Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

No heat, noisy, pool in different building??

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing. Will not be here ever again.
Cons: See above.
Location: Didn't bother to stay long enough to explore.
I am greatly disappointed by our stay. We were there for our 19 year anniversary and I feel cheated. We were placed in a room in a separate building that eliminated our ability to use of the pool or hot tub...the main reason I booked the hotel (going out in freezing weather with wet clothes and hair is not an option). Our room had no heat, requiring a few calls to the desk to fix. We were moved to another room with somewhat functioning heat but a dilapidated bathroom (masking tape on peeling wallpaper, tub that was rusted and a bad attempt at a patch, portion of sheetrock exposed where it was peeling away from tub). We thought the bucket of chilled champagne in the room was some compensation for the heat shenanigans but no...a staffer came to remove it saying it wasn't for us. Great. Then all night people yelling and running and vomiting in the hallway, making sleeping a joke. I get it's New Years Eve but this was ridiculous. My door might as well have been wide open. Then the toilet clogged first thing in the morning. We left close to 9AM after being fed up. I've emailed the hotel staff about my horrible stay and received no response. It feels like they listed availability on Expedia just to fill a room but I could not have felt more like a nuisance to them. If it's a conference hotel and strictly that, you shouldn't open up bookings for people who think you're a real hotel. I've stayed at Comfort Inn's with better service. Won't be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Event space masking as luxury hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: convenient location and price
Cons: over all cleanliness; furniture in the main building--there's no place to go, to sit, to read and or have a cup of coffee. Everything starts so late!
Location: Near by town of Glen Cove is charming--more to do there than the hotel.
On the surface, The Mansion, looks ideal. Great location for visiting local family, beautiful grounds, impressive entry. But floors weren't clean; sitting rooms had no chairs to sit in; vibe was that of convention center/event space. Rooms were adequate, and probably worth the price, but this is not a comfortable, cozy, fun hotel to stay in. Fitness center equipment were from the 1980s. like the rest of the place, on the surface, everything looks pretty good, until you get in closer and actually experience the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Just an overnight stay to attend a Funeral. Facility was nice and conveniently located close to town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Event Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016
This Hotel hosts parties and events. I had the misfortune of staying one night during a High School party event. LOUD, LOUD, LOUD. No sleep all night. A shame because the bed was firm and seemed to be of a good quality. The Hotel has been converted from a mansion so some minor issues that they may not be able to change; e.g. no vent in bathroom. The breakfast was not complimentary but it was good and the waitress who served coffee, water and juice was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awsome property, needs a nicer place for dinner

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros Nice property Pool and jacuzzi Spacious rooms Clean Steam room pool table Staff Free parking Cons The resturaunt was a pub a little bit of a rip off I ordered a pizza and for 13 dollars it was the size of a regular plate, needs a nicer place for dinner Broken sauna Outdated gym The heat in my room kept making this crazy noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Love the place. A hidden gem tucked away. Beautiful ground and super friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A step back in time.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Had a great time. Felt like i step back in time. Great bar. Excellent bar staff. Nice bar food. Front of the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again. Maybe in the summer to really enjoy the growns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great nights stay

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: I found this hotel on the Internet. I grew up on long Island and this place didn't register in my mind when looking for a place to stay and when I found it I was very pleased. I always thought it was for weddings and I was pleasantly surprised I was wrong. Highly recommend anyone to stay here.
Cons: I loved the grounds, the indoor pool and the location. The bed was absolutely divine, best night sleep in a hotel in a very long time.
Location: The location is great, far enough away where it's nice and quiet and peaceful yet close enough to still be able to enjoy the mall or NYC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

located well for day trips

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The location to Sagamore Hill
Cons: The heating/cooling system was so loud, it was like having a lawn mower started in your room every five minutes.
Location: We visited Sagamore Hill and North Fork wine trails
The Mansion is located well for day trips to Sagamore Hill and the wine trails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

10 stars

Posted Oct 6, 2016
From the moment you are greeted at the door by a member of the Mansion's fabulous staff, you'll recognize how fortunate you are to be there. The grounds are beautiful and the amentities plentiful. The hotel is exquisite, filled with history. The rooms are relaxed and spacious. Children are welcomed as well as pets. No matter the reason for your stay, business or pleasure, it will be enjoyed.