Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this hotel was ok.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: i liked how close it was to shops and restaurants.
Cons: idk, i just don't like the look of the hotel rooms. it looks cheaply remodeled.
Location: dining, food.
the avalon hotel was just ok. it was nice to have it close to many restaurants within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and your comments regarding the service you experienced while on property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location. We here do love our Kelly Wearstler designed rooms and white oak hardwood flooring but I am disappointed that you were not impressed. I hope that you will return in the future so that we can show you different room options and provide you with stellar service!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from asia

Smell of toilet, hair of others, scartched window.

Posted May 15, 2016
Is it really 3-4 stars rating hotel in "Beverly Hills"? I don't think so because I have written as above, and it was also very very very noisy of party people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Old smelling dirty hotel

Posted May 13, 2016
When we walked into the room it smelled old and musty, we left the door open and tried to air it out. The room had little black bugs in it, I found two on the bed one night. I didn't unpack any of my bags because of the weird smell in the room. Very expensive parking $38
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Relaxing quick trip to southern Califorbia. Enjoyed the staff and comfort of the hotel. Quick and close to downtown.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from New York, NY

Avalon is THE BEST!!!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
I absolutely loved my stay at Avalon. I'm a major hotel hopper so I can be very critical, but I don't have any negative comments for this hotel. The only reason I'm writing anything down is because it was that great! People who worked there are incredibly nice and helpful. The bedding is excellent. Although the room wasn't huge in size, it made up for it in charm and cleanliness. This hotel is fantastic, because it is one of those places that you can stay at and party while people come meet you or relax poolside and lounge until you have to go meet your friends elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by JA WON from San Diego

It's a keeper!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was great stay overall, the junior suite was very neat and quaint. People are extremely nice there as well. It was the best location to go places like Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Hollywood and Koreatown. I'd definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from New Hampshire

Great Retro hotel!

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night and it is definitely out of our price range now, but remembered how close it was to our friends when we were here six years ago. We had a lot of fun then and stayed at a poolside cabana most of the day with lots of food and friends keeping us company. Great fun! PS: tea bags would be greatly appreciated in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Nice - good location - AC in room wasn't all that great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

24 hours for business only

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: Service. Food. Location.
Cons: The bed. Not comfortable.
Location: Location was great for my needs but nothing walkable.
The hotel is tucked away - literally - despite being on a corner of a busy street in Beverly Hills, it's quite obscure. It's more retro than modern in decor and style than is my personal preference. Because the pool is on the main floor you immediately are hit with a strong chlorine smell but it could be because I was there on the day they were cleaning it. The room was small but had all the necessities. The bathroom was also small but has what I needed. The bed was not remarkably comfortable at all. For this price in this location, I did expect a much more comfortable bed. The staff was really pleasant as well. I landed early and they let me check in because they had a room ready which I really appreciated. The breakfast at the hotel was FABULOUS - seriously. First rate and worth the $20. Overall great - would stay there again if I needed to but it won't be my first choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MERCER ISLAND, WA.

THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN BEVERLY HILLS...

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: IT FEELS LIKE YOU A STAYING ON THE LEFT-BANK IN PARIS.
Location: ONE BLOCK FROM DOWNTOWN BEVERLY HILLS...
THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN BEVERLY HILLS...AND THEY TREAT ME LIKE ROYALTY!