Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Cozy, chic, boutique hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: I loved the look of the hotel, the amenities and the staff.
Cons: Walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors and guests coming in and out.
Location: Great eateries, shopping, museums, lots of access to everything you need.
This is a great hotel with a convenient location. The associates are all friendly, accommodating, accessible, personable and kind. The service here is great. The only area for improvement would be the level of noise from other guests can be heard while in your room. The walls may be a little thin so people talking, running, exiting in and out their rooms or dripping something from the room above can be heard pretty clear. But overall the hotel is a great find with friendly attentive service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Hello, We would like to thank you for your lovely response and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to see you again! If you would be so kind as to post your review on TripAdvisor and let other potential guests know about your stay that would be great! Till next time, take care. Sincerely, Avalon Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton

Small hotel for young people

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: It was easy to check in and quick to get our car because the hotel is so small.
The music from the restaurant can be heard in the rooms well into the night and the larger suite that we were sold on was on the street side and very noisy. It was cold outside and there was no heat in the bathroom which was all marble and very cold! The wood floor in the room was very dirty as the bottom of our feet got filthy from walking barefoot. Otherwise the room was decorated well and spacious but the TV was very small.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money!

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Considering the location of this hotel my wife and I expected to have a classy, pleasant experience... HOW WRONG WE WERE! The room we stayed in was dated and had an odd odor, the main light did not work, the bed side lamp was jigged together with a disconnected cord that sparked and was not only an extreme electrical hazard but a fire hazard as well. We had the pleasure of having workers outside of our room 24/7, so I probably improved my Spanish luckily. DO NOT STAY HERE!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was very old and only partially renovated

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Needs major renovation Hotel feels like it's should have been knocked down ..... I don't know why this would be a 4 star hotel I don't trust Expedia star rating any more, this should be a 3 star at the most!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to shopping at Beverly Hills

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Their new restaurant is fantastic..
this is the second time we've stayed there. Our college age kids love it too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ausralia

Boutique hotel in beautiful Beverley Hills

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: I like the connection to old Hollywood and boutique feel Would prefer a room in the actual hotel - not in the block behind Windows open
Location: Great location for shopping Walk to Rodeo drive Nice safe neighbourhood.
Second visit here Love it. Great position and lovely feeling here Friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NorCal

Special swanky hotel in Beverly Hills

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: This hotel always feels more personal. Its décor is amazingly cool.
Cons: nothing
Location: Its in BH. I think that says it all.
This is a fun smaller hotel in the heart of BH. From check-in through out your stay, this hotel just feels different and special. This is the third or fourth time staying there and it has remained a favorite over the last 12 years. The mid-century modern hotel is beautiful with its décor and unique with its ambience. I have recommended this hotel many times over the past dozen years, and will continue to highly recommend this as a perfect place to stay. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Nice hotel. Clean. Good, friendly stuff. Location is ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami,fl

Nice staff, amenities, location, poor maintainance

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: The people were very nice, the location is extraordinary, and the hotel is well designed with a modern feel.
Cons: See the long list above. It needs major maintenance on the systems and please include the parking and fees in the advertisement of the price.
Location: Walk to Beverly Hills shopping, Getty Museum, Santa Monica, great location accessible to the whole Westside, culver city, west Hollywood etc...
The location and look of the hotel were very nice. A lovely pool and Bar area, the furnishings were nice. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed, but the bathroom was small. But we experienced many problems. The TV had problems from the first night, a maintainance guy came out rot away, and spent a good deal of time there, but that took up part of the first nit. It also took forever to get the Internet up and running on the computer. There few written instupructions I the room for the service tablet. But the biggest hassle is that halfway through the stay many of the outlets in the room stopped working and so did the phone it the room. Each time this was reported, they attempted to fix right away, but clearly there are issues in the walls. In the bathroom there were times with small holes in them that hadn't been replaced and the bathroom door had lots of scratches and wear marks. The floor leading to the bathroom was not level and this caused the bathroom door to need to be fully open or fully closed at all times. Several of the closet/cabinet meeting points Ned sanding or shaving, as they stick, and the hot water was very unreliable, changing temperature several times during a shower. Plan to spend an actress $60 on nightly Parking/Resort Fees that aren't listed on the room rate. The AC Thermostat was also confusing and unreliable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Ok!

Posted Dec 17, 2015
The room was ok it was old the wall paper was peeling old ac unit. Bathroom was freezing at all times small dinky bath poor water pressure. Bed was comfortable but had no fitted sheet which is odd for a hotel that is ranked 4stars I would think there would be proper bedding attire. The room next door was super loud and raging until 5 am when complained the hotel did nothing in return offered free breakfast. What a joke maybe they should of comped the valet or offered a room discount. I cannot say I will recommend this hotel to any sane person the staff was unpersonable and just an overall awful stay.