Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel okay location

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Comfy hotel and nice breakfast. The location is okay. Los Angeles is very spread out so it is hard to get a location that suits all. Close to food and not too far of a drive to the financial district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Dec 20, 2016
clean and decent best among similarly rated Hotels in Koreatown .… … … … … …
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs

Posted Dec 13, 2016
My wife had a bed bug bite... please check your room!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to korea town

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Howard Johnson hotel is close to Korea town, so I could walk to reataurants, supermarkets. The breakfast was simple but it was good enough. If I go to La again, I will try to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, United States of America

Universal Studios / LA Memorial Coliseum

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Within walking distance to subway and bus stop to the two places that I wanted to visit on my trip.
Cons: If you like to avoid hearing traffic noise, request for a quiet room. I learned the hard way as I had a rough time sleeping the first two nights.
Location: Convenient to Walgreens and 7-11 for beverages and snacks. Denny's, McDonalds, Jack in the box, Chipotle are all within walking distance from hotel.
Convenient public transportation to get to Universal Studios and the LA Memorial Coliseum. The red line Metro subway gets you to the Universal Studios Hollywood as bus number 204 gets you to the LA Memorial Coliseum. It's only $1.75 each way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merced, United States of America

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Very good location with parking. Overall a safe, clean hotel but the road and street noise was excessive - especially late at night. I will stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

A little dissapointing

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The hotel was affordable had laundry facilities, free wi-fi and provided a basic breakfast.
Cons: Very noisy if you face the street. Hotel was under renovations and workmen started jack hammering at 8:00 a.m.
Location: Nothing is close in Las Angeles everything requires a taxi or uber ride.
The hotel itself was basic - clean - somewhat modernized and the staff were helpful. I would of appreciated being told that there would be renovations going on during our stay. Unfortunately my room was right under the construction and the crew started early.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Deposit issue has changed my opinion :(

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Gentleman at front desk was helpful with additional parking.
Cons: Today makes a week since check out and my deposit still hasn't been released back to my card. I called on the fourth business day to make sure all was ok as we had been told it was at check out. I was told the money would be back to my credit card no later than the next day...still not released. Dissapointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

2nd time to stay here

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Free parking, free wi-fi and free breakfast
Cons: Thin walls
Location: You're basically in Korea Town. The Los Angeles Convention Center and Staples Center aren't too far away.
Check in was quick and the security guard doubled as a valet to park our car, which ended up working out fine for us. We had no problems getting our car either when we needed it. The free breakfast was suffice to get something in our stomach before heading out. The walls were just a little thin, as we could hear people outside our door in the hallway. Other than than, everything was fine. We would stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nasty smell in one room.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Location was the reason I booked here. It's in the middle of everything, and easy access to a lot of shops and restaurants within walking distance
Our room 406 had a horrible smell. Like urine in the carpets. I've stayed here once before and had no problem with the cleanliness of the room. I booked two rooms during my recent stay. Room 407 was normal. Room 406 however had the most aweful Stench.