Ratings based on 1,273 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The palm trees covered the view of the ocean and the pier. There was no balcony so you couldn't enjoy the view unless you wanted to stand next to the window which had a table in front of it with the coffee maker. The electricity was extremely weird as the lights randomly turned on in the middle of the night a couple of times while we were sleeping. Definitely no worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice hotel great area

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Nice place, older hotel but close to everything and he hotel has had updates. Beware there are a ton of homeless people there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Great hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: We love the location and service
Cons: Part of the hotel was remodeling, can't wait to checkout when it's fully remodelled
Location: Beach, pier, and many great restaurants are minutes away (walking distance)
The location of the hotel is wonderful, everything is walking distance. The beach is only 1 street crossing, and the staff are amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Loved our stay

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Great location and rooms. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5-star review, Nicole! We are so glad you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and hope you return soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is being renovated.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: I would go back once renovations are done.
Cons: Internet connection needs improved.
Location: The hotel is centrally located and has a lot of charm. Lots of shopping and restaurants. Great views.
Renovations were in progress but it did not disturb me. They are adding a 'speak easy'. My room did not look the pictures online. Room needed updated. I booked 2 rooms, but they were on different floors. I wasn't happy about that. Keurig was used for coffee maker, but no refrigerator in room or ice on the floor. You had to call front desk to deliver ice. Meals were good at Veranda restaurant. Had to pay for daily valet parking ($29).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for your stay with us at The Georgian. We appreciate the feedback, and will use them to improve. Please come see us again once the renovations are complete at the end of April.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Gatsby meets a 2017 view of the Ocean

Posted Mar 2, 2017
This hotel is a true gem. It felt like stepping back into the era of Great Gatsby. My room was amazing (Ocean View Suite) you have views from every side and it was right across from the pier. It was so crisp and white with a dramatic hallway that led you into a beautiful living space which separated the bedroom with French doors. The bathroom was very spacious with double sinks and had jack & Jill doors. You could live in this suite and I would. The staff was very attentive and friendly as well. I would come back here again and again! It was an amazing start to my CA trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5-star review, Shelby! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Georgian. Please come back to stay in one of our beautiful Ocean View Suites soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Wonderful hotel overlooking the beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I loved staying at The Georgian - from the moment we arrived the service was brilliant. The room was wonderful, with really nice beds, a good amount of space and a cool view of the pier. There was one minor hiccup during our stay but the way it was promptly dealt with by the hotel impressed me and meant we could get on with enjoying our vacation. We ate at the onsite restaurant and the meal was delicious. Probably the only suggestion I have would be candles or a little vase of flowers on the restaurant tables to add some character. Overall, a fabulous hotel and I'm looking forward to staying again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Wow, thank you for the amazing review, Hazel! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The comfort of our guests is our number one priority, and I am so glad our staff was able to provide you with an excellent experience. Please come visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Stay in Santa Monica

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The view, and staff were amazing.
Cons: The bathrooms, if possible could use updated plumbing and more a bit more space.
Location: Perfect location overlooking the beach, with beautiful veranda to enjoy a meal or people watch. Close to the SM pier, and fabulous restaurants.
Loved the Georgian and their staff. Very friendly accommodating small hotel. Only drawback because it's an older hotel, the bathrooms are tiny, with bad water pressure and if you're the second one to shower, you may encounter a shortage of hot water. Overall though, the hotel is spotless, the rooms comfortable and their view is one of the best in Santa Monica. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4-star review, Nancy! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us at The Georgian. We appreciate your compliments on the service of the staff as well as the cleanliness of the hotel, we will be sure to pass your comments along to the team. Please come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

A Grande Dame On the Beach

Posted Feb 5, 2017
This hotel was one of the first "skyscrapers" on Ocean Boulevard. I love that the hotel has some history, hosting the likes of Charlie Chaplin, Al Capone and other big shots and luminaries from Santa Monica's early days. The rooms are smaller then the modern rooms we're used to today. The rooms were very clean, while keeping some of the original details. My bugaboo is a clean bathroom. The tiles looked like they were from the 40's, but the grout was new. We were able to fully open the window, to let in the ocean breezes and gaze out on the palm trees that line the park along the ocean. At night, when Ocean Boulevard quiets down, you can hear the waves. My only negative was that the bed was a little bouncy. Other than that, the amenities were fine, in-room coffee from a Keurig machine. There's a tiny bar in the lobby, and you can sit out on the veranda, overlooking the park, while sipping your martini. The staff is friendly and attentive. One bellhop took us to see the abandoned speakeasy in the basement of the hotel. It still has the red leather banquettes from the 1930's, along with pictures of the movie stars that frequented it during prohibition. They are beginning a renovation, and I think the place will be hot when it's done. The location couldn't be better, steps from the ocean, the pier and around the corner from the promenade, which has many shops and interesting characters.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5-star review, Cat W! We truly appreciate your feedback, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our renovation is near completion, and will keep the same historic, Art Deco style you enjoyed while a guest with us. Please return soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, IL

Perfect location in Santa Monica

Posted Jan 31, 2017
What a great little hotel. Staff was friendly and attentive. The nighttime turndownservice was charming. You wake up and walk out to Santa Monica Pier on your left and Santa Monica Mountains on your right. The beach and running trails are right there along with any yoga studio you want. Tons of shopping and restaurants and only a short ride ($8 for Lyft or Uber) to Venice Beach and Abbot Kinney St.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you, Brian! We truly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our staff to be friendly and attentive, and that the location was ideal for your needs. Please come see us again for your next visit to Santa Monica!