Ratings based on 1,227 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laughlin, NV

Conveniently close to Hollywood & Beverly Hills.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Conveniently close to Hollywood & Beverly Hills. The beds & pillows were great.
Cons: The staff's attitude.
Location: Conveniently close to Hollywood & Beverly Hills. We stayed there because it is close to Canter's Deli on Fairfax & the Whiskey on Sunset.
It is an OLD hotel that they tried to update. The beds & pillows were great. Bathroom is remodeled, but low flow toilet didn't work well. OLD "window" in the wall AC - practically up against 1 of the 2 beds, so hard to see & adjust, plus blows directly on 1 bed. Hanging light bulb was burned out. Staff is all foreign & have an "attitude" that is not customer friendly at all. $25 a night parking fee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great hotel, good location. The Swingers Diner was nice to eat at. The only complaint I have is that I would have liked to have customer laundry service, but there was a Laundromat two blocks away that I used. Staff was helpful and answered all my questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Retro Modern Affordable Hotel in Los Angeles

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Comfortable clean rooms, great pool, good staff, diner downstairs.
Cons: Ironing board, we didn't have one, and they were out at the front desk.
Location: Great location pretty easy drive to most places, several we were able to walk to.
We just spent a long weekend in Los Angeles and stayed at this hotel based on reviews and the location. It was a good choice. We had the Premium Suite, which has a living area with TV and sofa (also a bed) and a separate bedroom. Great space, it was clean and comfortable, we loved the retro mid century vibe of this hotel. The beds were good, the bathroom was a nice size too. The pool we used everyday. The staff, from the front desk, valet and the cleaning crew were all very nice and helpful. We also went to the Swingers diner downstairs a couple of times for breakfast and once for a late night snack. The location is perfect for getting around and not having to drive too far, we walked a few places from the hotel. Overall we had a good experience, we look forward to returning in the future. Thanks Beverly Laurel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, IN

Retro Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: We enjoy the mid-century style and the setting was new to us as it was our first time in Los Angeles. Rubber tree grew nearly around the entire pool.
Location: Close to businesses and restaurants.
A hotel built in the 60s and delightfully maintained in the mid-century style. Rooms are relatively spacious, clean, and comfortable. Wifi is speedy enough for most anything you might need. Staff is friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Retro vibes

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Had some problems with communication, but it was all sorted so I'm happy with that. Non touristy location that's still close to tourist destinations. Real cool vibe. Really L.A. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Great place to stay. They did an excellent job of remodeling this motel. It was a nice place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L, Visalia, CA

Nice and close to Cedar Sinai.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Nice room. Afternoon staff very pleasant and helpful. Morning checkout staff was unpleasant and appeared frustrated and unhappy with his job. He loudly snapped at me when I didn't hear what he said. I wear a hearing aid and didn't quit get what he said. Wouldn't eat at Swingers again. Extremely loud. Food not good. Hotel room was clean, modern and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Great option. I've included this hotel in my past 3 trips to LA. Clean, Trendy,Reasonable, Friendly & in a decent convenient area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice stylish 60's period hotel close to shopping

Posted May 25, 2017
Great groovy 60's motel modernised but keeping it a groovy 60's vibe. Close to shopping, Beverly Centre, the Grove & La Brea tar pits!! Nice pool area with swing seats & shade, great diner attached, Swingers! Went there every day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Really cute hotel! There is a great restaurant right across the street - market provisions, which you must check out! The hotel has a quaint pool, staff are very friendly.