Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and price.
Cons: The curtain was broken. The bed was old with large wooden pieces that we kept banging into. There was only one tiny cake of soap in the bathroom.
Location: 3rd St Promenade; Santa Monica Pier; Venice Beach; Pacific Pallisades
Very pleasant staff and a convenient hotel to stay in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Right in the middle of it all!

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The staff is super friendly.
Cons: The continental breakfast could use an upgrade.
Location: shops, restaurants and bars abound in the area. Nordstrom's and Lululemon are right around the corner. Great Location!!!
Hotel Carmel is right in the middle of shops, restaurants, and the pedestrian area. It's close to the beach. Rooms on the 4th floor have a lovely view of the Santa Monica Pier. Neat older hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much more than a 2 star rating! 4 Star!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Staff was wonderful, room was lovely, highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel one block from the beach

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: The great price for the location
Cons: The bathrooms need more counter space
Location: Shopping, restaurants of all kinds, beach one block away.
Great location with easy access to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable. No frills. Initially had a room on third floor with windows overlooking Broadway. It was extremely noisy at night. There are 3 bars in the area so up until 3 a.m. I could hear people's conversations on the street. The traffic was busy lots of horns honking etc. On my 2nd day at the hotel. I asked to be moved to a quieter area. I was given a room that was on the 4th floor and the window faced the interior part of hotel where the air conditioning system was the only thing I saw. It was great! I slept like a baby for the remainder of my trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Great location,friendly staff

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Everything as above
Cons: Air conditioning would we good but they do have ceiling fans so the heat wasn't to much of a problem.
Location: The location is only one street away from the Santa Monica pier and one street away from the shopping mall. Great restaurants nearby to.
Have stayed here before and was very happy same again this time the staff could not do enough for us. Let us check in early and upgraded our room to boot. Fantastic location and reasonably priced. Would stay again and recommend to friends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danmark

Godt hotel men slidt

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Hotellet lå perfekt i forhold til stand og shopping Meget venligt personale Der er parkeringservice mod betaling 20$ pr døgn Værelserne er dog lidt slidte Morgenmaden er elendig
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The rooms are a bit small, but for a shortish stay, is great!
Location: Much in Santa Monica is within walking distance of this hotel!
Great hotel, and location! We arrived later and were upgraded to a king sized bed which we appreciate very much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cathrine G from Norway

Veldig sentralt!

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Greit hotell til en rimelig penge. veldig sentralt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Missing some home comforts

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Concierge
Cons: Hotel could do with some renovations to improve sound proofing and overall facilities for guests in the room could be updated and added.
Location: Conveniently located close to Santa Monica pier and access to transport easily, as well as some nice shopping and restaurants too
Staff at the hotel were helpful, particularly concierge. Would have liked a refrigerator in the room ...and a quieter room. We were on an alley way and the noise from a nearby bar was loud.