Ratings based on 750 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Charles

Free parking and great location but nothing else.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
We spent one night there so that we could go to the Magic Castle, which is right next door. We had a decent enough room with a tiny TV. The bathroom was a joke. The shower was very small and the shower head was so low that my husband had to duck to fit under it. The soap, shampoo and towels were TINY! This is a very old, historic hotel and not in the least bit fancy. It has stairs and no elevators. The breakfast was bagels and coffee and not much else. Don't expect luxury here! But the location is great and the parking was free.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

Great Location, Standard Room Only OK

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
This was our 2nd time staying here. There's a noticeable difference between the standard rooms and the suites. I highly recommend staying in their suites, but the standard room was very run down. Great location - check-in is a bit of a pain though b/c there's never any parking in the front and you can't park in the lot until after you check in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a block away from the Mann's Chinese Theater.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Its location.
Cons: A new coat of paint and updated bathrooms might be nice.
The lobby looks nice, but once in the room, the age of the place shows. The beds were clean.
1 out of 5
by Elvis

A terrible hotel. The worst hotel I've stayed at.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The service in that hotel is very poor. They gave us a room that smells so bad that whe I asked for a room change , the clerk said that is the reason why they don't rent out that room. The hotel does not have an elevator but nobody in that hotel wants to help in carrying the luggages up the stair. The front desk person does not want to be bothered because he said "I am doing something right now". The rooms are dirty and has a moldy smell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hannover, Germany

Only one block away from Walk of fame

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Was there for 9 nights. Bed was OK. No bad surprises with dirty shower or sheets. Carpet could use a change. Free parking in a secure garage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Good hotel, Nice staff, Good size rooms, Creepy noise on roof in high winds with something brushing the roof with sound coming through the ceiling. The shower was ridiculously low even even for children. The place was okay for the money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was great(as always)Really like the continental breakfast.And the staff is always very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

An apartment hotel just off Hollywood Blvd

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The facilities and location a block off Hollywood Blvd.
Cons: The commode is too close to the wall, but one gets used to this minor discomfort. The television set is an old one, but I didn't use it much.
Location: Convenient location. I have often been in Hollywood visiting my sister and only went to The Street for 2 meals at my favorite Musso and Frank Grill.
I was transferred here by Expedia when my earlier reservation proved unsuitable for a week's stay. The Hollywood Gardens was perfect at no extra cost: living room, dining area, full kitchen, comfortable bedroom, and bath. The cleaning staff was friendly and efficient, as was the front desk. Coffee and breadstuffs were available off the lobby each morning; but with a coffee maker and refrigerator in the apartment, I only used the service once. Plenty of parking below the hotel at no added cost, though a little tricky to enter from Franklin Avenue. There is an attractive small pool and sundeck, but I did not use them. (They were being used by a film crew when I arrived!)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A well priced good place in Hollywood

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
A well priced good place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
The hotel was clean, in good repair, affordable and conveniently located. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!