Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Real little gem

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Found this lovely pub/hotel by chance. Couldn't get extra night at Country Hotel & Spa we were heading for so searched online and liked the sound of this. Not only was it excellent value for money, it was a beautiful old tudor building with a courtyard full of flowers. Very well kept and helpful friendly staff. Room great although pleased we were at end of corridor as every footstep creaked in the hallway. Had a lovely meal in the bar and next morning was very pleasantly surprised at excellent breakfast. Help yourself cereals and fruit then choose from menu for freshly cooked breakfast delivered to the table. Have told several friends how good it all was and would definitely stay there again. In fact in many ways preferred it to more expensive hotel we went to for next couple of days. Good find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 28, 2017
The hotel is well placed for Long Melford, Check in was easy and Sally was very helpful when checking in. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and again the staff were extremely friendly . Our room was very quirky and sloped due to age of property. Old definately stay here again.
2 out of 5
by christopher

Noise

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Disco till midnight but no one tells you in advance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I will submit no further reviews where it requires a minimum of 50 characters.
5 out of 5
by Alison

our stay

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
had a great stay.Bed's were super and soft,no back problems.Room was clean as was the bathroom. plenty of tea and coffee.we did run out but we asked for more and that was not a problem.Food was very good,had dinner and the breakfast was very good and plenty of it.the staff were all very friendly.parking was great no problems.
4 out of 5
by Hugh Malcolm

Loads of space, character and a good welcome.

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was old, loaded with character, spacious and well maintained. Staff were friendly and service was good. Breakfast, dinner and ales were excellent. Long Melford is a pleasant bypassed village with a long high street and lots of old buildings and specialist shops and tea shops. Pleasant countryside and the town of Sudbury nearby. Said to be haunted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Ebookers
Loved my stay at The Bull, was not expecting the standard we got. A beautiful Tudor (I think..) building with loads of character. When they lit the fireplace during our lovely meal in the restaurant we were sold. Everyone were really friendly and helpful. We even got an upgrade. Great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel and location is absolutely fine for a night or two but could be such a better experience without a lot of money and a bit of effort. So, next time I would try somewhere else. EG - nice lady at check in but the first room I was given was not finished (by the housekeepers ?), dirty towels on the unmade bed, etc.. Room change no issue. Nice room looks over the street, let down by a grubby old couch. Bed was comfortable and clean, cobwebs and dust visible on the walls. Bathroom and shower all work fine but again dirty old screw holes where a fitting was removed gave the feel of a blokes public toilet. Not many guests in and bar and restaurant looked lonely so I went to the pub down the street where the locals were. Nice service, good food/drinks, nice atmosphere. Breakfast - ok but very lacklustre and my guess is it had been sitting in the hot shelf for some time. No excuse as there were only 3-4 tables. Check out - short and grumpy receptionist was more interested in grumbling with the postman than checking me out. Sounds like faulty towers - but without the humour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly!

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Bull as part of a wedding party so it was very convenient for us. The added bonus was the friendliness of the staff as well as the cleanliness of the hotel. Breakfast was also great - loads of options both hot and cold. We didn't see much of the area so I can't comment on that.