Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice to close to the beach,

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The carpet of the room is horrible, the personal is excellent, the room is on poor conditions,NO PARKING LOT FOR MY SUBURBAN VEHICLE,they say is too big, very unsafe place to stay, my family almost kill me, because I rent that place. ELEVATOR EXTREMELY SMALL.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Super location at VB

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Good stuff: Bike rental, helpful staff, beach towels provided, nice bathrooms and comfortable beds. Weird stuff: $8 fee/day for wifi that was not even fast enough to stream on Netflix! Bad stuff: Stained carpets in room needed to be replaced in year 2000.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice location

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms. View to the ocean. Very helpful staff. The hotel is very basic but its location is really good you can enjoy nearby bars and Pier.
Cons: The parking not only in this hotel but overall Santa Monica is a challenge. The hotel did provide a descent but limited parking for 25$ per night.
Location: The walk on the Ocean is nice. Some Jazz and other music bands are doing open air performance :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Steps to the beach...

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: I know it is very old which is neat; they have done a great job updating it.
Cons: No AC, but there was a ceiling fan - but even on 'high' it didn't spin very fast; no mini fridge. The plethora of homeless people sleeping in front on the sidewalk was shocking.
Location: Steps to the beach! Perfect if you want sun and sand. 30 minute walk to Santa Monica Pier. Venice beach 'boardwalk' was busy & sketchy; not trendy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

This was disappointing

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The one good thing about this hotel is that it is right on the beach. Close access to the bike trail and some OK food nearby.
Cons: They have got to remove the pictures they have on Expedia of this hotel and rooms in particular. The hotel itself is in a shady part of Venice and I mean there is a lot of homeless people everywhere around the hotel. The doors of the lobby are always wide open into an alley (slightly unsettling). The rooms are something else. There is no air conditioning, only a fan overhead. The carpet in the room was absolutely filthy. It had big dirty spots all over the carpet and I'm not even sure of the original color of the carpet but it was cleaner outside in the back alley than on that floor. As soon as we came in, we noticed at least several hairs on our bed (sheets have clearly not been changed). In the bathroom there was a tampon wrapper in the garbage can. Honestly I am not a highly picky person but if I'm paying $220 for a hotel room, I expect at least a clean room in which I can turn in at night. I highly considered sleeping outside on the beach that night because it was very unsettling sleeping in a room that clearly wasn't even cleaned. I was very disappointed and hope that they at the very least lower their prices because anyone that pays over $200 for this room will be very disappointed when they arrive.
Location: The location is the only upside of this hotel. Its right on the boardwalk and close to a couple restaurants to grab a bite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Disappointing

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Good location if you want to be on the beach, but it comes with caveats: - noise from terrasses and homeless people by the door (old not-soundproof windows) - limited and expensive parking - an effort to make the rooms look hip is only half successful, they look dated instead - extra fees make it really too expensive for what it is, unless you really _need_ to be by the beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UT

Wonderful location that's about it.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
The location is fantastic however, the place is badly in need of an update. Needs AC and new carpet. Its a super loud location but because of the absent AC we had to prop the windows open, so sleeping was a challenge. Windows didn't stay open on their own, screens were torn, shower door wouldn't properly slide. All in all, the location of this place is its only real saving grace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location-Great views

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The rooftop deck is a special treat. Best place to view sunsets from & lots of comfortable furniture. Also a private way to enjoy the sun.
Cons: Parking is always a problem in Venice. The lot provided is narrow but accommodating. Street parking is unusually safe and nearby.
Location: The beach is literally in front of the hotel. Various piers are close by. Walking around Venice is easily accomplished. Lots of things to see !
The Cadillac Hotel is rooted in history. Over 100 years old, it's condition is well preserved & maintained professionally. That speaks volumes for the management & staff whom are helpful, friendly & knowledgeble. The location is on the famous Venice Boardwalk, with it's wide beach & ocean directly in front. Restaurants & bars are literally across a narrow street. Continue down the Boardwalk & the variety of types of business is unending. There are bicycle rentals available. The Boatdwalk is next to a bike path extending the length of the Boardwalk & beyond to the Santa Monica Pier. I would defiantly stay at the Cadillac Hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lake arrowhead

Homeless people yelling outside at 3 am

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Carpet filthy, tv satellite connection not working property. Bed uncomfortable. Will not stay here again for the 224 we spent, he'll no.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from venice beach, ca

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The hotel was so hot inside and found out that there is no air conditioning throughout the hotel. Then went to get a late dinner and there was no places close by that was open, the area has a lot of homeless people setting up the tents right outside the hotel. Dangerous to walk at night