Ratings based on 2,775 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Freeway Friendly

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Very easy to get to on and off the freeway. Good big bed's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We are glad that our location worked well for you. We feel that we are in an excellent position to see Los Angeles because we are right off the 5 and the 405. You could easily go Downtown through the 5 or head to the beaches on the 405. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel but kind of loud

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Good nite inn hotel is close to many different tourist attractions by car. However, the hotel is right next to the highway so it gets little bit annoying to sleep if you are a light sleeper.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for the review! We are definitely next to the 5 freeway and we could understand how it might be a little noisy for a sensitive sleeper. Fortunately, only one side of the hotel faces the freeway and we would be more than happy to accommodate you to a different side of the hotel for your next stay. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Close to restaurants, interstate. Overall good value for money.
Hotel was nice. Close to Universal studios. There is a Dennys and McDonalds next door. Room was clean. Hotel stuff was good. Only downside for my stay was, I booked 2 room. One of them was Room 200, which is smaller than the other room. We didn't want to move after unpacking, so didn't asked for move. Maybe they would have changed the room if we asked. So, no complain there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! You actually touched on everything our hotel tries to provide. We do not have all the amenities of a 5 star hotel, but we do offer the following: A clean room, friendly staff, and a safe environment. Combine that with an excellent rate and you could see why we have so many guests leaving satisfied. We would definitely moved rooms if you requested. Our top priority is our guest's satisfaction. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Extremely clean and well maintained

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Very clean and comfortable
Location: Easy to find, right next to the highway. A few restaurants within walking distance
Room was sparsely decorated, containing just the bare necessities, but everything was very clean and well maintained. Very comfortable bed. Nice shower. Quiet room. Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Did not use the pool but it looked very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! You actually touched on everything our hotel tries to provide. We do not have all the amenities of a 5 star hotel, but we do offer the following: A clean room, friendly staff, and a safe environment. Combine that with an excellent rate and you could see why we have so many guests leaving satisfied. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sylmar

Oney night stay

Posted Feb 23, 2017
It is a motel for staying one single night. Rooms are small but they are clean. No breakfast included. If you cancel your reservation they Will charge you for the first night. I made two reservations in the same week but due to bad weather I cancelled one day before second check in and I was charged. I think you can actually pay 30 bucks more per night and can get a much better stay and breakfast included. Location could be convenient depending on your travel needs but If you stay in the side closest to the freeway is noisy inside your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you felt that our rooms were clean! Our housekeeping staff will be very happy to hear that. I looked up your reservation and I saw that you were not charged for the no show! Thanks for your review and hopefully we see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Too close to freeway

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The room was sufficient in terms of your basic lodging but didn't have sufficient wall/window sound insulation from the noise of the very loud freeway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for the review! We are definitely next to the 5 freeway and we could understand how it might be a little noisy for a sensitive sleeper. Fortunately, only one side of the hotel faces the freeway and we would be more than happy to accommodate you to a different side of the hotel for your next stay. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loudest motel I have ever stayed in.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Could not have been louder, right next to I-5 and extremely noisy throughout the entire night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for the review! We are definitely next to the 5 freeway and we could understand how it might be a little noisy for a sensitive sleeper. Fortunately, only one side of the hotel faces the freeway and we would be more than happy to accommodate you to a different side of the hotel for your next stay. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good Value For Your Money, But Unaccomodating

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I paid for my hotel ahead of time for 5 days. I got there for check in and the woman checking me in asked for my card and ID. Gave it back quickly and we went to our room. The room was pretty nice for an "inn". Very clean. We were impressed. The next day I woke up and say an additional charge from the hotel. I called the front desk and asked where the charge came from and they said it was a "deposit". I asked why they took a deposit out of my account when my stay was already paid for and FURTHERMORE, why no one told me they were taking it out. They assured me that the woman who checked me in told me. After ensuring then she did not, the gentleman I was speaking with called his supervisor and then called me back and said his supervisor said if I wanted my money back, we would have to check out. I said "ok, then check back in?" He said "no. Check out and lose your reservation and the money you booked with." They were very rude and unaccomodating. They had no urgency to fix the issue THEY caused even after admitting to STEALING money out of my account that was unauthorized. Not to mention, out air condition didn't work for two days and they never volunteered to discount us for that or anything. Nice establishment, but very poor customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Mike Hernadnez, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback. We apologize for any miscommunication on us swiping your card for incidentals. I am glad that I was able to reach out to you and correct this since you posted your review. Thank you again and hopefully we see you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Horrible beds

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel was really convenient and we chose it because we were only staying 1 day. For what it was worth, it was nice. The only thing that was horrible was the comfortability of the beds! The hotel should really invest in better mattresses, pillows and blankets. I woke up incredibly sore and it took me a long time to find a comfortable position.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We apologize for the bed not being to your liking. We are constantly updating our furnishing and worn beds are always on our radar. Thank you again and hopefully we get a chance to make a better impression on you in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It would be nicer

Posted Feb 15, 2017
It would be nice to have a microwave and a fridge for stays over a week or more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Mike Hernandez, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! Hopefully we could make a better impression on you during your next stay. We definitely would like to turn that 3 star rating into a 5!