Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Definitely not 4 star

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: staff
Cons: cleanliness, food
Location: nothing within walking distance
Tiny rooms, tiny pool, tiny restaurant. Staff was great but cleanliness of rooms and overall upkeep of hotel lacking. Not really near anything. Wasn't unpleasant but would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Commercial area

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Smooth check, good indoor parking, restaurant and pool on the roof, great views.
Location: Peterson Auto Museum, LACMA, LaBrea Tar Pits, close to The Grove shopping center.
Relatively odd location for a pretty hip hotel. Close to L.A.'s museum row, convenient to downtown and Beverly Hills, good parking, nicely appointed and good views to the north.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Ashley G, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review, Doug! I'm so glad our central location worked out well for you. The fact that we're walkable to some of LA's top attractions is definitely a plus! I hope you'll come back and see us on your next trip to the area. Ashley Gochnauer, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great staff, Great Bathtub!

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Fabulous stay. Best bathtub outside of Japan. Fantastic staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by Ashley G, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review! So glad you enjoyed the hotel...and the bathtub! We hope to see you on your next trip to LA. Ashley Gochnauer, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Excellent hotel experience

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable and good location. Hotel staff is very nice and friendly.
Cons: Be a "SMOKE FREE" hotel
Location: LA Fitness, the famous LA lights, nearby shopping and restaurants.
This is my first time staying at this boutique hotel. Very comfortable and staffs are very friendly and professional. The only thing is there is no gym in the hotel but you can get a pass to LA Fitness which is 2 blocks away. Very good gym to workout. Roof top restaurant is beautiful with the view and pool. The only thing is this hotel allow people to smoke which I find that strange. Almost 99.9% of California hotels are smoke fee. I would recommend this hotel to be a smoke free hotel and they will be perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Ashley G, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the 5-star review! We so appreciate the great feedback. Thanks so much for pointing out the smoking. You may be referring to the rooftop, which has a designated smoking area in the far corner. Other than that, our hotel is completely smoke free and it is definitely prohibited in all of our guest rooms. I'm happy to hear the staff took great care of you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Ashley Gochnauer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aptos, CA

Home Away from Home

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Convenience. Good location to what we wanted to without the hustle and bustle of traffic. Quiet and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to museums, shopping, Beverly Hills. Not that close to freeways, so you have to travel a bit to go anywhere.
This was our second stay at this hotel. Centrally located on Wilshire Blvd. the hotel is a boutique hotel which means it is extremely comfortable. Exceptional staff, friendly, attentive to details, eager to be helpful and accommodating. WiFi a little tricky but the staff sorted things out for us and we never had another problem while we were there. Hotel entrance is a little tight which sometimes makes entering and exiting problematic but the staff is right there to help out and move cars and assist. Will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Ashley G, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the 5-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we're so happy you enjoyed your overall stay. I'm so glad our staff took good care of you while you were here. We hope to see you on your next trip to LA! Ashley Gochnauer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great stay, great location

Posted Dec 27, 2015
We only stayed for one night, it was 5 of us (2 adults and 3 kids) very spacious, clean, boutique style.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2015 by Ashley G, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so glad that the hotel worked out well for you and your family. We hope to see you again on your next trip to LA! Ashley Gochnauer, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SYD

Nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Dec 6, 2015
The rooms are a little small for the price, but the staff are fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2015 by Ashley G, Hotel Management
Greetings, Sam! Thanks for choosing to stay with us for your recent trip to LA. I'm so happy to hear that the staff took great care of you. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Ashley Gochnauer, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bumped me because they were overbooked

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: They could be better at customer service.
Location: It's on busy Wilshire street, in a business area. The only reason I'd stay here is if you had a meeting very close by and didn't want traffic.
I booked a room at The Hotel Wilshire to be close to a meeting I had their. The meeting cancelled at the last minute, so I called to see if they would allow me to cancel without penalty so I could stay somewhere closer to other meetings (and not fight LA traffic in the morning). They said no - they would not cancel without penalty. Ok - so I went to check in after my dinner (drove across LA because location was no longer convenient) ONLY to have them tell me they were overbooked, and I'd have to go to their sister hotel, 3.5 miles away. Unbelievable. They wouldn't allow me to move my hotel earlier EVEN THOUGH they knew they were overbooked. Poor customer service - they clearly were just trying to get my money. Sad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Douglas from Cary, NC

Hotel Wilshire, another excellent Kimpton Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with helpful employees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2015
nice , clean and modern hotel. would definitely recommend