Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.9 out of 5
24% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
1.8 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 93455

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: LEAVING!
Cons: There is nothing that a BULLDOZER could not fix.
Location: HYLAND MOTEL LONG BEACH CALIFORNIA
I drove 5 hours with my son to attend an important convention in Long Beach. I arrived at my destination that I booked through Expedia, paid in cash for the stay plus cash deposit that Motel required total of 400.00 cash. I was exhausted after bringing everything up stairs (NO ELEVATOR). I was horrified when I looked at room: sheets contained hair from other people plus body discharge, walls where filthy with even someone's personal BURGER wiped on the wall, phone caked in filth and did not work, everything was frightful. I immediately went down stairs to get clean sheets, towels, and request cleaning, but no one at desk for 30 min. I then decided to clean my self because I did't know what else to do. I had to purchase cleaning supplies, towels, sheets, and extra disinfectant. I called expedia and told them the situation and since I gave all my cash to SCUZ Motel, we where forced to stay the night with BED BUDS! I called Expedia next morning explained the situation and asked them to please get me another Hotel and there was nothing they could do because for some reason my bank card would not go through. I ended up getting only 262.00 back from the 400.00 cash I left checking in. Travel lodge on Atlantic, Long Beach. Ca. gave me a great rate at 89.00 a night therefore my son and I had clean sheets and did't have to share our beds with bed bugs (gross)! Management yelled at me and refused to give all my money back! They DO NOT KNOW WHAT CLEAN IS!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No coffee maker, breakfast, 1 bed only

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Rude check in. Booked 2 beds, 1 bed was provided. I was offered a 2nd bed for additional charge
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Person in front was very rude. i said hello and she didnt respond so i repeated myself. Dirty sheets, uncomfortable pillows and bed. TV wasn't working as well
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Plastic bag was wrapped around shower head. I guess there was a leak.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Less than i expected

Posted Jul 31, 2016
They gave me a smoking room when I said we where 2 adults and one baby, it was imposible to breath
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Hyland hotel is terrible

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Dirty towels would not exchange or give an extra pillow or towel very rude would not let us check in after traveling from Oregon to California T 12 pm check in time 2 pm wanted to charge 50 extra and out by 10am they bang on the door like police before it is even check out time horrible experience will never go back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Inconvenient.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: nothing.
Cons: everything.
Location: location was rough but that is expected with Long Beach.
booked this hotel at the last minute because we were in a bind but I definitely wont be making that mistake again. room smelled horrible. employees were mean they only gave us one roll of TP and when I asked for more they made me walk down and get it. they wouldnt change the TP or the towels and we were there for 3 days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodridge, IL

Room clean, amenities lacking.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Appeared to be freshly painted, the floors were nice, the vanity was granite, it had crown molding and decent art work.
Cons: New pillows, provide a full set of towels including wash cloths, supply more soap if needed and a new roll of toilet paper if the existing roll is low
Location: Didn't spend any time nearby.
The room was clean and homey, the pillows were extremely worn. They only provided one bath towel, one hand towel and no wash cloths. They provided one small bar of soap which we used and they didn't provide any more for our second day, thankfully we had a small bar with us. We ran out of toilet paper during our stay and an additional roll was not provided in the room. They insisted that we sign a paper that allowed them to charge our credit card $50 if anything from the room was missing, but failed to provide an inventory of room items. We insisted that they inspect our room to ensure that we wouldn't be charged. This hotel does not warrant a 2 star rating in my opinion, a 1.5 at the most.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Camera

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: owners where rude.
Cons: New management
Location: fast food is convienent
i allowed my kids to sleep on the bed. Now it wasnt until the next day did i see the hidden camera on top of the flat screen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2016
It was more then what I expected .just wished they had more pillows and more towels and a microwave