Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Event Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016
This Hotel hosts parties and events. I had the misfortune of staying one night during a High School party event. LOUD, LOUD, LOUD. No sleep all night. A shame because the bed was firm and seemed to be of a good quality. The Hotel has been converted from a mansion so some minor issues that they may not be able to change; e.g. no vent in bathroom. The breakfast was not complimentary but it was good and the waitress who served coffee, water and juice was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Awsome property, needs a nicer place for dinner

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros Nice property Pool and jacuzzi Spacious rooms Clean Steam room pool table Staff Free parking Cons The resturaunt was a pub a little bit of a rip off I ordered a pizza and for 13 dollars it was the size of a regular plate, needs a nicer place for dinner Broken sauna Outdated gym The heat in my room kept making this crazy noise
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Love the place. A hidden gem tucked away. Beautiful ground and super friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A step back in time.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Had a great time. Felt like i step back in time. Great bar. Excellent bar staff. Nice bar food. Front of the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again. Maybe in the summer to really enjoy the growns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great nights stay

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: I found this hotel on the Internet. I grew up on long Island and this place didn't register in my mind when looking for a place to stay and when I found it I was very pleased. I always thought it was for weddings and I was pleasantly surprised I was wrong. Highly recommend anyone to stay here.
Cons: I loved the grounds, the indoor pool and the location. The bed was absolutely divine, best night sleep in a hotel in a very long time.
Location: The location is great, far enough away where it's nice and quiet and peaceful yet close enough to still be able to enjoy the mall or NYC.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

located well for day trips

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The location to Sagamore Hill
Cons: The heating/cooling system was so loud, it was like having a lawn mower started in your room every five minutes.
Location: We visited Sagamore Hill and North Fork wine trails
The Mansion is located well for day trips to Sagamore Hill and the wine trails.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

10 stars

Posted Oct 6, 2016
From the moment you are greeted at the door by a member of the Mansion's fabulous staff, you'll recognize how fortunate you are to be there. The grounds are beautiful and the amentities plentiful. The hotel is exquisite, filled with history. The rooms are relaxed and spacious. Children are welcomed as well as pets. No matter the reason for your stay, business or pleasure, it will be enjoyed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hit or Miss

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Nice historical building turned into a hotel and that might be the issue. The rooms can be a hit or miss. Most of the rooms are old with very poor drainage in the showers. Air conditioning can be annoying. Carpeting throughout most of the hotel is dirty and smelly. Especially, going down the stairs to access the 2nd floor (if you could call it that). Staff is very nice but some at the front desk could be better. Customer service is where the strength of any hotel business lies. Arrogance towards your customers could cost you money. The grounds are well kept but the basketball courts are worn out and the hoops falling apart. Has a nice charm to it but could be much better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Cloud, FL

A wonderful hotel like you've never seen before.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Class. The staff was friendly and made sure every part of my stay was perfect. I WILL be staying here again.
Cons: Nothing. Small renovations going on during my stay but no one bothered us and this didn't interfere with my stay.
Location: Very nice area of Long Island. Plenty of places to eat within 2 miles.
You pull up around the fountain in the circle driveway and expect to see 1920's movie stars stepping out of their Rolls Royce motorcars. This hotel is like nothing you've ever been to in normal life and travel. You enter the grand foyer and see a sweeping set of double stairs straight ahead. You turn to the right to enter the reception area and are greeted by a friendly staff member (rare in most hotels now days) and are welcomed. From this point on you are no longer in the 2000's but have stepped back in time. This hotel has class! The carpets, the woodwork, the crystal - everything. It is like an old time movie. Now on to the room and the rest. My room was very clean, air conditioned, had plenty of towels, the beds were made crisp, the linens all bright and clean. The bathroom had the standard features and was a normal size for most hotel rooms. The room itself was over-sized and had a nice flat screen TV and plenty of closet space. The outdoor pool was closed due to the weather but the inside pool was a nice temperature and also had a hot tub right next to it. The locker rooms featured both a steam room and a sauna. There is a fitness center that was fully equipped. Capping off the night was the upstairs club lounge that continued the romance of the early part of the century.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, P.R

Beautiful place

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Despite the fact that the hotel was under renovation, the hospitality, cleanliness n views were great.