Ratings based on 892 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Beware the noise! We got very little sleep.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The aesthetic of the lobby and pool area was great. Staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: SOUNDPROOFING. Furnishing of the rooms.
Cars outside, guests upstairs walking around/showering at all hours, dog barking in the next room, loud party in the bar area, people walking by talking in the hall, the elevator button dinging, vacuuming of common areas starting at 7:30am -- we may as well have slept in the hall for all the noise we heard. Never have I EVER heard that level of noise from a hotel room before. We stuffed towels under the (puzzling) 1-inch gap below the suite door to dampen the sound but it did nothing. Hotels are inherently busy, noisy places, I understand -- however, rooms should be basically soundproof. If I can hear an ELEVATOR DINGING from my bed, there is something wrong with the room!! Secondly, no fan in the bathroom, so the room (all mirror and glass) was soaked after a shower and the whole hotel room humid for the rest of the night. Would have opened more windows but it was so noisy already... Room was sparsely furnished and with somewhat dirty and sticky hardwood floors rather than carpet. Not the luxurious stay I was expecting -- I paid for a junior suite and would have liked a loveseat or at least an easy chair -- instead got another marble piece of furniture, and a dining table and chairs. On checkout front desk clerk was only able to refund the amenity fee, until the manager who happened to be there piped in and refunded my parking fee. He later emailed to refund half my room rate (but I have yet to get Expedia's confirmation for that). BE WARNED and stay at your own risk!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az.

Fantastic location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Perfect stay from beginning to end!! Comfort supreme! Service was impeccable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for these wonderful comments! It truly means a lot to all of us here when we receive such positive feedback. Treating our guests well and providing them with a memorable service experience is our number one team goal. It was an honor to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope that you return to visit us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Little gem

Posted Feb 5, 2017
The Avalon offers everything you need if you are traveling on business and out most of the day but want a nice place to come back to. The room in the main building was spacious enough. My only issue was the desk chair was not the right height for the desk, which made it hard to work. But I enjoyed camping out by the pool to get my work done. Pool/bar activity at night was noisy. The satellite suite building across the street (Canon) may have been quieter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your great feedback about your experience. We do have three distinct buildings on property and our Canon residence is very popular with business travelers. We have studio suites in that building which feature a sleeper sofa, kitchenette, and a nice dining area which can also be used comfortably as a desk. I am glad that you found our cabana area comfortable and convenient for getting some work done. That is also very popular with our business travelers. Please contact us when booking again so we may assist you in finding the perfect room for your needs. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC.

Nice stay in Beverly Hills

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very tastefully decorated and the staff were very polite and helpful.
Location: The Avalon Hotel is located in Beverly Hills and it is a comfortable 10 minute walk to the stores on Rodeo Drive.
I stayed two nights at the Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills and can certainly recommend a stay at this hotel. The hotel is well appointed and the staff are fantastic. My room was in their 'Beverly' tower overlooked S Beverly Drive. There was a little bit of traffic noise on Saturday night but the bed was so comfortable I slept like a log on both nights. My room was very comfortable and tastefully appointed. The hotel restaurant 'Viviane' serves a wonderful breakfast, which you can have by the pool. The ambiance was certainly very calm and soothing. Overall, a very nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you for this wonderfully descriptive review regarding your recent stay with us! We are honored that you would recommend our property and thrilled that our staff provided you with a positive service experience during your stay. We have a variety of room options across three distinct buildings on property so I hope that when you return we can assist you in finding a room that you will enjoy even more. I agree, our poolside ambiance is wonderful and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed it and our delicious restaurant Viviane. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Love staying at the Avalon

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Beautiful accommodations, warm friendly staff -------nothing more to say!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with these kind comments! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations and felt well served by the staff. Our guests’ satisfaction is our number one priority so positive feedback like yours truly means a great deal to the team. Please come visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location for business travelers.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Coffee in the rooms
Location: Great food establishments close by and shopping.
Nice hotel convenient location to landmark areas in Beverly Hills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments regarding your experience. We do have a fantastic location here tucked into our quiet residential neighborhood and just steps to Rodeo Drive shopping and dining so we are thrilled that you enjoyed. We do offer complimentary gourmet coffee service in the early morning hours at our restaurant Viviane and we can provide a coffee maker in the room upon request; please contact us during a return visit to set this up for you. It was an honor to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

