Ratings based on 1,089 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Hard to regulate temperature in room and low shower pressure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This hotel has a great location as well as being beautifully decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Out of the Rat Race

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The hotel is not named correctly because it is not in Manhattan Beach. It is actually in another suburb of Los Angeles, Hawthorne, a lower middle class and middle class bedroom community. The hotel is sandwiched between the 405 freeway on the east and a Costco store on the west. It's not possible to walk to the beach but at low traffic hours, it's easy to get to Manhattan Beach. Without traffic it's five minutes away. With traffic it's 20 minutes to 25 minutes away. I like this hotel because it is far enough away from LAX to be out of the rat race. It is a good choice for upscale business people, but not for families. I grew up here and visit for business. If I'm traveling in the Los Angeles basin, I get on the freeway by 5 AM. If you wait until 6:30 AM to try to get more than a few miles from the hotel, you'll be struggling. The traffic in Los Angeles is abominable unless you're on the freeway between 2 AM and 5:30 AM, or between 10 AM and 2:30 PM. Please keep this in mind. Saturdays and Sundays are a little bit better, but not much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westmont, United States of America

Close to airport

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Room was extremely large
Cons: The door to the bathroom swings into the shower and in front of the toilet. you have to go in and close the door to use the shower or toilet
Location: Airport
This boutique hotel is very classy. It is close to the airport and car rental places. The room was very large and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very very nice, great Hotels.com price ... but ...

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice, clean room; decor is beyond baroque: rococo, almost overdone; location, though, is in middle of non-descript commercial area. Ground floor room needed better drapes for privacy. Nice bar and restaurant on premises, but staff seemed to be "ol'-timers" to the extent that chat amongst themselves took precedence over attention to guests; a couple of staff, one at bar, one at restaurant, though, were exceptionally attentive and friendly. Would stay here again if need to be in area, but don't think i'd need to be very close to this particular area. However, got great deal through Hotels.com!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Short trip. The hotel was very nice! The counter girl needed a bit more training. She stumbled through her presentation and was not thorough. The parking can be complicated because it's gated and you will be charge an overnight fee. If your going in and out during the day, you can use your room key or have your bar code validated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location close to the beach..good service!

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
We were in LA for the Breeder's Cup, but wanted to be close to someplace to walk/run in the mornings. Manhattan Beach was perfect for us! Every morning we made it to the beach and walked along the strand (in front of the beautiful homes) and out on the pier. Great restaurants around the hotel, lots of stores of all kinds. Great access to the freeway, great parking, great service!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GREAT HOTEL NEAR LAX

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is fantastic. So friendly and nice . Very accommodating. The hotel and the facilities are just lovely. Like being in a hotel in Europe. Loved it. Breakfast out in the courtyard was lovely. My friend and I VOWED we would stay here again on any future trips to the L.A. area. There are restaurants in walking distance but the food at Matisse on sight is great...... easy to find. Only negative ....need to offer gluten free beer in the hotel bar... other then that this place rocks!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice, clean safe. Wedding going on did not bother us at all. New energy key was interesting. Our room was the furthest from the elevators design issue and someone has to be the furthest away.