Ratings based on 772 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from riyadh, saudi arabia

The Spirit of Santa Monica

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The spirit of Santa Monica: perfect location and enthusiastic staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Staff were very pleasant. Rooms were large and comfortable. Good location. Very small pool with a very limited view of the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very comfortable, not fancy

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Staff was excellent. Rooms were standard. No hot tub. Drinks had almost no alcohol. Bar staff was sub par. Hotel lacks ambiance, activity.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris, TX

Great hotel location

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very convenient to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. The hotel bar had excellent service. We liked the pool and workout facilities.
Location: The beach and Santa Monica Pier / Pacific Park are just a short walk. Also nearby is the Third Street Promenade, with great shopping and restaurants.
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was easy to walk to the beach and Santa Monica Pier. We ate at Hillstone--fantastic experience. We also recommend the Sidecar donuts on Wilshire!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Quiet. Clean. Friendly.
Cons: Faster valet parking. (and cheaper would be better) $44.00/car/night.
Location: Very good location. Very good restaurant (Herringbone) just on the other side of the street.
Excellent. Just a little long to get my car back from the valet. And, I was the only one waiting for my car at 2:00PM in the afternoon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Perfect location!

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Great location right near the beach and all the restaurants, shopping and pier. Hotel is very pretty. Hot tub would have been nice. No hair dryer in the room. Rollaway bed was very squeaky and had springs poking through, but I covered it with the provided robes and that helped. Staff was pleasant. The location made it totally worth staying here! Glad we were so close to the beach!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted May 30, 2016
Close to the beach and shopping and dining. Walkable to all the activities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent staff, great location, strange property

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: The staff. The super location. The room.
Cons: This is a bizarre property with an old inefficient layout which must have been inherited. The public spaces are very disjointed. Gym just adequate.
Location: Steps from beach, from the upscale Third St Promenade, from local-oriented Main St and Abbot Kinney, and very near the new light rail to downtown LA.
Outstanding experience. Very pleasant check in and I was given a big room with an ocean view (which I did not expect). The restaurant staff, bar staff, bell staff, and all of the other associates I met in the halls etc. were warm and welcoming and professional. The room was well equipped including lights that function from actual physical switches (which I love) instead of those stupid touch consoles. This is a strange property in the public spaces, it must be a vestige from an earlier time. The pool and outside terrace are kind of dark (or baked in sunlight, binary situation) and kind of cramped and without real ocean view...which is no problem if one expects to go to the actual ocean which is right out the door and a block away. I have stayed in maybe a dozen hotels in Santa Monica/Venice and this property is in between the ultra luxe and the bohemian...just what I was aiming for and just as one would expect from JWMarriott brand.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Superlative Staff

Posted May 26, 2016
I've had to stay at this hotel several times over the last few months, and without exception the hotel staff has been fantastic! The rooms could use a bit of an update, but they are roomy, quiet and comfortable. I could stay at other hotels in Santa Monica, but I keep coming here because I know the staff will bend over backwards to make sure I have a gees experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016
El personal del hotel fue muy agradable, atento y cordial