Ratings based on 1,311 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Highly recommend Hotel Amarano!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location was great! Very clean & staff was great to work with
Cons: n/a
Location: Universal Studios Good places to eat within walking distance
Very close to Universal Studios and other tours my fiancé and I wanted to visit. Very clean & pleasant place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Brandon, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelseyville

Very accommodating

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Helped us get to where we needed to go and was excellent staff great hotel !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Venessa, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacranento

It's an okay Hotel. I've stayed in better hotels t

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The room we were assigned was room 310x when we opened the door the room had a musky old smell. It was not perfectly clean. At around d 2:45am the next door room had some people speaking very loud ( sounded kind 3-4 women) arguing and yelling & it continued until 4:45am. I did notify the hotel manager which they gave us another room #225 for our last night (which by the way) it was very nice, well equipped with amenities, quiet, spacious & very clean (don't know why we weren't given a similar room when we checked in ??)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Marla, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience with us and take your review seriously. I do remember helping you with this issue and I am happy we were able to upgrade you to a different room type that was in a much more quiet area of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Avoid this hotel unless you have money to waste.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Stop charging the huge fees and add the cost of parking fees and "hotel amenity fees" (isn't that what the room rate is for anyway?)to the room rate.
Location: There is a lot to do nearby, but you can't afford it after you pay the hotel fees.
Don't be fooled by the quoted amount. There are HUGE taxes and fees!!! We wound up spending right at an additional hundred dollars per night NOT including the constant pressure for tipping. The staff is nice, but they remind you that they live on tips. So plan an additional amount on top of the room rate, plus a hundred dollars in fees per night. Avoid this hotel unless you have a LOT of money to waste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Courtney G., Hotel Management
Dear Keith, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice hotel very friendly staff

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, spacious, walking distance to food.
My sister and I stayed here for a little girls get away trip and we were both very impressed with this hotel. Every single member of the staff we encountered was very friendly and welcoming. We were able to check in very early, much to our surprise, and were given water bottles and a welcome drink at the bar. The entire hotel was very clean and spacious. It is also right across the street from a grocery store, coffee shop, and a couple of restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Courtney G., Hotel Management
Dear Nsmith, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful Hotel, Beware of Fees!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
We loved the hotel and the staff was great. The overwhelming taxes and fees were quite a shock at checkout. Whatever you plan to spend, plan on double that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Keith, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, clean and safe

Posted Jun 23, 2017
I originally had booked at another hotel but upon arrival found the other hotel to be unsafe and with no safe parking options. I left that hotel, then arrived here and it was like Dorothy leaving Kansas and arriving in the Emerad city. Ok, not that dramatic but pretty close. I loved everything about this hotel top to bottom!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sugar land, texas

Not worth the $$$$

Posted Jun 10, 2017
The only thing that was nice about the hotel was the lobby. The room had a bad odor.(dumpy old mildew). No parking. Had to find our own parking in the neighborhood. Not as pictured. Not worth the high $$$$. Front staffs not very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Van, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Add on charges.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Add on charges for,"resort,"valet parking were ridiculous. Badly done mechanical upgrade, ridiculously expensive one time breakfast. Staff was great, location perfect but, you can feel the attitude of,"How much money can we squeeze out of these suckers." I will never be back or recommend this property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is never our attention to have guests leave feeling like we are trying to take advantage of them in any way. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience with us and take your review seriously. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel sometime soon! Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

very nice hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Very nice hotel very nice area , parking is 40 per day valet only ! Beware If you don't want to pay 40 day for valet parking , you will have to park your car in the street! and they have street sweepers on certain days , and they will ticket and tow!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Courtney Gregory Guest Services Hotel Amarano