Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Internet did not work for the first day; washroom was not located in the room, but down the hall (which was fine, but was not told in advance of this situation); no hot water for shower on either day I was there; cleaning supplies left in hallway outside bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Front Desk Host, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the rare technical / plumbing issues that occurred during your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Posted Apr 13, 2018
I found check in was very smooth and the gentleman was great who helped us. The place was better than what I expected and was very close to Fenway Stadium within walking distance. The room was great and the bed slept well. Loved that bath tub!!!. The only negative is that the walls are very thin and you can hear others outside your room. The Inn is quite costly but hey that is everywhere in Boston... Loved the room and the area and would return . also is very close to the metro....
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2018 by Beacon Inn, Hotel Management
Dear Sherron, Thank you for your kind review. e are glad that you had a pleasant check-in experience and that you found our location convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Decent Inn for a night in Kenmore Square

Posted Mar 4, 2018
The Inn is a short walk to Fenway Park. Friendly staff and clean rooms. It’s a brownstone apartment building converted to an Inn. limited parking so add another $20-30 a night for nearby parking or an overnight ticket if you park on the street. They don’t tow but you will get a ticket.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2018 by Front Desk Host, Hotel Management
Hello Dave, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the inn and our surrounding location. Just so you know, we do have parking spaces available for reservation for $25 a night - you won't have to worry about getting a ticket!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Really helpful staff. Coffee available and breakfast. Hot shower. Big room. Great location to mass transit. Nearby bars...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2018 by Front Desk Host, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - come back anytime!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you!
4 out of 5
by mike

Posted Nov 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great B & B close to the hospitals.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Clean room, clean bath and quiet. Very nice staff. Accommodating. I had a late flight and they worked around my arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Beacon Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but problematic bathroom.

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location but not really private bathroom, it is more like outside the room and you are the sole user. Overall, it was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Staff, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient. In regards to the detached bathroom in your bedroom, as explained on Expedia and our website, there are only 3 rooms with the bathroom across the hallway and they are fully private. Regards, Beacon Inn
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

staff training re phone inquiries

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Cons: need to take a bit more care to maintain the charm of an old and beautiful building (e.g. paint the plywood underneath the vent in room 11, etc.)
Location: cool historic place in a nice spot.
when I called to ask about parking I was advised that parking was available. I then called again re another matter several days before my stay, and was advised that, as I had not registered for parking , there was none available. While the info regarding the need to register for parking is in the registration email (buried deep) one would think that staff would offer information regarding the need to register for parking when a guests asks about parking. I parked a mile away. This is any easy staff training fix, and I hope they do it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Beacon Inn, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable input. We are glad to hear that you liked the building and appreciated its historic charm. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience and will review the way in which our new employees explain the parking policy. As you point out, both at the time of booking your room on Expedia and also after we send you the confirmation email, you are advised to reserve a parking spot in advance, as they are limited. In the event that we are full, however, there is an extended parking lot only 5 minutes away by foot. There is no need to park a mile away. We hope this didn't cause you too much trouble and that you give us another chance in the future. Regards, Beacon Inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenient location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
This place is not far from the attractions. There’s public transportation outside the hotel and is only about 10-20 minutes away if you drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Beacon Inn, Hotel Management
Dear Ivan, Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Beacon Inn