Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Verify the room you get before you accept it

Posted Jan 14, 2017
This is the second stay in the hotel. We enjoy the location and character of the hotel. This time, however, we were told that our room did not have a king bed as it should have and were never warned that the room was equipped for people in a wheel chair. The shower was not easy to use and the general layout of the room made us feel we were staying in a hospital.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Pleasant Surprise in Venice Beach!!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The staff, the location and the roof top bar!!!!
Cons: Just hated the sliding bathroom door... ugh.
Location: Hotel Erwin is located in the heart of the action at Venice Beach. Within feet are restaurants, bars , shopping and the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk
My recent stay at the Hotel Erwin was such a pleasant surprise. This little gem in the heart of the action in Venice Beach is worth a stay. The staff could not have been nicer arranging for me and early check in, late check out and free beach chair during my stay. Our TV was not working and a call to the front desk resulted in a hotel engineer at my door 10 minutes later to solve the problem. The rooms are comfortable with charming balconies and loaded with snacks and a mini bar at a $$cost, but free coffee and welcome waters. The location of the hotel is fabulous!! Just a short walk and you are in the heart of the boardwalk action in Venice Beach and a couple of blocks the other way we were quietly strolling the beautiful canal area. There is a great restaurant called Barlo but the best feature is the roof top bar called "High". The view was spectacular and the happy hour from 9-11 was great too. There are heaters and blankets available to keep you cozy after the spectacular Pacific Sunset goes down.. I really can't wait to go back!! Thanks especially to hotel staff, Camila and Jennifer for making me feel so welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, United States of America

This was one of my favorite hotel experiences!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The staff - from the doormen & valet, front desk staff, to housekeeping - were all extremely helpful :-) And the rooftop bar was a memorable location for a fun night!
Cons: Nothing - everything was superb...really! This is a 3 ½ star hotel, with 5 star service.
Location: The location is fantastic...in the heart of Venice - with the backdoor opening up to the boardwalk and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, ny

Cool Boutique Hotel- Good vibe

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Great access to Venice beach and a 5 min drive to Santa Monica. A few decent restaurants around the corner- but suggest going to Santa Monica to eat
Funky hotel with cool, funky decorated rooms- hallways lined with great R&R artists photos- perfect for us since we were headed to Desert Trip the next day (a 3 day classic rock concert). The rooftop bar was great with views of the beach and Venice Beach Boardwalk. The DJ was cool (a little loud for earlier in the day), but nice to have music up there. The parking was a little $, but we did have in and out privileges and they got the cars very quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Really great location. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Cool atmosphere and vibe in the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel and perfect location!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
This hotel/room was really nice and clean. The entire staff was very friendly and welcoming. They even sent a bottle of wine to our room to welcome us. The 2 best parts about the hotel is that it's right on the beach and it has a rooftop bar. The only bad thing about the hotel is that there is only 2 elevators. 1 is for guests/anyone going to the rooftop bar and the other one is more for the employees. We ended up taking the stairs a few times from the 5th floor because the elevator was too full from people leaving the rooftop bar. Also be aware that there is only valet parking which is not included in your total when you book through Expedia. They charge you 38$ per night at the end of your stay. Other than that my stay was great at this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxed hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Loved this hotel. Everything about it is excellent. Service was great bars cool. No problem getting seats on the rooftop bar despite being very popular for sundown. For a "cool" place it remains completely unpretentious and chilled
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Extremely loud hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Hotel was extremely loud from the club on the roof. Parking was 38. Room service food was very good. Elevator is painfully slow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Not bad for short stay. Close to the freak show and easy access to bikes to ride around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very eclectic and hip hotel.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Staff extremely friendly and accommodating.
Enjoyed our stay at this very unique property. Very fun environment accentuated by the upbeat staff. Wish we had more time to stay longer.