Ratings based on 1,246 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Wonderful hotel overlooking the beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I loved staying at The Georgian - from the moment we arrived the service was brilliant. The room was wonderful, with really nice beds, a good amount of space and a cool view of the pier. There was one minor hiccup during our stay but the way it was promptly dealt with by the hotel impressed me and meant we could get on with enjoying our vacation. We ate at the onsite restaurant and the meal was delicious. Probably the only suggestion I have would be candles or a little vase of flowers on the restaurant tables to add some character. Overall, a fabulous hotel and I'm looking forward to staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Stay in Santa Monica

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The view, and staff were amazing.
Cons: The bathrooms, if possible could use updated plumbing and more a bit more space.
Location: Perfect location overlooking the beach, with beautiful veranda to enjoy a meal or people watch. Close to the SM pier, and fabulous restaurants.
Loved the Georgian and their staff. Very friendly accommodating small hotel. Only drawback because it's an older hotel, the bathrooms are tiny, with bad water pressure and if you're the second one to shower, you may encounter a shortage of hot water. Overall though, the hotel is spotless, the rooms comfortable and their view is one of the best in Santa Monica. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

A Grande Dame On the Beach

Posted Feb 5, 2017
This hotel was one of the first "skyscrapers" on Ocean Boulevard. I love that the hotel has some history, hosting the likes of Charlie Chaplin, Al Capone and other big shots and luminaries from Santa Monica's early days. The rooms are smaller then the modern rooms we're used to today. The rooms were very clean, while keeping some of the original details. My bugaboo is a clean bathroom. The tiles looked like they were from the 40's, but the grout was new. We were able to fully open the window, to let in the ocean breezes and gaze out on the palm trees that line the park along the ocean. At night, when Ocean Boulevard quiets down, you can hear the waves. My only negative was that the bed was a little bouncy. Other than that, the amenities were fine, in-room coffee from a Keurig machine. There's a tiny bar in the lobby, and you can sit out on the veranda, overlooking the park, while sipping your martini. The staff is friendly and attentive. One bellhop took us to see the abandoned speakeasy in the basement of the hotel. It still has the red leather banquettes from the 1930's, along with pictures of the movie stars that frequented it during prohibition. They are beginning a renovation, and I think the place will be hot when it's done. The location couldn't be better, steps from the ocean, the pier and around the corner from the promenade, which has many shops and interesting characters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, IL

Perfect location in Santa Monica

Posted Jan 31, 2017
What a great little hotel. Staff was friendly and attentive. The nighttime turndownservice was charming. You wake up and walk out to Santa Monica Pier on your left and Santa Monica Mountains on your right. The beach and running trails are right there along with any yoga studio you want. Tons of shopping and restaurants and only a short ride ($8 for Lyft or Uber) to Venice Beach and Abbot Kinney St.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Great location and ocean view. Close to bars and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loudest hotel ever!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
This hotel doesn't reflected the excellent reviews that other gave. The room wall is so thin that you can hear every single sounds that the other guest are whispering. All the doors slam too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just right for our needs

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Directly across from the pick up and drop off for A Day in LA. There were 4 of us in a 2-bed room. Wished there had been a little more space. They do have larger rooms so I wish I'd considered one. Overall though, no complaints. Beach, shops, eats in walking distance. We chose to park a block away in a parking garage but could've paid a bit more for valet parking at hotel. Just stayed one night with carry-on luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alabama

Great location!!

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Was in la for short vacation. The hotel was in a great location and the staff was extremely kind and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the beach and shops.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Cons: Elevator was broken. Not a big deal though
Close to great restaurants. Quaint hotel. Great view of the ocean. Drinks on the veranda with the setting sun was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect view with gorgeous sunsets

Posted Dec 8, 2016
I stayed for a long weekend at the Georgian. Every single employee I interacted with was extremely friendly. I have been to some of the nicest restaraunts and breakfast here every morning was one of the best meals I've ever had. Amazing cappuccino/avocado toast/caprese omlette, even the bread and fruit was fresh and delicious! I had an oceanfront and 100% worth it for the view. I loved sitting by the window and enjoying the amazing beach and sunset views. The bed and comforter was super comfy and a k cup coffee machine was provided. They even gave us a fridge upon request in a matter of minutes. I would absolutely reccomend and return to this hotel.