Ratings based on 1,244 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Hotel Erwin, located 2 blocks from the beach, was a terrific choice for our visit to Venice, CA. The beach, the canals, and Abbott Kinney were all within walking distance. Despite being located right in the thick of Venice Beach's restaurants, shops and bars, evenings were not noisy--noise proofing of the AC and the thick glass in the balcony did the trick. We slept very well in our room; beds were comfortable, room was light-filled, and the water was hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Nice hotel; close to all the craziness of Venice

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, extremely comfortable bed, nice staff, and loved the complimentary bikes!
Cons: There was construction going on, which was noisy, even early in the morning.
Location: A block from the beach, and within biking distance (a couple miles) from Santa Monica.
We enjoyed our stay at the Erwin. It's location was convenient to the beach, Boardwalk, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Friendly, Fast and Fun

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The service provided was excellent! Asked to check-in early if possible and they had a room ready 3 hours prior to check-in time. The room had a balcony and side view of the ocean. The room was very clean and trendy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Verify the room you get before you accept it

Posted Jan 14, 2017
This is the second stay in the hotel. We enjoy the location and character of the hotel. This time, however, we were told that our room did not have a king bed as it should have and were never warned that the room was equipped for people in a wheel chair. The shower was not easy to use and the general layout of the room made us feel we were staying in a hospital.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Staff was fabulous! Everyone was very helpful and over the top friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Pleasant Surprise in Venice Beach!!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The staff, the location and the roof top bar!!!!
Cons: Just hated the sliding bathroom door... ugh.
Location: Hotel Erwin is located in the heart of the action at Venice Beach. Within feet are restaurants, bars , shopping and the famous Venice Beach Boardwalk
My recent stay at the Hotel Erwin was such a pleasant surprise. This little gem in the heart of the action in Venice Beach is worth a stay. The staff could not have been nicer arranging for me and early check in, late check out and free beach chair during my stay. Our TV was not working and a call to the front desk resulted in a hotel engineer at my door 10 minutes later to solve the problem. The rooms are comfortable with charming balconies and loaded with snacks and a mini bar at a $$cost, but free coffee and welcome waters. The location of the hotel is fabulous!! Just a short walk and you are in the heart of the boardwalk action in Venice Beach and a couple of blocks the other way we were quietly strolling the beautiful canal area. There is a great restaurant called Barlo but the best feature is the roof top bar called "High". The view was spectacular and the happy hour from 9-11 was great too. There are heaters and blankets available to keep you cozy after the spectacular Pacific Sunset goes down.. I really can't wait to go back!! Thanks especially to hotel staff, Camila and Jennifer for making me feel so welcome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington KY

Delightful and "Cool"

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Loved the location...very near the beach; loved the Rooftop Bar and grill., called High..terrific view; appreciated the valet parking which was quick, convenient and oh so nice, and our room was airy and clean. The hallways of the hotel had music...not soft hum drum music, but louder hoppin' tunes! We enjoyed our stay, and will return.
Cons: The room had a balcony, but it looked out over side alley and next building...not as nice as everything else.
Location: Short walk to the Beach and its boardwalk...and then right in the center of quirky Venice Beach! Skateboard park, Muscle Beach, and Pacific Ocean!