Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marin , California

Unique boutique Hotel in a good location !

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Location and style of the room.near
Cons: Shower could use a good scrub . Bath robe had a spot on it . Slippers would be good .
Location: Near studios and entertainment.
This hotel was recommended to us by our friends who live in the area. Very nice hotel . Comfortable uniquely furnished rooms . Not much of a view from the window. Breakfast was good . Staff were friendly .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Upscale hotel close to Hollywood

Posted Jan 18, 2017
My experience at the hotel was great. It was a fancy hotel with great staff and rooms. I would definitely visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NV

Great Hotel, close to everything.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Its CLEAN, quiet, comfortable, relaxing, and just a great place to stay.
Location: This hotel is just a few minutes from the Hollywood Bowl, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Dodger Stadium, Universal Studios, its centrally located.
This is a Hotel that is a must if you are staying in the Los Angeles area. The location is less than 20 minutes from Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, San Fernando Valley, virtually centrally located to get everywhere in the Los Angeles area. The staff from Herman and Jonathan at the from desk, personalize and individualize my stay, the other staff members from the bartender, the waiters, EVERYONE, caters to every request. The hotel is situated a few blocks from the Warner Bros. studios, as such a few minutes off the freeway, however those few minutes are well worth the distance for the quality of service and amenities. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice small boutique hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Rooms are nice. Small fitness center. Coffeemaker in the room. Very stylish decor. QUIET.
Cons: Cleanness of bathrooms and maintenance/care of fitness center.
Location: Good location. easy to get to everything. Vons (large) Supermarket right across the street.
Friendly staff. Small bar. Breakfast a little too expensive for what it is. Very nice rooms - could be better cleaned (especially the bathroom). Friendly staff. It is a small hotel, nice location. Supermarket right across the street. The internet is REALY slow. You can upgrade, but that is 10 or even 15 USD (what package you like).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Nice boutique hotel about 10 mins from Universal Studios. Very nice and spacious, luxury rooms. Con: expensive overnight valley parking, no readily available street parking, "shuttles" are in house cars without any schedule of service time available, ice machines are on every other floor. Staff is not helpful to point out all the amenities of hotel at check in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Good hotel but not the cleanest

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The hotel is nice and staff are friendly. However, I'm a bit disappointed with the room cleanliness. I found mold growing in one of the bottled tea drinks in the room desert bar. It's probably been there for months ... or maybe years. The table counter was dusty, and we also found a single sock under our bed. i would expect more from a 4 star hotel. It should probably be a 3 star instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Best staff, stay, and EVERYTHING

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: The room, the beds, the STAFF, the valet service was EXCEPTIONAL.
Cons: Toiletries are my only complaint - very masculine.
Location: Excellent location for our purposes. Right across the street from the grocery store & close to coffee shops!
From the moment we arrived, Hotel Amarano impressed me. We were promptly greeted by the valet service - all kind and professional. Our bags taken to our room with no issues at all. The concierge Ed was fantastic - I cannot stress this enough. Prior to our arrival, I had spoken with the hotel manager to ensure a room change - this had not happened in their system, but Ed worked kindly and diligently with me to get us situated. Once we entered our room, we found it spacious, clean, and just lovely. We spent six nights here & day after day, felt accommodated, appreciated, and beyond welcome. The car was always ready, the staff was always friendly, and I was very happy. I travel often and will say that my stay at Hotel Amarana far exceeded my expectations & I would return any time I visit the LA area. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Decor, comfort, staff
Cons: Inform prospective guests about mandatory valet parking and fee. It is a very efficient system that I liked.
Very solicitous staff, clean and lovely room. Will definitely stay here again when visiting family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Hi Quality, Reasonable Price, Love This Place!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Cons: I gave an overall 5 stars but only 4 for facilities. While recently remodeled, the halls and the room had a number of scuffs and scratches.
Location: Excellent freeway access.
I've driven past this location dozens of times, and never noticed the hotel! It's well secluded behind ivy covered walls. On-site parking is valet only, and you need to use that service even if you're just checking in, which I thought was annoying, but there are only a handful of parking spaces at the front door, so I understand. Staff were professional and courteous, very high quality. Check-in was easy and fast. The hotel is surprisingly big, and it was a bit of a walk from the elevator to my room, but I needed the exercise! Room was quite spacious, recently remodeled, and simply gorgeous! The bathroom was amazing, a glass-enclosed walk-in shower, and the shower head was actually high enough that a tall person could easily shower without stooping. Another pet peeve of mine is lighting in the bathroom. The current décor seems to call for one fixture on each side of the mirror -- which makes it almost impossible to shave because as soon as you hold your hand up to your face, you're blocking the light! This hotel had several halogen can lights located directly ABOVE the mirror, and shaving was a breeze! I had breakfast in the Garden Room, and it was delicious, excellent service, quality food, beautiful formal setting. And all of this for what I considered to be a very reasonable price. I would definitely stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

DISGUSTING

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The room was very dirty, the parking only had valet option and the staff was very unhelpful and somehow rude. I was very disappointed with the hotel and was honestly disgusted staying in the room