Ratings based on 1,925 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
First time staying at the historic hotel, read good reviews online and was not disappointed! Staff was very friendly, room was small but cute! And the hotel was close to many places we visited.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago-La

There's a reason you get a bundle deal

Posted Apr 26, 2017
So, I was in la for 4 days and when I got to the hotel my initial thought was okay it's old style so COOL. But when I came back from exploring the city the tv channels didn't work, there was a stain on our bed sheets and it was brownish red and my friend was messing with me that it was blood which creeped me out. Then the room had a weird Odor which is weird cause they said no smoking. Then the next day I took a shower and started to get ready and when I used the hair dryer it was on low and I flipped it to high that think let sparks out and started to smell burnt. Never will I go to this hotel again that's what I get for trying to go with a smaller hotel with a deal I'll stick with Hilton from now on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Decent hotel, convenient location.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This is the 3rd time I've stayed at this hotel. I loved it before because of the convenient location and free parking. But the parking isn't free any more and I find that very disappointing. I could've stayed at a newer nicer hotel and paid the same amount. It's the little things that made me appreciate my previous stays. I thought it was a hotel with loads of personality and a great staff. But I don't think I would stay there any more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
outlook is really historical, but inside is bad. no basic facilities and not very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Funky Old Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Nicely redone and clean. Neat older hotel with a teeny tiny old elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Great hotel. Very nice and helpful workers. I would stay there again when I am back in LA. It kept the old feeling with a mix of updated touch. The bar was very nice too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Convenient location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Beds need a foam topper.
Location: Close to the sights.
Very friendly staff, eager to help. Beautiful lobby. Clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not close to Hollywood Attractions

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Old Hollywood pictures in the hall; closet was large.
Cons: Rooms; no phone in room - not even to call the front desk. Bathrooms need to be upgraded too - let's not even talk about the elevator.
Location: Nothing to do nearby - except the Paramont Studios Tour...no coffee shops - like Starbucks...very out of the way.
Rooms need an upgrade desperately. No Phone in the room; if you need linen or blanket, you must request during daytime hours. If one has a guess visiting - they are expected to pay a visitor's parking fee of $50.00
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The location, the restaurant
Cons: It would be nice if the linens were a little better, and if the carpeting were replaced.
Location: 15 minutes away from Hollywood and Silver Lake and 20 minutes away from the Arts District, it's a pretty perfect location.
The location (across from Paramount) is convenient and the restaurant, Edmon, is terrific. But for a landmarked building, the interiors seem cheap. Everything is very comfortable, but there's not a lot of style here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Overland Park Kansas

Conveniently located hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Historic or old? Mold in the bath tub and even on shower curtains. Refrigerator in room so noisy we had to unplug. Decor not true to age of hotel. No lounge chair in room, just worn, desk chair that looked like it belonged to dining room set. No eating establishments in walking distance. Great staff, though. Ďont be fooled by photo on brochures.