood is fantastic (a lot like my home neighborhood). I wouldn't advise going to Woodbury Commons from here, the tolls are outrageous.
I booked this hotel because it was so beautiful on the website and because of its location. Everything was fine until we checked in. The room was not in the Mansion itself but a building behind it. The Mansion was beautiful but the building that housed the other rooms was more like a motel (and definitely not any place I would EVER have chosen to stay). Our room was in what felt like the basement (we had to walk two flights downstairs with our luggage and my daughter is pregnant.) The cleaning was subpar and we had to move to a new room because it smelled like smoke (it's a non-smoking hotel), there was obscene confetti on the carpet, and the maintenance fellow was working on the windows when we walked in. The room we moved to had a broken toilet that would not flush AND to top it all off, I put the do not disturb sign on the door because I don't like people in my room while I'm away, so the cleaning people took it off and went in and cleaned the room anyway. Terrible experience and not worth a fraction of what I paid for it. :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CK San Juan Capistrano CA

At home in The Mansion

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I love the comfortable atmosphere in The Mansion. I thoroughly enjoy the beauty of the grounds, and especially like all of the chandeliers. I always enjoy the breakfast in the dining room, and a nightcap in the Pub. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. To me The Mansion feels like you are visiting friends or family. I LOVE IT😍
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati Ohio

No elevator and prepare to walk to room

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Landscape and flowers on grounds
Cons: Customer service and hidden fees beware (see above comments)
Location: Nassau county and beach area
Hotel has old world charm. But very bad layout for parking. There is a very long walkway that you will have to use to bring your luggage in. Their is no elevator and very narrow steps to the rooms. Since this was a mansion the rooms are on different landings. So you will have to carry your luggage up stairs. We were charged for an extra person by expedia or the hotel and they did not explain the extra charge. We asked for extra towels the day we arrived and never received them. I then called the Manger to request the towels on the next day. He told me that I would have to wait for housekeeping to arrive at 8:30am. After 4 requests we got the towels. This was not very good customer service. Beware there are not many hotels in the Glen Cove area. I needed to stay there because of a funeral for my relative. Hotel was not really clean and the long winding walkway is a bit annoying because of the distance to bring in luggage from the parking area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Frankie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Carol

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Hallways were like a maze. The hotel was shabby. No one was at the front desk when we arrived around 8:30pm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Overall good stay and they definitely tried to correct issues right away. When we got the correct room it was clean. Breakfast was by far the best part. The food was great and the service in the dining area was wonderful. Cheap taxi ride from the LIRR.