Ratings based on 3,818 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walk to Universal

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Nice hotel walking distance to Universal. Rooms were nice. Only negative is construction in the lobby area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
nice and clean. nice night view of universal studio in the night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very Close to Universal Studios

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Nice breakfast buffet. Unusual items to go with the usual fare. Bar was nice too.
Cons: The room seemed to have too much furniture for the small space. We had to scoot things around to get in and out of bed on one side.
We chose this location due to its proximity to Universal. Just a short walk to the front entrance and you're there! The hotel is currently under renovation. Not really a big deal, just wish that would have been mentioned when we were making our reservation. The only impact it had on our stay was the wait time for the elevators. We were on the 23rd floor, so imagine the frustration of not only waiting more than a couple of minutes for an elevator to arrive, but stopping on almost every floor on the way up or down! The property has posted many well-worded signs of apology, but that was no cure for the wait time. Nice staff, both at the restaurants and front desk. They seemed to be doing the best they could with what they had.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great views and friendly staff at the hotel!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Under some remodel so no Universal Globe out front and the Lobby under construction, but they did have good signage so it was easy to navigate.
Location: Super location, close to downtown Hollywood and a very Short Shuttle ride to Universal Studios. We enjoyed the Backlot Tour and shows!
Loved the location, right next to Universal Studios, and had a convenient shuttle going back and forth every 15 minutes or so. Also a very short drive next to some great restaurants like Little Dom and close to the Hollywood walk of Fame, so we got to see a lot of the Stars!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Thanksgiving

Posted Nov 26, 2016
This is our second stay at Hilton Universal the hotel has improved a lot since the last, if you plan to visit Universal Studio don't think twice just stay at the Hilton
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was under construction

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Staff were not very helful when I needed to extend my stay for another night - would not return
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vista, United States of America

Expensive sometimes isn't worth it

Posted Nov 24, 2016
For the amount we paid it really wasn't worth it, we could've spent that money on something else worth it. Here are the Cons: 1st off our room smelled like smoke "we have kids", 2nd the other room they put us in had no towels and no shower curtain, and the beds were super hard not comfortable at all. The Pros: 1st nice view of amusement park 2nd walking distance to the amusement park 3rd the staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you Maria for reaching out to us regarding your recent visit. We truly apologize for the issues you encountered with your room. We are looking into the situation to make sure this does not happen in the future. Again, please accept our apologies. Carole - Marketing Coordinator, Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, CA

Excellent hotel steps away from City Walk.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Great hotel and staff. Easy walking distance to City Walk and Universal Studios.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Universal Studios Trip

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Staff, comfort of rooms
Cons: Food in bar area
Location: Universal is right outside. Perfect for those who don't rent cars whilst in Hollywood.
We are a family of four and wanted to stay as close to Universal Studios as possible! This place is right next to it! So convenient and fun. Everything was great. The staff is extremely helpful and caring. Overall it was great. The food in the bar area was just ok. It is clear that the focus is the magnificent buffet. So the other "food" areas are not the focal point. With young girls that eat like birds its hard to justify buying "expensive" food for them. So that is my only criticism.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not returning to Hilton universal

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Hi I spent close to $200 on a decent room. At 8am, we were shockingly awaken by the LOUD BEEPING and flashing bright lights of the fire alarm being tested, in our ROOM. Which lasted approximately 40 minutes. I raised my concern to the front desk to no avail. I asked if I could have my $28 parking reimbursed for my bad experience....nope.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you Viv for reaching out and letting us know about this. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. If you would be so kind, please contact me directly so we can make this right. Regards, Carole - Marketing Coordinator, Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City