Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for access to the Forest of Dean.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Enjoyed the location of this hotel. Room was exactly what we needed including parking and access to the delights of the Forest of Dean.
4 out of 5
by Diana from Chichester

Great value stay

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay ver much. the room was pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and dinner on both evenings very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay, while the room was a little like a holiday camp chalet -separated from the pub itself - it was very modern, clean, comfortable and tidy. The only problem really was that breakfast wasn't included in the price, and came as extra. It was however a very good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Mimms

Ideal location for what we wanted

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Near to Symons yat rock for splendid views if you like heights. There is a craft centre just up the road worth a visit just for the tea rooms.
The room was chalet style basic but extremely clean and cleaned on a daily basis. Shower was the best I've come across. No need to find somewhere to eat for you evening meal they do great meals at reasonable prices and a menu to suit all tastes. Good breakfast to start your day with lashings of everything.
4 out of 5
by darren from cardiff

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, room comfortable. Food in the pub was fantastic. Only stayed for one night but was perfect for us.
5 out of 5
by Calum from Northampton

Nice and comfy

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
Nice comfy accommodation, the road was a busy one next to the pub but I couldn't hear it when I was in my room. It was clean and had a decent shower (random I know). The food in the pub was a good standard.
5 out of 5
by claire from oxfordshire

full marks all round

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, fresh, modern, extremely comfy room, staff lovely, will definitely return and recommend to friends and family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guildford Surrey

Visiting the Severn Bore

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Position and value
Cons: Nothing
Location: Visiting the Severn bore.
We wanted to visit and see the Severn Bore looked at several different Inns and Hotels and chose this one,an excellent choice and value for money.
3 out of 5
by Matthew from Essex

Nice and clean but service not so great

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms are basicallly chalets at the back of the pub. This is not an issue however as the rooms are very clean with modern bathrooms etc. Had the lasagna for dinner, this was not so great, appeared to be more suet than pasta. The starter was good though. My main gripe would be that although I asked for breakfast at 8am, the pub did not open until after 8:30am and so I had to go without as had to get to work. It did not seem that busy, and so this may have been the reason for the late opening, perhaps better when the hotel is full I would imagine.
4 out of 5
by Adrian from Wakefield

Staying at the Yew Tree

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
Made to feel very welcome even in the locals bar. Would stay again