Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice location

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Location and staff. The beds were fantastic! Great nights sleep
Loved the hotel and Santa Monica! We only stayed one day, which was way too short. We'll be back and stay longer next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely updated art deco hotel.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent, easy access to beach, paths, pier and transport. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed and very comfortable.
Cons: Water pressure in shower. However a small thing considering the age of the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Distinctive architecture and inviting!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Ocean view, Santa Monica Pier, street performers, shopping, cycling....
The room was spacious and clean, the lobby and verandah personable and attractive, and the staff attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old school charm!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
We really enjoyed our 2 nightstay. The location was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast and lunch on the porch were amazing! The only downside was that we arrived at 12 and could not get into our room till almost 3.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great Hotel in a fantastic location.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Perfect walking distance to 3rd street promenade, shopping, restaurants, Pier and beach.
The location of this hotel is what it is all about! Across the road from the beach and pier. Tons of restaurants and shopping around the corner. Rooms are small, but it is an older property, think New York. A small fridge would of been nice. But it had everything else required. We had a sea view with stunning sunsets. The busy road below did not disturb us and we found the room really quiet. Staff were very attentive when required but also left you to your privacy. All in all a great hotel in a fantastic location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish hotel in the centre of Santa Monica

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: We appreciated the hotel ambience and the location above all.
Cons: There wan not a thing that could be improved.
Location: All of Santa Monica activities, shopping, restaurants, beaches, Pier, and transport connections, Including the new metro to downtown, are close by.
Large rooms with views that ooze 1930s charm. All facilities are spotless but retain the period look. Staff are courteous and keen to please and provide a welcoming foyer and restaurant services that are in keeping with the hotel style. The Georgian is right in the centre of the Santa Monica action with the sunset park and views literally on the doorstep. We especially enjoyed the area inside for hotel guests and the water and fruit available all day. Definitely our best hotel we have stayed in Santa Monica out of the last four visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Coast

Great, great but then there was the minibar

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: A tourist can get the real feel of Santa Monica without driving a car once you get settled into the hotel.
Cons: The minibar. Better to trust your clientele or loose a few cans of soda than to run your staff crazy and irritate guests.
Location: Centrally located near the beach, pier, outdoor mall and newer indoor one, entertainment and restaurants. Park car and walk about.
What is not to love about this hotel? Historical [as far as Santa Monica goes), swank, terrific views of the ocean and pier, walkable neighborhood, attentive and friendly staff. We love staying here. This time however the mini-bar drove us to distraction, however. No matter the efforts by the staff, it refused at the most inconvenient times to open. Much to the credit of the staff they jumped to our needs. Which is credit to them but not the company that installed the mini-bar. Stay here. Sit on the veranda. Lunch was good, breakfast ok. You will love it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Nice hotel clean everyones nice location good But an older property if like a more modern style hotel stay somewhere else
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great 1920's themed vintage hotel across the beach

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location, ambiance, room, breakfast
Cons: Everything was wonderful
Location: The Water Grill Restaurant was next door and the food there is exceptional and you are right on Ocean, right in the life pulse of Santa Monica right
Had a great time while in town for a baby shower. Breakfast on the veranda was delicious and peaceful as we watched the morning mist over the ocean. The signature suite was roomy, comfortable, clean and suited the two of us wonderfully. We had a view of Santa Monica pier from our suite. The Water Grill Restaurant was next door and the food there is exceptional and you are right on Ocean, right in the life pulse of Santa Monica right near the 3rd Street Promenade, lots of upscale shops and eateries. Great location, great hotel, quiet in the room even though you are in the middle of the action.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Quaint Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location is great!
Cons: Add a Bell hop that does not park cars too. Add a complimentary beverage station (coffee, tea, etc.) to the lounge.
Location: Close to the beach, pier, restaurants and mall.
We stayed two nights. The hotel is a wonderful example of original beach hotels. Be prepared to pay $28 for parking if you have a car. Valet is available and not the friendliest fellows. Also be prepared to carry your own bags if they are busy or wait quite awhile for the same guy to park your car. Ocean "view" means if you put your face against the window you can see a slice. Otherwise you look at the building next door. The location is perfect and the real plus of this hotel. Our feeling was that the owner has overextended the budget and has to charge rather outlandish prices for usually included items. The staff worked hard at explaining. But they too almost seemed uneasy to explain the amenities and the fees. Wonderful take back in time. But the warm fuzzy was certainly not there.