Ratings based on 638 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to Los Angeles Ports

Posted May 26, 2017
Worth the price I paid. It was quiet in the area and really close to the Los Angeles Ports. The bed was a little hard for me, the bathroom wall had something pink and gooey on it, but for the price it was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted May 18, 2017
Everything was lovely besides the elevators Scariest noises in the world and they just stay on the floor and the doors would open for a long time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Needs some TLC

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The location was great, especially being so close to Ports O' Call and the Battleship Iowa.
While the room was overall satisfactory, it had a worn look about it. There were water stains on the ceiling in the bathroom, the furniture was a little scuffed, and the bathroom was missing the toilet paper holder (it's a little thing but also a weird thing). The main reason for the low overall rating was the experience with the staff. While the restaurant staff members were very friendly, the front desk people were terse and not overly pleasant. We also encountered a VERY unhelpful night manager who refused to store my wife's breast milk in the hotel freezer so it would be nice and frozen for the flight out the next day. (The room refrigerators don't really have an actual freezer, and the milk was only barely slushy.) After arguing with him, we finally convinced him to call his boss, who instructed him to accommodate us. (We even called the hotel before we even checked in to make sure they'd accommodate us, and they assured us they would.) It was probably just this one guy who didn't know the importance of keeping breast milk frozen, but it really soured us on the hotel in general. I actually saw a sign on the front door notifying guests of a potential ownership change, so maybe that will help - but in the meantime, I'd go somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

This hotel has seen its better days

Posted May 10, 2017
This hotel is getting old. Facilities are ageing. Such as the elevators. Closet doors hanging loose.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable for a short stay

Posted May 8, 2017
This property was selected by our group due to its proximity to an event we were all attending. It is in definite need of a facelift-only 2 of the 4 elevators were in service, the public areas are large but not very enticing, there seems to be an overall feeling like they started to make improvements but never finished. On the positive, the room was clean and large. The staff is very friendly. There are several restaurants within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel near harbor happenings

Posted May 8, 2017
The rooms were very nice. And the hotel had a professional business vibe. I liked the pool but the surface around in the pool area was cracked and needed some updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

location good but that's about it

Posted May 6, 2017
Location is close to cruise port whichever as convenient however it goes downhill from there. Hotel rooms look old and run down and there was a blood stain in the carpet outside of the bathroom... The elevators were old and busted and did not run consistently. There was huge lineups to go up and down as there were only two working. We ended up having to lug suitcases down several flights of stairs after waiting 15 minutes for the elevator which never even opened on our floor. Very disappointing for the price of the stay and the crowne plaza brand.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Close to Cruise Ship terminal and that's it...

Posted May 4, 2017
Only 1 of 4 elevators worked. So imagine all the waiting... the room floors and hallways were very uneven... big gaps in the doors,handles that we're falling off... only positive is location to cruise ship terminal which is less than a 10minute walk from hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Good location for the night before or after a cruise.
Cons: They should not offer rooms which have no ventilation and no air conditioning.
Location: San Pedro cruise port is just blocks away
We checked into our room to find that there was no air conditioning and no circulation working. It was over 90 degrees that day and very hot and muggy in the room. The only way to get fresh air was to open a sliding door out to the swimming pool area where others could walk right into the room. The hotel clerk told us that the only other room available also had no air conditioning. He said that it could not be repaired and he was sorry. The next morning we spoke with another guest who also had no air conditioning. We were offered a refund upon checking out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted May 1, 2017
There was only one elevator working for the entire hotel. We waited over 15 minutes for an elevator down to the lobby. We tried getting ice from the ice machines on three different floors and they were all empty/broken. Staff was very friendly, the room was spotless, and the breakfast was a lot better than expected!