Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a cool spot for a staycation

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: How close it is to everything...
Cons: bottled water should be available at the cost of the room....
Location: food, entertainment
I like it, it's close to everything..... Restaurants, entertainment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Very good and very happy with our birthday trip my football game
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by eddie_andre, Hotel Management
Happy Birthday! And thank you for choosing our hotel as your home away from home while celebrating. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the New Year and until then we wish you safe travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Looks nice but bad experience

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Bed bugs bites in the room and late night hotel staff is very unhelpful and have wrong attitude
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Eddie_Andre, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The experience you have described is not what's to be expected from the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles. I'd welcome the opportunity to hear more about your stay directly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For Business Trip

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Good location, close to commercial area, more restaurant choices lately. Staffs are very helpful and nice! Good service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by eddie_andre, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for the kind words. It sounds like we hit it out of the park on location and service. We will share your kind words with the team.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surprise, AZ

Somewhat disappointing

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Great public areas, restaurant (expensive!) and bar. Great bathroom appointments. Great bed and pillows.
Cons: Block off and soundproof the connecting doors between rooms. Provide free internet access and breakfast buffet. Add couch and chair to room.
Location: Convenient to Metro and multiple bus routes (but you really have to know the LA bus system to use it efficiently).
Great public areas. Room was small but bed and pillows were very comfortable. No sofa or lounge chair, only desk chair. Room had Minibar items temptingly displayed (candy, chips, drinks) with sign saying they were $4.00 each. I thought Minibars were a thing of the past. Tub was large enough to take a bath in (not always the case), but shower dripped water even when the knob was pushed down to select bath. Bath water not subject to flow control and hot water was super-hot! Loved it! No free internet access -- they charge for it (I tethered my laptop to my cell phone and so avoided the charge). Good cell phone reception. No free breakfast buffet -- restaurant is excellent but on the expensive side. Comfortable lounge at the bar. Ask for a room that does not have a connecting door to the next room, unless you really do want to hear everything -- and I mean everything! -- that goes on next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Eddie_Andre, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review to help other travelers know what to expect when staying at our hotel. We are sharing your feedback with our team for review and resolution. In regards to your comments about Wi-Fi charges, Wi-Fi is provided complimentary if you enroll in our free loyalty program, Hilton HHonors. If you travel back to Los Angeles, we'd look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please feel free to reach out if there's anything I can do to make your future stay more comfortable. Until then, we wish you safe travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in downtown LA.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Checkers has always been one of our favorites. Great location close to MOCA, The Broad, the Disney concert hall and lots of restaurants. The Hilton staff is pleasant and did not hesitate to change our room from one that was very noisy to a quieter location. Hotel dining is excellent, albeit a bit pricey. The hotel is showing its age, however. The ceiling over the shower had a slow leak and bubbled paint. It appeared it had been this way for awhile. This said, we love the hotel and will likely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by eddie_andre, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share with the Expedia community the details of what attractions we are close to - there are some great spots to visit, just walking distance from our hotel! We will review your comments in regards to the shower and ceiling with our engineering team. Thank you for taking the time to share that feedback and we love that you love our hotel - and look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown LA

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Great location and building. Staff extremely pleasant. Easily met the Hilton standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by eddie_andre, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that our staff, location and building got a perfect review. We will be sure to share your kind words with our team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix az

DTLA

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Walking distance to everything. Great staff. If I had one gripe the room was small. Definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by eddie_andre, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Expedia community. We appreciate the perfect review and are happy to read that you took advantage of our convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and location.
Cons: Lady at desk at check in could have been friendlier and more informative.
Location: Broad museum is nearby as well as other museums.
The Checkers Hilton is a nice place in a great location. One can easily walk to museums, restaurants, convention locations, etc. The staff was helpful and kind except the woman who checked us in. She was not welcoming or friendly and gave us no information regarding internet or breakfast or anything else for that matter. I had to go back to the desk 3 times to find out what came w my Expedia reservation and I was never quite sure if I received what I thought I had purchased. Beyond that, the hotel is very nice and very clean. It has windows that open a small amount which I appreciate. The restaurant is nice but spendy but there are many other options to dine close by. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by eddie_andre, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. It's feedback like yours that allows us to understand what we are doing well, and areas that we need to improve upon. We will be sure to review the check-in process with our team so that they are highlighting the hotel's amenities with our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

First time for our stay. Vip Tours was great.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Recommend using the Vip Tours. Easier to sight see and they pick you up and drop you off at the front door.
Great room. Very clean. Had a lot of fun with the selfie camera in the Lobby! Very quiet for being downtown. We loved our first time stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by eddie_andre, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect rating! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay & our selfie camera in the lobby (so much fun, right?). We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with the Expedia community and hope to welcome you back for a second stay.