Ratings based on 4,141 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Location perfect

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Lication was perfect for us. The hotel was comfortable and nice. Average size pool, gym under renovations, however, offer was there for another gym elsewhere. Majority of staff were lovely. My biggest issue was check in time. After a very long flight from Sydney, Australia and the longest shuttle bus ride we were all very tired. We arrived at hotel at 10:30 and were not allowed early check-in until after 2PM, despite my request when I booked hotel. Other than that we were quite satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Customer Service Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Ing, Thank you for taking the time in leaving us your review. We are sorry you had the inconvenience of the check in times we have. We try our hardest and our best to fulfill every guests requests and make sure to let our guests know that they are not 100% guaranteed but we will try our best to accommodate your requests. Thank you for choosing Hilton Universal City and we hope to see you in the near future! Safe travels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Worth The $

Posted Jun 11, 2017
As it was pointed out to me at the front desk, “This Hilton booked solid 365 days a year.” I now understand the point they were making - customer service is no longer a priority. Let’s start with the room: our safe was broken, tub would not drain, TV screen was virtually black. When I stopped at the front desk to report, I was told they would “try” and get to it. Since they used the word “try” I requested a new room and was told there would be a charge for changing rooms. Needless to say, nothing was ever fixed in the room. There was a wonderful tray in our room with tea and an electric teapot and a letter … in Chinese or Japanese, unfortunately, I do not speak either language. Went out to the swimming pool with my kids – Jacuzzi looked like it had a ring of mold around the lip. Turned out that paint had chipped off but still looked quite nasty from a far. Shuttle bus (and by the way, not owned by Hilton) – convenient enough unless you have a stroller and 4 children. It was 9:00 pm, this poor woman was trying to get back to hotel, shuttle bus was full and the driver told her he would not come back for her, even when my family offered to step off the bus, he said that there was no room for the stroller. Lastly, I recommend having breakfast in Universal Studios – tastes the same, much cheaper and at least the staff offers some service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Angie M., Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience with us. We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Universal

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Universal
Cons: OK for business not a great value for families in my opinion
Nice Hotel a bit over priced. We were there to be within shuttle or walking distance to Universal Studios. The shuttle doesn't run until 9am when the park opens so we walked. It is more of a business class hotel, expensive food options and you have to pay for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very Close to Universal

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: I liked that it was close to Universal Studios
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Universal Studios
I had a great experience except when I arrived the bathroom was dirty and the room had not had a good cleaning. But they immediately took care of it and gave me and my family a free breakfast buffet for the inconvenience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego Ca

MOST EXCELLENT HOTEL !!!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: SEE ABOVE
Cons: NOTHING
We stayed at the Hilton Universal for 2 nights while seeing a couple concerts at the Hollywood Bowl.We were impressed from the minute we stepped out of our car to check in to the minute we got back in our car to head home. The hotel is very clean.The rooms and beds were very comfortable.The staff were very friendly with every member always smiling and just making you feel like not only did they enjoy their jobs,but really wanted to make sure you were enjoying your stay.We had our dog with us and they even smiled and said Hi to her every time we passed by.The food was excellent every meal we ate at the hotel including room service.Universal is very close.I would highly recommend this hotel.I know we will be back if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted May 30, 2017
Wonderful experience and location. Helpful staff, great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Tan Valley, Az

Nice hotel conveniently located near universal

Posted May 29, 2017
The hotel was nice and clean. Little interaction with staff (only stayed one night). The shuttle to and from Universal Studios was very convenient. Did not have to wait long for the next shuttle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Great for a trip to Universal

Posted May 28, 2017
Every was great, but the service was over the moon. We can't stop talking about how well treated we were.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel next to the park

Posted May 26, 2017
Shuttles take you to city walk/universal. Nice hotel, nice people, great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel view of the pool

Posted May 24, 2017
Amazing experience staff was great and room was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Angie M., Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Sunshine, Thank you for leaving us a review on our property! We are happy to see that our staff and rooms were to your desire. We hope to see you back in the near future. Angie M., Marketing Coordinator