Posted Nov 29, 2016
Unfortunately, I was disappointed by this hotel. First I need to say: We stayed in the main building. Apparently there are three. I appreciate that they want to keep the 50s-style, but they need to make some serious upgrades. The windows and the heater seemed indeed to be from that era. The heater was old, shabby, loud and took two hours to get from 62 degrees to 70. There was a door connecting us to the next room and we heard everything our neighbor did. She was on a conference call still after midnight and it sounded like she was in our room. I finally had to call the front desk to complain, and they did act on it. But worst noise level I ever had in hotel.
It seem like hotels are becoming more like airlines. They nickel and dime you where they can. They advertise free coffee (only until 8am that is, after that $4 for a regular cup of just coffee), free wifi, free towels, etc. Well, it isn't "free" if they hit you with a $15 "Resort fee" per day at the end of your stay, it it? Those resort fees are a scam in my opinion. It's not a resort just because it has a small pool.
It is not allowed to park overnight on the streets in Beverly Hills, and the Hotels are all taking major advantage of that by charging outrages fees for mandatory valet parking, this one included. I know minibars are usually expensive, but $5 for a small bottle of water?
The main reason I chose this was because they are shown as +VIP and I always enjoyed the little perks. This one offered nothing though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments about your experience. We value all feedback from our guests but I was disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied in certain aspects of your stay. I am thrilled that you did enjoy our comfortable beds in our stylishly appointed guest rooms and that you felt well served by the valet team. I sincerely hope every staff member you encountered was friendly and attentive to your needs. I would like to apologize if you experienced any inconvenience or delay with the heating system in the room. We do use feedback like yours to help us to improve in many areas and I will be sharing this feedback with our maintenance team. We do have a resort fee here on property as you mentioned, which is priced below many competitive hotels in our market, and covers many services that our guests enjoy. These services are often charged separately at other properties and can become quite expensive for the guests, so we find it to be more beneficial to bundle them in at a lower rate. We benefit from a wonderful location here in Beverly Hills and parking is in very high demand as you might imagine so we do charge for valet. Our prices are also below many of the other competitive properties across Los Angeles and we hope that our guests not only see the benefit but also experience an added touch of service excellence from the valet staff, as you mentioned that you did. I do hope that you will return again in the future to give us another chance to earn your satisfaction.