Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Excellent staff Spacious clean rooms ; good for families
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, comfortable

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Repair construction was not a problem, just don't understand why we had to pay for WiFi and parking. Should have just included in the initial price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Terrific location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
With the 10 freeway entrance so close it's a great location to get in and get out of LA/BevHills/Hollywood/Downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do have a great location, just a quick walk to the beach, 3rd street promenade, Venice beach and world famous Santa Monica Pier. Add that with our two room suites that are very spacious with and a pull out sofa bed, microwave and refrigerator along with our wonderfully attentive service team and we are the perfect location to enjoy a get-away in Santa Monica. Thank you again for taking the time to share this with us. We hope to see you back again soon. Brian Murphy General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Stayed here on our trip to Venice Beach and Santa Monica - great location. Hotel was being renovated so exterior appearance not great but temporary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. My apologies for the construction. Small pool leak that had to be addressed. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Brian Murphy General Manger
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Basic Family Hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Location was ok...walk to shops and restaurants. This hotel is tired though and dated. If you are willing to overlook that it is a cost effective option for a family of 5 as the family room was large enough to fit us all in comfortably. The beds were comfortable and cookies a nice touch. I would stay again but there is nothing particularly nice about this hotel...particularly the view of a large parking station. Watch out for the cost of the parking, as you can only valet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Nice to know that you had a nice stay in Santa Monica. This hotel has a great history with families. We really appreciate the trust placed with us when people take their families out on vacation and stay here. It means allot to this Team. Thanks again for your business and support! Looking forward to your return. Brian Murphy General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Staff were helpful
Cons: Hotel was under renovation so pool was not available and we had wet carpet in our room which was acknowledged but nothing done about it
Short stay so good location to explore from. Facilities were ok. Still find it odd to pay a lot for accommodation and then be expected to pay for WIF
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with spacious and comfortable room

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: One of the best services we had, was the free shuttle service. That was the icing on the cake.
Cons: N/A
Location: The location was close enough to the main attractions to get there easily by shuttle, car or walking; yet a bit off the beaten track as well.
We had a great experience here and would definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review! We have a great staff and a fantastic location. Perfect spot for a visit to the LA area. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Brian Murphy General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wagga, Aus

Nice hotel close to all the action.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Comfortably fit 2 adults and 3 kids in our suite. Great breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
The doubletree san montica was a well organized hotel with no issues with the room and allowed ask to check out later without any charged. Friendly staff and going out of there way to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lompoc, ca

short walking distance to beach, shopping/restaura

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff, courteous especially at the desk, valet parking and maids. great location! Comfortable and large suite with refrig. and microwave.
Cons: right info regarding the parking fees and any major renovations or repairs
Location: Walking distance to the pier, beaches, restaurants, movie theaters, shopping mall, parks and subway.
Customers should be aware of the construction site (pool) before reservations. Also, the info about the hotel mentioned extra fees for breakfast, internet use, and valet parking of $39.00 per day. When we arrived, we were not permitted to self-park and we had to pay $39.00 per day. The receptionist decreased the rate to $20.00 per day and we parked ourselves. This information regarding the parking fee should be rectified in your ad. Not a good experience at the restaurant (it was at lunch closing time), we ordered an appetizer to go: Bruscheta an Italian crispy grilled French bread topped with fresh Italian tomatoes and herbs. The bread was burned, tomatoes were watery with no taste and the entire piece was cold, really bad; it went to the trash after on bite!