Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location for Universal

Posted Apr 26, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend, which probably explains the hotel being very quiet (we only saw 10 other guests at most). Friendly & helpful reception staff, with small Easter gift for my kids. About 15 min drive to Universal and 25 mins to Santa Monica, although we may have been lucky with traffic. King suite room was probably a bit tight for 2 adults & 3 kids, but nothing that we couldn't deal with. Hotel is next to Sherman Oaks Galleria which has a few places to eat. Hotel is next to the 405, but we noticed no noise. I'd use this hotel again, especially as a UK citizen with no real knowledge of LA and where to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MN

Convenient

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staff is really friendly. Kyle at front desk answered all our questions and gave us tips for getting around.
Location: Walking distance to mall with major restaurants which is great if you don't want to drive after a long day out. Easy access to freeways.
After reading reviews, I booked this hotel for our vacation. Great location off the 405 and 101. We were able to drive everywhere with little traffic issues because we could use the 101. Excellent value and 20 min. Drive to universal studios. Also easy to get to Griffeth park and Hollywood sign. The other direction put us in the valleys for hiking and Malibu within 20-30 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Lance, Hotel Management
Good morning Staci: Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I will share your comments with Kyle and my team. We hop to see you and your family again soon. Lance and the Sherman Oaks Courtyard Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel, ok location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Went to Universal Studios and stayed here. Room was nice. You couldn't hear any neighbors nor the sound of the busy street below. Comfortable bed and nice sheets and towels. The pool and gym were nice. The elevator was old and sounded a bit rickety. The location is downtown, and even though it's 7 miles from Universal, with traffic it took 25 min To and from the park. Price is what's expected for LA. $19 daily parking was expected and parking is in a parking garage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia, CA

Nice hotel smack dab in the middle of LA

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The rooms were clean and very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was convenient to go from the parking garage to the level your room was on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Lance, Hotel Management
Good morning Melody: Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Lance and the Sherman Oaks Courtyard Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros Great location Convenient to everything Clean, nice gym Nice pool Cookies in the lobby Cons On a busy city street - but quiet inside No casual dining/coffee/cafe as some other locations have
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Lance, Hotel Management
Good morning: Thank you for your review. We do have a full service restaurant and bar, as well as a marketplace with grab-and-go fresh salads and sandwiches prepared daily. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Lance and the Sherman Oaks Courtyard Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, great service

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Service and facilities
This hotel does not look like much from the outside but has great facilities and a wonderful staff who was very helpful. There are not many choices in that area so if you need a hotel there, don't hesitate to book and get a renovated room if you can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

Great affordable hotel, good location, nice pool.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, comfortable, nice views, gym, affordable.
Cons: Don't charge extra for last minute room reservation.
I needed a place to spend the night for a business trip. Marriott Courtyards are always consistent, and this was the case. Great location in Sherman Oaks, close to restaurants and downtown, easy freeway access, nice pool and gym. The rooms have nice views too. My only complaint is that by booking my hotel on the day of my trip, I had to pay a premium. If I had booked the room for the next day, it was much cheaper. Not sure why I had to be gouged because of my last minute plans, but I suppose that's how hotels work. The room was otherwise comfortable and the bathrooms recently renovated. I got the economy room, which had everything I needed but was a bit cramped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, lousy parking

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The staff and location are great. Great hotel for a great price.
Cons: The parking layout.
Location: Not too far from Universal Studios, the Getty and the tourist traps of Hollywood. Movie lovers will love being close to the S.H. Arclight Cinema.
Stayed here while on a business trip and it's in a great location. The staff was great and check-in and check out was a breeze. The only issue is the parking garage. The spots are so thin that it can be difficult to maneuver in and out of them without coming dangerously close to getting in an accident.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

adequate hotel for the area

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Room was a extremely small. Dining menu was very limited. For a nonsmoking hotel our floor reeked of smoke.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Perfect Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
This hotel was great I have no complaints. Super clean, great location would drag her again without a doubt. I stayed here with my three kids and the room didn't feel small at all and the bathroom was one of the nicest I've seen.