Ratings based on 999 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK (not great) location to downtown old Pasadena

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: not much
Cons: total renovation
terrible breakfast, very disappointing. Hard boiled eggs. Stale pastries.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2016
We stayed one night and it was fine. It was centrally located, so great access to wherever you want to go.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, ca.

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: The room was comfortable--microwave and fridge included. Free breakfast.
Cons: Odor out front. The housekeepers could get the rooms cleaned before 2:30pm.
Location: I came for a conference at Mott's auditorium. Plenty of excellent restaurants withing walking distance and shopping too.
The staff was helpful. The facility was fairly nice, although there was a not so pleasant odor out front as we waited for the valet to bring our car. Apparently a storage area for the hotel's garbage nearby. Other than that inconvenience, the rest of the hotel was fine. My room was good with a couch, microwave, refrigerator. Plenty of pillows on the bed. Ice machine down the hall. Good breakfast in the morning. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High price for what you get

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: They offered breakfast with your stay.
Cons: Room cleanliness, can the price reflect the fact that it's not in a great neighborhood?
Location: I don't know southern California, but a neighbor told me Pasadena was nice. Bars on windows of nearby business tell otherwise.
I guess I'm a little out of touch with California prices. Stayed in this hotel over winter break for two days. Stayed in a similar-priced hotel in Washington DC metro area over spring break last week and got a lot more for the money. You're paying for proximity to the Rose Parade location here, I guess. It's in a rougher part of Pasadena though. There was one homeless man on the street nearby and bars on the windows of the stores. The breakfast was okay, dining area was small. Room was small. Room was not up to my standards of clean. My 10-year-old tends to take long bathroom breaks and after one such break he came out with a string of blue dental floss stuck to his sock, much to my horror! There were black fingerprints all over the bathroom door which I noticed as soon as we walked into the room. I took a soapy washcloth and rubbed it clean because it grossed me out. Seriously, don't the cleaning people notice this stuff? It was a lovely, upscale paneled door with a brass levered handle too, but all you could see were those fingerprints. Yuck! When I stay in a hotel, I'd rather not be bombarded with tell-tale signs of the multitudes that have shared this same room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Good location. Staff were very helpful.
Cons: The swimming pool was teeny tiny.
Location: Right across the street from Pasadena city college.
A little too noisy for our liking. The place has really thin walls so we could hear every cough from our neighbors and plenty of traffic noise too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Good experience... We have stayed here a lot over the last year because of location. The breakfast is ok....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo Japan

very comfortable, reasonabke price

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: convenient place, large room,
Cons: TV set had to be rebooted. That took several minuets to start.
Location: very convenient location. Close to CALTEC.
We told the reception desk that the TV did not work. Immediately the staff member came up to our room, and fixed it. They served very simple, but very good breakfast at the very pleasant place. We will reserve this hotel again when we visit this area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

okay

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Room was clean except for carpeting. On one of the days, the room was not cleaned. Had to ask for toilet paper and towels. Were told to come and get them. Otherwise, not bad for Ho Jo"s.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, Ca

NASCAR weekend

Posted Mar 21, 2016
This hotel was far from the NASCAR event and all I could find. I was super happy with the choice I made, hotel was clean, in a good area, service was fast & friendly. Also many places to eat and stores around to pick up a few things. I would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Wow Ron, Thank You so much for your kind words about our property! We're so glad that you were able to make it to the NASCAR event and were able to find us last minute. We are at a great location, close to so many shops and eateries and are thrilled that you were able to take advantage of beautiful Pasadena. Its so good to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable - these are our top priorities. Please come back and visit with us soon!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nice hotel near major Pasadena sites.

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Staff was nice; nice room; convenient location. Good seeing some of the same staff.
Cons: I was satisfied, for the money can't ask for too much.
Location: Near Pasadena City College, Cal Tech; easy walk to Metro train and shopping.
Second time I have stayed here; nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable, nice staff. I plan on continuing to make this my home when visiting Los Angeles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You again Bill for your kind words, especially about our staff. Our incredible staff is what really makes our hotel great, they work so hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our guest. We are so glad you have decided to make us your home away from home - we look forward to your next visit!