Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and relaxing place away from crowds

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and quiet. Excellent amenities - breakfast, wine, jacuzzi tub, secure parking, and the staff was top notch!
Spent a few nights for a birthday celebration. Very nice and helpful staff. The place was very clean, but some furnishings were showing wear and tear and doors to our 2nd floor patio did not close solidly. Tasty full breakfast and happy hour wine and cheese. We would absolutely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Home away from home

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Comfort and serenity
Location: Near beach,airport ,Marina Del Rey
It was nice refreshing break from big chains hotels-you literally do not wont to leave there to go sightseeing Big rooms with comfortable bedding,nice balcony of the room with soft lounge furniture ,great comon room with fireplace - it dosnt feels like being in the hotel- like staying in somebody house.i should say it end up to be a highlight of our road trip down California coast When my older son decide to joing us at the vacation last minute ,they had no problems to bring another bed in the room,it took him 12 min drive from airport, There are homemade chocolate chip cookies with welcome note upon arrival- nice touch,breakfast buffet had homemade quiche with artichoke and apple spice bread, some bread are homemade, good selection of frech fruit . Parking is very easy and secure,location is great -short walk to the beach ,few minuts drive bring you to Marina Del Rey for great restorants,Santa Monica about 25 min drive, Beverly Hils Around 40 min- depends on the traffic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful stay, loved every minute

Posted Jul 31, 2016
This is an adorable Inn where you feel right at home. Everything was beautiful - from the rooms to the complimentary breakfast and happy hour. They've clearly thought through every detail. The beach is only a few blocks away and there are many great places to eat in town. My daughter and I had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back - no complaints at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute, Quaint, Adorable hide-away

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Very nice B&B in a slower part of LA. Close to the Santa Monica Pier (10 min cab ride). Staff was super duper nice and informative. Only negative feedback is... It can be a little non-private. You can hear in the other's rooms... Not sure what sound proofing can be done, but that's a drawback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming, more of a B&B

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Cons: Often, hotels offer two soft and two firm pillows on the bed - here the pillows were an odd mix.
Location: Fantastic location near the beach, walk to nearby restaurants, take out the hotel bikes and ride the available bike paths.
The Inn is well located just 5 blocks from the beach and it looks out toward the channel over a bird sanctuary. Do bear in mind that it functions as more of a B&B than a hotel: it isn't staffed 24/7 (let yourself in with a key after 10) but it offers a very warm welcome from staff and a lovely, generous, homemade breakfast Plus, there's a wine and cheese hour each afternoon in the living room. Our room was comfortable and homey, but not luxe. We enjoyed the little balcony overlooking the sanctuary as well the cookies and welcoming note left on the desk. Ours had a generously sized bathroom. Each room seems to be a bit different. I would be very happy to stay here again next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from studio city

Quaint

Posted Jun 12, 2016
I felt at home. Comfortable feeling with the friendliness & kindness of all staff.
5 out of 5
by Jessica from Highland Park, CA

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
We will definitely be back. It was a quick little trip, just my daughter and I. The staff was wonderful, so helpful and kind. The setting was peaceful and calm, the hotel was beautiful. It felt like home
5 out of 5
by Brett from New Orleans

I don't want to leave

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Here's something I've never done previously: writing a review before I check out/leave the hotel. My reason for doing so now is because I'm actually feeling sad that I have to leave in a few hours, which is something I've rarely felt. The rooms are big and home-y. The staff is exceedingly nice and helpful. The views are of the marina and bird santuary are gorgeous. The air is therapeutic. The neighborhood its in, Playa Del Rey, feels like a small beach town far removed from the city -- it doesn't feel like you're in LA. Everything about this place is wonderful. It's probably my favorite hotel in the LA area, probably because it's in LA without feeling like you're in LA. Does that make sense? Bottom line, Playa Del Rey and the Inn at Playa Del Rey are a happy place for me.
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Stockton

Peace and Quiet in the City

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
What a hidden little charming gem of a bed and breakfast. Right as you drive into Playa Del Rey from the north stands this quaint bed and breakfast overlooking the wetlands and then out to the Pacific. It has everything you rarely find in a Los Angeles area hotel, free covered parking, close to the beach and the airport, ambiance to the max, the most hospitable and friendly staff, chocolate chip cookies, real keys, free wifi, wine and appetizers every night, a lovely breakfast buffet in the morning, and peace and quiet. We booked a Deluxe King room, Room 309, which overlooked the street (but was really quiet). It was so big and comfortable, decorated in blues and white, with a big bay window with a large window seat, lovely king size bed, big bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub, a makeup mirror, a real closet, and tons of space to move around. There is a community refrigerator - just label your stuff, but they brought us a small mini fridge into the room because we had some medication that needed to be kept cool. Loved chatting with the other guests and since this is a larger than normal bed and breakfast you can come in and out of the social stuff without feeling odd. Manhattan Beach is just a few miles down the coast and Marina Del Rey is a few miles the other way. There are also quite a few great local bars, restaurants, and coffee houses just down the street, ultimately ending up right at the beach, three blocks away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent smaller hotell(B&B) in perfect condition. Very cosy, with nice sitting area - for breakfast and library. Nicely greeted on arrival. Perfect located close to the airport, which was what we had looked for. Safe area. We did neither visit the beach nor the marina.