The worst hotel stay EVER!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Everything about this hotel was terrible even though we paid a lot for the 13 nights stay. We were first given a room with a really bad view of an alley behind the building, the bathroom was extremely small with no ventilation (all of their bathrooms are like this way!), we were two ladies in the room with only a small mirror in the bathroom! How we were supposed to get ready in the morning was beyond me. The same day I asked for a better room and I was offered a junior suite. We stayed at the junior suite for 2 nights and then the most disgusting thing happened!! The toilet was backed up and flooded into the room!! I called reception and they were not able to get someone to fix it so they offered us another room to stay in. After changing our room for the third time, it was finally livable but not any better as the room cleanliness wasn't any better. The only good thing about the hotel was the friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your feedback regarding your experience. We are all thrilled that you felt well served by the staff as it is our collective goal to make you feel welcome. I am deeply sorry if you encountered any maintenance issues or inconveniences during your stay or if you feel that your concerns were not addressed properly. I have shared this feedback with the rest of the team and we will use this during our ongoing training programs to improve. We have a variety of guest rooms here on property across three distinct buildings so I am confident that I can find a room best suited to your needs upon a return visit. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The location is good and the beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Work on the noise level, stop the added on bogus charges, overall upgrade of the building.
Location: It is in Beverly Hills and there are good restaurants and stores in walking distance.
Unfortunately, I was disappointed by this hotel. First I need to say: We stayed in the main building. Apparently there are three. I appreciate that they want to keep the 50s-style, but they need to make some serious upgrades. The windows and the heater seemed indeed to be from that era. The heater was old, shabby, loud and took two hours to get from 62 degrees to 70. There was a door connecting us to the next room and we heard everything our neighbor did. She was on a conference call still after midnight and it sounded like she was in our room. I finally had to call the front desk to complain, and they did act on it. But worst noise level I ever had in hotel. It seem like hotels are becoming more like airlines. They nickel and dime you where they can. They advertise free coffee (only until 8am that is, after that $4 for a regular cup of just coffee), free wifi, free towels, etc. Well, it isn't "free" if they hit you with a $15 "Resort fee" per day at the end of your stay, it it? Those resort fees are a scam in my opinion. It's not a resort just because it has a small pool. It is not allowed to park overnight on the streets in Beverly Hills, and the Hotels are all taking major advantage of that by charging outrages fees for mandatory valet parking, this one included. I know minibars are usually expensive, but $5 for a small bottle of water? The main reason I chose this was because they are shown as +VIP and I always enjoyed the little perks. This one offered nothing though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Tom C., Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments about your experience. We value all feedback from our guests but I was disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied in certain aspects of your stay. I am thrilled that you did enjoy our comfortable beds in our stylishly appointed guest rooms and that you felt well served by the valet team. I sincerely hope every staff member you encountered was friendly and attentive to your needs. I would like to apologize if you experienced any inconvenience or delay with the heating system in the room. We do use feedback like yours to help us to improve in many areas and I will be sharing this feedback with our maintenance team. We do have a resort fee here on property as you mentioned, which is priced below many competitive hotels in our market, and covers many services that our guests enjoy. These services are often charged separately at other properties and can become quite expensive for the guests, so we find it to be more beneficial to bundle them in at a lower rate. We benefit from a wonderful location here in Beverly Hills and parking is in very high demand as you might imagine so we do charge for valet. Our prices are also below many of the other competitive properties across Los Angeles and we hope that our guests not only see the benefit but also experience an added touch of service excellence from the valet staff, as you mentioned that you did. I do hope that you will return again in the future to give us another chance to earn your satisfaction.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic