Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Damp Experience

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
Okay apart from waking up very cold and discovering damp patch on the wall where rain had got though overnight had I pulled wallpaper would have come away in hand
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay, very old hotel full of character, breakfast and staff superb, will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by martin from chelmsford

great hotel with lots of character

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful 'olde worlde' hotel in a lovely location. We only booked for 1 night stay on the day. Lovely clean hotel, rooms with lots of character and all the hotel and restaurant staff delightful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Wonderful Location, Slightly Disappointing Room

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Room Cleanliness, Improved Menu
Location: Melford Hall (NT), Kentwell Gardens, Antique shops etc
Located at the top of the beautiful village of Long Melford. Plenty of places of interest to visit, antique shops and eateries etc. The room we were given was on the top floor and left a little to be desired. There was not a great deal of space to squeeze past the bed and whilst superficially clean was in need of a thorough inspection (heavy dust/fluff on headboard, lamps etc). There were also two broken bulbs in the bathroom. Our evening dinner choice was a little unadventurous and plain although ingredients were of good quality. Breakfast was also very good and the staff tried hard. Overall a slightly disappointing one night stay although I suspect we were unlucky with that particular room.
5 out of 5
by Wendy from Ipswich

Enjoyable break

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night, however, the hospitality and service were excellent.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from hitchin

great stay

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
lovely hotel - great breakfast. Very comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by Simon from Gloucester

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
Staff service and friendliness elevates this comfortable and well appointed hotel to an excellent level. Food is also very good. I feel that there are other similar hotels that offer better value if you pay the full hotel rates, but the reduced rate offered by Hotels.com was about right
4 out of 5
by Helen from King's Lynn

Lovely room

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful Hotel, lovely room. Slightly short staffed so staff that were there were a bit stressed. Long Melford is a beautiful village with some lovely shops and eateries - would definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by H and P from Shropshire

fabulous hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
Absolutely fabulous hotel. The room was amazing. staff were so enthusiastic and helpful. We cannot wait to return.