Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Private to the extreme

Posted Dec 26, 2016
This hotel is tucked away in Bel Air among impossibly large mansions, and set amid acres of beautifully maintained horticulture. Everything is newly renovated and the rooms are large. However, the hotel is very spread out and you have to walk in some cases for a long way to get to your room. While this is not a big deal when the weather is warm and dry, in the rain, which we were stuck in, you will get soaked even with the complimentary umbrella that they give you at the front entrance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ridiculously expensive, poor value

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: You're stuck in the hotel or driving to wherever, most likely Beverly Hills shopping.
Wonderful room and semi-attentive staff, but the prices for everything are so over the top as to be ludicrous. The television is atrocious: small, B&O device with terrible, unnecessary interface that is overly complicated and lacks functionality. Their embrace of technology is sloppy, right down to the ipad on which you view menus (but can't order via it). Give me a regular menu and a simple phone connection. About that menu...there is nothing reasonably priced on it. But, you're paying for exclusivity and I suppose that's worth it to some, but aside from the room's nice, comfortable layout (and it was a Jr Suite so it should be nice), I found nothing really special about the grounds, location, food, etc. Pool closes at 8pm so even that decadent opportunity was lost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales U.K.

Class Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The hotel is in a class of its own, so close to to everything Los Angeles has to offer, but has an order of calm iit's so unreal.
Cons: Not able to comment, the hotels team are right on with this hotel.
Location: Shopping on Rodeo Drive, be seen in Beverly Hills.
The second we got out of our car we new we were in for a fantastic weekend stay. Class class all the way from registration to the room, through the grounds to a well appointed room with patio. All mod cons. Fantastic service, Thank you Hotel Bel Air for your attention to detail and our requests we made celebrating my wife's birthday.t
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Everything you'd expect

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The room and service. Loved having dinner on our balcony.
Location: Bel Air is close to too many LA icons to mention.
If you want privacy, great rooms, fine dining and service that over-delivers, then Hotel Bel-Air is your place. This isn't the place if you want somewhere lively, but that's not why people come here. Very tranquil surrounds and atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Leafy enclave - respite from traffic

Posted Jul 18, 2016
At first I was wary of new building plunked into middle of grounds. I hate elevators and was hoping for one if the traditional rooms near the pool. The good news is the new rooms are very posh...I could go on and on about the toilet but there's the huge patio, outdoor fire and private hot tub. The room itself is sort of cave like. But no other hotel has gardens and swans and a bar with real FP and Wolfgang Puck chef. Nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

4th of july weekend at the Hotel Bel Air

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Location: Beautiful location in Bel Air. The most amazing landscaping you can imagine in Los Angeles. Serene, well manicured, and simply gorgeous.
My stay was simply amazing. My wife and I who are recently married spent 4 nights at the Hotel Bel Air. I had mentioned that to the staff and they were gracious enough to upgrade me to a large room off the pool and provide us with a very nice bottle of Champagne with chocolate covered strawberris. All of this complimentary and completely unexpected! In addition, the Hotel Manager had a hand written a very nice note to us on our stay. This is what I call class, great service and making a stay very special. In addition to this, the room was impeccable, serviced daily. The staff across the board was professional, pleasant and extremely conscientious. My sincere congratulations on the Dorchester Group on a most high quality Hotel and Staff. I will not only be back again but will let any other friends or family members know about the 5-star quality of this establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingsburg, CA

Secluded Shangra-La in a small valley...

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Cons: Nothing
Location: We stayed for 2 days and never left the facility. Way too beautiful to leave. We will be back.
Took my girlfriend back to my life 50 years ago to visit and think about my last 50 years. I always wanted to stay at the Bel-Air Hotel and the experience was fabulous. The setting is world class. The staff, every one, has been throughly trained to serve well with a positive attitude. The detail of the rooms, facilities, bathrooms was again, world class. Yes, my best girlfriend & wife & partner thanked me many times. Enjoy your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Special boutique hotel in a quiet setting

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Delightful staff, beautiful grounds & public rooms, luxurious rooms and appointments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bel Aire, CA

Best hotel I've ever stayed at!

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The pillows! Wished the check in time was at noon instead of 3pm.
Location: The location was outstanding and has a scenic drive to and from the location. Don't waste your time leaving the hotel it's too beautiful.
Absolutely the best hotel I've ever stayed at! The surroundings are unbelievably beautiful, romantic, breathtaking, and very private. The staff was unbelievably excellent The services went above and beyond which I've never experienced. I never felt uncomfortable about asking for anything and we never felt rushed. I absolutely encourage everyone to spend at least one night there, but recommend a three day stay, it is pricey but worth every penny. You may also see celebrities there which I did. I also encourage you to take in the jazz band that play in the lounge once a week, we had dessert there after dinner and it was really great. By the end of my stay, which was one night, I felt like a totally different person because I was came out completely relaxed & feeling like a VIP instead of an ordinary Joe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The best hotel experience I have had thus far.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
• The staff was extraordinary, and clearly in constant communication across multiple sectors, so it felt like everyone from the lounge, to the front desk, to room service were all on the same team. If a particular request could not be met (rarely), there was always a rapid and often superior option. • The room was both stylish and ergonomic; the hot tub and fireplace on the private terrace were especially appreciated. However, I think the best part about the accommodations was the privacy it afforded. We (my partner and I) really had the time and space to unwind and be with one another. • I can't emphasize this enough: the grounds of the property are stunning. I don't know who the landscape architect is, or who oversees its maintenance, but it feels like the hotel is in the middle of a botanical garden. • The concierge was able to recommend and secure reservations for a Vietnamese "inspired" restaurant off Melrose, called The District, that we thoroughly enjoyed, as well as arrange to have an exceedingly professional driver in a stately Mercedes (read: NOT like catching an Uber) to take us to and from the Getty Museum. • In conclusion, I would say that the Hotel Bel-Air pretty much ruined it for everyone else.