Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice localization and excellent staff

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Hotel is localized in a good area although the installation is old and passing through a reform. The hotel staff is really nice kind, this is the main highlight from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

November 2016

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel is excellently located. Everything was good, the only concern was the front desk gentleman-he was not responsive to requests nor did he seem interested in making our stay memorable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
荷物も運んでくれて、スタッフのかたもとても感じが良かったように思う。 また、海も目の前だから、夏は最高だと思う!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京都新宿

ビーチ沿いカリフォルニア可愛い極彩色!

Posted Nov 25, 2016
外観をみてCAに来たと実感!サンシャインに照らされ鮮やか。エレベーターの扉に驚きましたが内部は最新式。ディズニーのタワーオブテラーを彷彿させてくれます。ご愛嬌。601号室こじんまりしていましたがオーシャンビューで海と椰子の木が見えました。朝すぐに目に入ります。高校生の娘2人旅でしたが、地下鉄 バス 徒歩とどこに行くのも便利で治安も良かった。買い物は、サードアベニューで簡単に出来、ホールフーズまで徒歩15分。ユニバーサルスタジオまでは電車で1時間30分位。ベニスビーチまで徒歩30分位。レンタカー無しで乗り切れました。フロントも必要最低限はきちんと親切に行ってくれました。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syd

Nice hotel great location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Nice hotel although under some construction at the time on a great location. The evaluator sucks though...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wish there wasn't construction going on

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Location and the comfort of the room (the bed was pretty cozy, and I'm a harsh critic)
Cons: Communicate to customers before arrival if you are doing construction. Offer comparable location if it is unacceptable.
Location: Biking, Beach, Santa Monica Pier, Shopping, Eating, Bars
We booked the hotel many months in advance due to the great reviews and location. Unfortunately, when we arrived after a long drive from San Diego, we were met with no ramp to get our bags up the stairs (they wouldn't allow us to use the handicap ramp), loud noise, smelly paint, and a room that was so humid we had to sleep with the window open (not sleeping at all because it was so loud outside). Now, the next day they were able to fix the A/C allowing us to sleep with the window shut the next two nights, so that was nice. However, the main elevator was out of order, and 8 floors had to use one very slow and small elevator. The charm of the hotel was great - it had a real "homey" feel inside the room. The gym was entirely too small to use, but we got enough exercise renting bikes on the beach and riding down to Venice and back. Speaking of, the location was better than imagined - walking distance to everything, a quick Lyft away from anything further, and the availability of rental bikes (you need to sign up for an app, and it's $7/hr) made our trip enjoyable. Please keep in mind that you will be surrounded by a slew of homeless people on the beach - it's an epidemic. The staff seemed a bit annoyed, but they weren't horrible. We didn't try the onsite restaurant as it seemed a bit too disjointed for us. Perhaps the construction will make it better in the future. Overall, we would like to stay again if they have some updates/upgrades available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, United States of America

Posted Nov 18, 2016
The location of the hotel is great - unobstructed view of the ocean and next to where everything is. The building itself is old and the one elevator operating was very very slow.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Memorable!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Very close to many of Santa Monica's attractions (Pier, shopping, restaurants and bars) right in the middle of the action.
Vintage building circa 1930s but upgraded with modern amenities and very helpful and attentive staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice location

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Location and staff. The beds were fantastic! Great nights sleep
Loved the hotel and Santa Monica! We only stayed one day, which was way too short. We'll be back and stay longer next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely updated art deco hotel.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent, easy access to beach, paths, pier and transport. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed and very comfortable.
Cons: Water pressure in shower. However a small thing considering the age of the property.