Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for most our locations viewed.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Owner very friendly and helpful with local knowledge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Brian

Road Trip Stopover

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
On arrival, we were asked to pay for two night's accommodation, which had been prepaid before leaving home. When told it was a prepaid booking, the receptionist argued that payment was required, as the records showed it was not paid. Eventually, it was agreed that it had been paid. The prepayment covered accommodation and breakfast. However, we were also told the chef was not working on the first morning of our stay, and no breakfast would be available. There was no offer of a partial refund of our payment even though a service was not provided, nor was an alternative offered such as a continental breakfast, or optional venue.
4 out of 5
by Angela

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
This was a base for a wedding we were attending locally, and it was ideal. Room was comfortable and adequate, breakfast was great, happy with stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel for the stop over

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Nice pub / hotel, staff very friendly great for short stay, room was simple and comfortable, shower was really powerful and hot, had a meal in the evening the food was lovely and well cooked. Though the full English breakfast was extra it was well worth it. There is a children's play area their, though not being used.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
not the best of welcomes we wanted breakfast at 7-45 but as it was Saturday nothing until 8.0, and we were not given any extra coffee,s or milk for the room to compensate our lack of breakfast which we had paid for!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for access to the Forest of Dean.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Enjoyed the location of this hotel. Room was exactly what we needed including parking and access to the delights of the Forest of Dean.
5 out of 5
by John from Ulster

Tidy and friendly.

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
A few nights good banter.
5 out of 5
by Robert from London

Excellent value! Very friendly!!

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Our son was rowing in Monmouth and having stayed here before it was an easy decision to make!