Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Jay from Florida

Avoid at all costs!

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk guy was very helpful but it went downhill from there. Upon checkin, we filled out the registration card and were asked to wait 10 minutes for the owner to arrive with some additional paperwork. 45 minutes later, she still had not arrived and we insisted on our room key. Our room was one of two that had no patio. Hard to view the wildlife from your room without one. There was no coffee/tea maker as advertised. One was eventually sent to the room with no supplies. The pool was disgustingly green; totally unusable. The distance from Jaco is at least twice as far as advertised, most of it on a dirt and gravel road. The only wildlife we did see was iguanas and 2 caged parrots. We never did find the views advertised in the pictures. The breakfast could be the worst that we've encountered in years. No butter for the toast and no black tea. We checked out after our first night.
4 out of 5
by Ronald from Costa Rica

Lugar fascinante!

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Bien el servicio, el zoologico, los anaimales, mi esposa salio fascinada por el contacto con la naturaleza. Muy largo de parrita por carretera de lastre 17 kilometros
4 out of 5
by Gary from Houston

Paraisa Carlisa Mountain Getaway

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
This is a great wildeness resort.. Off of the regular paths..even for Costa Rica. I have previously purchased a four acre tract on top of a small hill overlooking the Pacific ocean and Parrita. The land is about ten kilometers down the mountain road from Paraisa Carlisa.
4 out of 5
by Mauricio from San José

Bonito lugar

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
El acceso es por calle de lastre en la montaña pero el lugar vale la pena para descansar y disfrutar de la flora y fauna del lugar. Es de resaltar el esfuerzo del hotel por conservar la naturaleza y rescatar animales.
4 out of 5
by Frida from Jönköping, Sweden

Exciting and wonderful!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice indeed! Helpful staff even though only one of them spoke english. Quite off the road place to stay but plenty to see and staff very willing to drive or call for taxi if you want to get to town. Calm and peaceful area with a lot of wildlife, just outside the bungalow door!
4 out of 5
by Victress from California

Beautiful out of the way spot

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay. The place is a bit rundown on first appearance but the staff are great, the rooms are simple but nice and comfortable (except the hot water ran out), the food was very good. The grounds and animal rescue area are a wonderful addition. If you want an out of the way, quiet, beautiful place.. This is it. The staff was particularly helpful and sweet to my 4 year old grandson. It's helpful to know Spanish but not essential.
2 out of 5
by Clara from Reading, UK

An OK resort hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Decking/Outside area Pool Breakfast times
Cons: Problem with ceiling light in bedroom Shower temperature extremes only No AC in the bedroom - just the living space 1hr drive from Manual Antonio
Location: A long way from the ocean road (30mins) down a dirt track and then another 30mins to Quepos. But we loved Quepos and Manuel Antonio.
Myself and a friend stayed in a one bedroom with a fold out sofa. It's a 30min off road drive from the main ocean road. We had a few problems with the room, facilities and staff but over all the hotel was OK I think this hotel would be good if you were wanting to stay in the hotel for your stay - and there is stuff to do but it wasn't the hotel that we needed. When asking at reception for any local info they didn't have anything so we had to go online (which only worked in the public areas). The breakfast was good. On the first night we had their buffet dinner which wasn't up to much but it cost us a fortune when we checked out.
4 out of 5
by ed from Florida

Way out in the country

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels
Huge gigantic room. no microwave.
5 out of 5
by Paizanis from SB

Wow the staff made this special

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels
Really enjoyed my stay the staff was so attentive. I challenged myself horseback riding. They had plenty of adventures. They view was great and really off the beatened track. The staff was so great always going the extra mile
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruhe im wald

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels
Angenehme Lodge fern vom Rummel mit Privatzoo. Kleine Wanderungen in der UmgUmgebung zu spektakulären Wasserfall. Buffet war immer ggleich.