Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Sep 8, 2015
When I arrived and first got into the room, I checked the bedding (as I always do when I enter my hotel room). The bedding/sheets/etc had NOT been washed since the previous guest! I realize this is a mom-and-pop kind of place, but clean sheets should've been the first thing turned over in the room before the arrival of new guests. Luckily, the guy at the desk personally changed them out for clean sheets. This place could be REALLY nice if it was cleaner. It was clean, but not amazingly so. The access to the beach, and the beach furniture provided by the hotel, was terrific. Definitely a great place... and you can tell the rooms had been refurbished... but still some work to do. Also, having a kitchenette was nice, but there was no cookware, plates, or silverware! What's the point of having a kitchen, if there aren't any tools to use it?! At the price paid per night, the items I've listed should not have been an issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lloyd Harbor

Beautiful location and convenient but be prepared

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Location: very convenient on beach and close to everything.
First I would say the no review older than the last few months as any connection the experience that you will encounter there now. The location is great and the beach is nice, but that is basically all you can really say is good about this place. The place is run down to the point that some of the features are dangerous. There are splintered planks in the stairs and walk way and if you have a room like ours upstairs the safety treads on the steps are peeling off. The bushes are all over grown so it is not easy to walk down the walkway to the stairs. The rooms could use a good cleaning, they are basically dirty all over. When we first entered the room and went to use the bathroom, the remains from the previous gues were still in the bowl. Be careful walking to the beach or you will break your ankle tripping over sprinkler heads sitting above the lawn. The staff is nice but scarce to find and really they probably couldn't improve much anyway. This is not a resort and it would be more releveant to advertise as a motel. There is not a thing of comfort here. There is broken and old furniture all around. If you have no other choice, want a place with parking and a beach that is convenient and dont mind paying $400.00 for a place to sleep and shower then this is right for you. It is sad though becaue the location is great and with a little care this could be a great place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Old 1960's Two-Story Motel

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: It was on a secluded ocean beach.
Cons: Where do I start. First would be maintenance, i.e. the shower rod was rusty, the door knob locked, but I couldn't get it to seat properly - useless.
Location: There's but 1 restaurant anywhere close. Very expensive - a filet $52 a la carte. Lobster - forget about it.
This hotel is really a two-story motel, built sometime in the 1960's and it shows it. It is advertised as a suite hotel. The suite includes a small living room, bedroom, kitchenette, and bathroom. The kitchenette had no glasses, cups, silverware, plates, or anything you'd think a "suite" would include. The air conditioner was a window type next to the bed and was supposed to cool the entire suite. Not a place I'd return to in the future.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Viktoriya from New York, NY, USA

Great for families with kids.

Posted Sep 6, 2012
Pros: Beach. Kayaking. Free bottle water.
Cons: Kids
Location: Great, but remote from restaurants and stores.
Very nice hotel. It is right on the beach. It has semi-private decks (depending where you stay). The provide kayaks for free. As well as water, soda, tea, coffee, snacks. Breakfasts were nice and fresh as well. The only downside is amount of kids....If you are looking for a romantic get away, this might be not the place. It's more of a family resort I guess. When we were staying, there were about 20 kids running around, considering that they are only 17 rooms.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Gail from NY

Quiet little getaway

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Great little quiet getaway, beautiful beach, cute town 15 minutes away, friendly & warm atmosphere...definitely going back!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, informal hotel in the Hamptons.

Posted Aug 30, 2012
Location: Right on the beach. Location can't be beat!
Staff is super friendly! Hotel's location right on the beach!
4 out of 5
for Families
by Mark from New York

The right price for what you get

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Pros: Free beverages, no cost for parking, free loungers, renovated rooms
Cons: Generally run down otherwise
Location: Not the greatest spot in the Hamptons, waters are rough, but beach is nice
You get a good deal considering this is the Hamptons. Renovated rooms are neat and clean. Good for a small family. Sounds silly but the complimentary soda and water is a nice little perk. Towels, umbrellas and loungers are available too. The general facilities are a little run down, but you've got access to the beach and the staff of younger adults is friendly and not overwhelming. We'd probably go back.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Ed from New York, NY

Great hotel for family/those looking to relax

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Bonfire on the beach at night with smores. Remote location. On the beach.
Cons: Nothing really. Could have had more food?
Location: Absolutely perfect. Literally on the beach. The Shinnecock bay is at the front door, and a picturesque southampton beach is at the back.
Small quirky hampton's hotel. Off the beaten path; hotel is located on a deserted stretch on dune road. Makes for the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing weekend at the beach. Not a Ritz Carlton, but hotel staff was constantly making sure there were plenty of water bottles around, plenty of ice, and plenty of towels. Also, the fire on the beach and the smores were a really nice touch for the evenings for people unsure what to do. Didn't feel like driving into town at all. This hotel was comfortable, cozy, and relaxing. Also, it's a mom and pap gig, so I felt like I was supporting something by staying here instead of one of the larger hotels.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Right on the ocean, nothing else like it!

Posted Sep 1, 2010
The Hampton Ocean Resort is an undiscovered gem. It's located right on the ocean sand, 20 steps to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The staff is warm and helpful; you don’t have to do a thing as they set you up on the beach with nice wood lounge chairs, thick beach towels, your own stocked cooler, and snacks, lunch, ices, fruit, etc. This is a boutique hotel with only 17 rooms and cottages, and you feel a level of warmth and comfort that you won’t find at a larger facility. There’s a giant wood communal table overlooking the ocean, and you’ll share experiences like roasting marshmallows on the beach at night, kayaking on the bay, etc. It's a combination of a Caribbean island getaway and a 1950’s bungalow experience, with the amenities of modern and clean Hamptons-style rooms. Hotel rates are high in the summer everywhere in the Hamptons because it’s a 9 week season, but there is no such thing in the Hamptons or Montauk as a 5-star hotel. If you need the Ritz and you’re expecting it because you’re paying a lot, you’re better off visiting Manhattan. But for the Hamptons, you get a very nice room with separate bedroom and living room, large decks, white hamptons furniture,and an attention to cleanliness and housekeeping that you’ll appreciate with all the sand and water that your family will be tracking around. It's all-inclusive so you don't need your wallet, it’s everything an oceanfront hotel is supposed to be, relaxing, fun, and you won't want to leave.