Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

When the sun comes out on Santa Monica Boulevard..

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We finished our USA road trip in Santa Monica. The Hotel Carmel is in the ideal spot for beach, shops and food. Foyer slightly more impressive than the rest of the slightly out-dated hotel, but the room was clean and large enough for the four of us, including two teenagers. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Complimentary coffee and pastries in the foyer each morning also a nice touch to keep you going long enough to find breakfast in the cafes a few doors away in either direction. Recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pessimo rapporto qualità prezzo

Posted Aug 14, 2016
La camera è arredata con mobili vecchi, anche la moquette non è recente e la camera puzzava di chiuso. Le porte d'entrata delle camere non ispirano sicurezza. Il bagno é piccolo e non c'è l'asciugacapelli. La colqzione compresa è poco e male fornita. I servizi offferti, la qualità dellemstanze jon valgono il prezzo pagato, pessimo rapporto qualità prezzo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for beach, shopping and restaurants

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Air con during summer
Location: Close to 3rd street shopping and restaraunts. Walking distance to beach and the pier
Great location and walking distance to beach, shops and restaurants. However hotel is very noisy, can hear the night life downstairs until about 3am, can also hear through the walls. Also no air con, just fans. But overall stay was pretty good given the location and staff were very nice and accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hamburg, ny

Excellent Santa Monica location.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect for anyone traveling without a car and the rates very reasonable. The hotel, although an older one, was clean and cared for.
Staying in Santa Monica on the 4 th of July was a delight due the the location of this hotel to virtually everything! It is on the same block as the famous promenade and wonderful shopping, it is one short block from the boardwalk and the beach, and it was a short walk to the new light rail system. I used the light rail to get into Hollywood with no issues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2016/5月に宿泊しました

Posted Jun 1, 2016
繁華街のど真ん中にある為、海も徒歩5分!バス停も徒歩1〜5分のところにあります!サードストリートプロムナードは目の前です⭐️ とてもいい場所にあり、朝食もしっかりとしたのが食べれましたし、Wi-Fiもサクサクつながりました。 夜も外の音とかは全然気になりませんでした。
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wooster, OH

Great location in Santa Monica

Posted May 24, 2016
The location of the hotel was great. All the staff we encountered were friendly and check-in was a breeze. We were able to store our luggage there on the day of arrival and of departure prior to check-in and after check-out. The lobby was very nice. The rooms were clean. The only cons were the bedding. We felt if they updated their bedding to include softer sheets and more comfortable pillows it would have made a big difference. The rooms are somewhat dated, but we could look past that if the bed is comfortable with decent sheets and pillows.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old fashioned hotel well located

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel old building .Needs a complete rebuild
Location: Very near beach and very close to main shops
Friendly staff ,hotel very old fashioned .Very small room with even smaller bathroom.Easy parking. Hotel very well located for shops,restaurants and beacand pier.
3 out of 5
by Sylvia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels