Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Conveniently located hotel, needs facelift

Posted Sep 22, 2015
A block away from the center of town and about 2 miles from Cooper beach. Nice grounds That's where the positives end, especially given the price. Establishment is fifty years past its prime, our room was very musty but equipped with fans and ac (one of the cottages), our king size bed was two standard beds put together with king size bedding, the leopard print sofa is not to everyone's liking and flat screen technology has not made its way to the Village Latch Inn yet. In sum, it could be a really nice hotel but would require $$$ of renovations. Left wanting more for my money, but I kind of had a feeling going in...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Phenomenal Hotel Close to Beach and Shops!

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Close to the beach and shops, great staff, and wonderful rooms!
Location: Restaurants within walking distance, close to the beach and multiple shopping options!
This was a great property that is set up with individual rooms (cabins) on the grounds. It was close to all the local shops and even had a free shuttle (independent) that would pick you up and run you to town and the beach. The pool was great as was my room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by alicia G.

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Orbitz
A very cute hotel with pool and tennis court walking distance to beach 15 min
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointing!

Posted May 28, 2015
The price was outrageous and I was expecting to get an amazing experience, BUT... The room wasn't in great shape, it smelled very bad and we came back after our vacation with a terrible back pain - the bed and the pillows were just a nightmare to slip on!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry about the experience of this guest. Our professional staff -- many of whom have been with us for over 10 years -- work very hard to ensure that all have a pleasant stay with us. Though this guest's experience is not representative of most, we wished he or she would have requested a different room as our policy is to do whatever it takes within reason to make every guest's experience a positive one. As a historic property, we have a wide variety of rooms, all with distinctive décor, and can make a room change when requested.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

disappointed in the Hamptons

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The garden was pretty and it was close to town.
Cons: Could not begin to explain. It would take too long. Certain arrogance. We were in Southampton and therefore should be happy with what they gave us.
Location: The location was good=close to town and mansions.
We spent $450 for a room in this room. We never have spent so much in our lives even for villas and castles in Europe and New York City as well. Since we are elderly, we decided to have a splurge. From the advertisement we thought we would be somewhat pampered. Instead we had the equivalent of a cheap BandB. First of all the room was very small==just enough for a bed and tightly packed wicker chairs. Little room for our luggage. The bathroom had a sink 15" by 14"--no place for our bathroom needs. When we arrived we were told that we would not get breakfast. Since there was no ice machine the staff brought us our ice at five, for that is when they left and the office was closed. There was no computer access. They did fix one pot of coffee in the morning-regular, no decaf and no water for tea. There were no recommendations for restaurants available to us. The living room was decorated with total kitsch. We tried to leave early but they said Expedia already paid and that it would be too difficult to pay us back. All in all a real cheapo in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was super; excellent and friendly and willing to go the extra mile.
Location: Perfect location, walking distance from everything in town, including all the great restaurants and shops.
Quick, 3-night stay overLanor Day weekend. Very good amenities. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid but needs more updating

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Solid hotel, but expected more for the money. The breakfast was a carb loaded meal of desert cakes and breads. It would have been nice to provide some eggs too, and maybe some other protein like bacon and or salmon lox. Pool was actually more pleasing than it looked, and comfortable. It was a unique experience though, because you felt like you were part of The Great Gatsby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Great: location, management staffs Bad: price does not reflect amenities, cleanliness, extra charge for breakfast...
3 out of 5
by david from Milan MXP

Convenient location, but in need of a makeover.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Good location, and the grounds are peaceful.
Cons: Bathrooms are old, tv is ancient. Paint job would help.
Location: Close to beaches and town.
Older facility that would be better with a makeover. Equipment is old and set in 80's.
2 out of 5
by Doreen from Chicago

Overpriced hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2013
The room was very expensive, so I expected more. It was a tiny room, and the bathroom facilities were dated.